We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So different to the BIG Coffee Chains and well worth it”

Windy Corner Stores & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kent, United Kngdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“So different to the BIG Coffee Chains and well worth it”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you want a sterile, anodine and dull experience, go to those mega coffee chains and you won't be disappointed.

However, if you re after somejing a little off beat and welcoming, go to Windy Corner. Delightful food in very pleasant surrounds and at reasonable cost. If you go for the Full English be prepared to wax lyrical about IT AND ESPECIALLY the mushrooms.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Manfromthebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    46
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top Class Breakfast”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We decided to try Windy Corner Stores for breakfast after passing by and seeing the fantastic lunch being served. We had one full English (£6.80) and one vegetarian breakfast (£6.50) including tea. Both breakfasts were fantastic and the vegetarian was particularly imaginative featuring a stuffed pepper in the centre, which was unexpected but very tasty indeed. Portions were huge and well cooked. A competitor for our old favourite, Tea and Times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdoptedLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Capturing the spirit of Whitstable”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Windy Corner is the perfect establishment for this town of ours. It is quirky, even a bit nutty, but that fits in well with the Whitstable spirit. I love the home-baked bread - we live on it all year round rather than the rubbery rubbish from the supermarkets. The food is excellent, in particular the fresh coffee, BLT butties and have you ever tasted a better brownie?! As for the staff, I have always found them polite, chilled and friendly. What more could I ask for? I do hope they get the thumbs up from Canterbury City Council to open late and serve meals. I think Windy C is the best thing that has happened to Island Wall and the environs in recent years.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Triona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Reviewing my earlier review (regretably)”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Windy has been a long standing favourite of ours (see earlier post). However 2 recent (dismal) visits have tainted our views somewhat!
Windy has always been an independent, quirky, relaxed little oasis of all things delicious-a place you lingered over a cornucopia of tasty delights-served in a welcoming manner with a smile.
Sadly something has gone wrong-badly wrong!
Our two recent visits (which will be our last for a while) revealed that the trend is down hill. Gone is the welcome, the service with a smile and the delicious indivual food and great coffee.
Instead we have brusque, bored youngsters, overly long waits for some quite unremarkable food and stale cake.
The place is grimy in the extreme-old food encrusted tables, a floor much in need of cleaning and dusty corners.
Come on windy - towns need what you used to bring-flair', decent locally sourced ingredients, a buzzy vibe and great service. This grimy, uninspiring, soul less, smile free zone is a travesty of its former self.
Come back the windy of old, or I fear the plasticised, homogenised 'Costa' will feature large,

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susiewKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Then and now”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

A couple of years back this little cafe/store was a pleasant place to come - the staff knew what a BLT with mayo was and could deliver it within 10 minutes with a semblance of interest and pride in the job they were doing (but nothing too obvious as that would be uncool).
Increasingly however the hired staff seem to come from a pool of middle class six formers who have perhaps had a hash brownie before work and never actually been trained in the skills needed to perform the job - to the extent that BLT with mayo can come without the LT and mayo - and you still get charged over £7.00 after waiting 45 mins for a take out. If the owner does not get a grip this place will live on the reputation of the naive uncomplaining tourists and middle class mums who have nothing else to do but block cafes with buggies, weird named kids who have never been told 'no' and an occasional dog.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Birch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy Corner Stores & Cafe also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Windy Corner Stores & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing