We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ploughmans lunch had very small piece of cheese and all salad. Food good but portions have been reduced .”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Centurion

The Ship Centurion
Ranked #37 of 123 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ploughmans lunch had very small piece of cheese and all salad. Food good but portions have been reduced .”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere but when prices increased the portions and certain foods changed . The fish pie is smaller and bought in now. Not as good and more expensive. The portion of cheese in Ploughmans is unacceptably small. Goulash was great but Cranberry Juice quanrity as a dring is too small and expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennywren300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Super friendly local with a great range of well kept ales and proper German lager. Simple, good home cooked food, unobtrusive live sport and occasional live music. What's not to love about this pub?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miles from home P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous, cosy friendly local!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This pub is a real treat. Always frienly and welcoming, with a good rotation of guest ales and the everpresent Bitberger lager. With great sport, music and chat, this pub is a must for visitors and locals.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A proper 'local'”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We love The Ship - a proper local that attracts visitors too. We try to get there as often as possible! Lunches are excellent value, simple, tasty, not poncey', and done well. Beer good too, and friendly but professional staff. So many pubs these days have lost all their atmosphere, but not this one. It's a pub, not a restaurant. We used to go there before the anti-smoking law and worried that customers would leave in droves, but most of the 'usual suspects' are still around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmfarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great ales...from what's remember”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited the ship centurions a while ago now, but we had a great night there, really nice atmosphere and great ales. I seem to remember trying some chilli pickled eggs there,which blew my head off, but was nice to see some homemade bar snacks. The bar was busy which is always a good sign, but there was a great crowd in there, which made the night there even better. We'll head back to the ship in the near future for some of those great ales !!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stdaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Centurion also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Centurion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing