We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlike” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shapla Tandoori

Shapla Tandoori
Ranked #81 of 121 Restaurants in Whitstable
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Whitstable
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unlike”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Looks can be so deseving...

At first glance, Shapla looks warm, inviting and appears popular. It's not until I went inside that I was let down in every possible way.

Food - in my opinion, the worst curry ever. Honestly.
Service - arrogant.
Cleanliness - almost satisfactory.
Managagment - uninterested and inept.

It's not often I regret trying a new restaurant and giving my custom to a local business, however, last night was an exception. Shapla let me down in every possible way and I would only suggest you visit this place if you want to experience how a curry should not be cooked and served without a smile.

The manager was uninterested in listening to any form of complaint and showed no interest in understanding why his food and restaurant let me down, and why his staff will remain inept while working alongside his low standards.

There are so many great restaurants in Whitstable where the food is wonderful and the delivered to you by people that care about what they do. Unless the standards improve, Shapla Tandoori does not deserve a space on any High Street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tRip21_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    14
    16
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst Indian food ive ever tasted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Without a doubt the worst Indian food ive ever eaten, and then when we complained the offered to replace it with a takeaway. I had a Lamb Tikka Mosala and the lamb was tough and reheated to death, in a sauce which i can only describe as uninspiring and bland. My partner had a prawn korma and that was equally as bland. I can honestly say that a jar of Tesco Value Korma has more taste. Anyone who says the food here is good obviously hasnt eaten properly cooked indian food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank csnell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have lived in whitstable now for 7 years and have been going to the shapla for the 7 years we have been here, its small but really friendly place, the food is very very good the manager cant do enough for you. So if you want a great meal call in your always welcome.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitkat076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Rude Staff & Sickening Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I can honestly say that this is the worst restaurant I have ever been to in my life, not only were the staff so rude and unwelcoming the food came cold which we had to send all 5 main courses back, when it finally came hot I wish i had gone to the supermarket and brought microwave meals for us all, it was absolutely tasteless. To put the icing on the cake my wife was up all night with sickness and diarrhoea and is off work today!!

So hard to explain in words how bad the restaurant is, but I would strongly advise to go elsewhere!

Hope this helps…

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Awful service! The staff were so rude. Me and 4 friends popped in here late on saturday night and will never be returning to this restaurant again for a takeaway. I found 4 hairs in my chicken tandoori and was digusted and the hygene in this establishment.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michael198619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shapla Tandoori also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
 
Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Shapla Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing