We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited with friends as was”

Royal Naval Reserve
Ranked #73 of 154 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Royal Naval Reserve is a traditional local pub with well kept beer, wine and champagne by the glass. A relaxed atmosphere awaits you in our bar, restaurant and garden. Home cooked pub food is what you will find on the menu including our Royal Naval Reserve signature pies. Join us on Sundays for a Roast.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with friends as was charged £35.80 for 1 pint of Guinness 1 pint of beer and two large rose wines won’t be returning at these prices

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Cannon4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalNavalReserve, Owner at Royal Naval Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I have looked into this as this is not the correct price for the drinks you had. I can see that one of the glasses of wine was incorrectly put through the till as a bottle. This is a simple mistake we are only human. If you would like to come back in with your receipt I will happily refund you. It would have been nice if you could have raised this at the time rather than taking to social media to give us a damaging 1 star review. Looking at your profile you have reviewed 9 business' in total and given 8 of them a 1 star review which shows us all what kind of trip adviser you are.
This is so damaging to business' like ours and I would urge you to remove this review and any others that have been given unfairly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2019

Friends and I had the most delicious Christmas feast in the restaurant (great setting and so festive!) - the food was cooked to perfection (sides offered and extra sauces etc) and service was fantastic. The beautiful handmade Christmas crackers were a lovely personalised touch and as it’s before Christmas; we all treated ourselves to a snowball ;). Highly recommend enjoying some food and drink in there!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank OTizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalNavalReserve, Owner at Royal Naval Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad we could enjoy the festive period with you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2019

We were just stopping off for a beer before looking for somewhere to eat, when we realised they served food here so decided to stay. The menu was small which made choosing easier and included among other things fish and chips, burger, steak, chicken kiev and a range of homemade pies including a vegetarian option. We both chose the pies with one of us having the steak and mushroom with mash and the other ox cheek and kidney with chips. The pies were delicious, rich buttery pastry and melt in your mouth meat and great gravy. The veg was buttered cabbage, a nice change from the usual peas and carrots. Overall a lovely meal. The owners were very friendly and we chatted over glasses of recommend wine, just perfect. We understand the pub has been recently renovated and would recommend anyone to give it a go. Good luck to you both from Pete and Kate

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graciegables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalNavalReserve, Owner at Royal Naval Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2019

Thank you Pete and Kate for the lovely review! Was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again one day if you visit Whitstable again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2019 via mobile

Really impressed with the Sunday roast. Straightforward menu offering 3 meat roasts and 1 veggie option, then puddings. Roast potatoes perfectly cooked and the meat delicious. Between the 5 of us we tried all 3 meats. All tender and succulent, and the pork crackling was amazing! Huge Yorkshire puds and tasty veg too.
Friendly, helpful staff and beautiful decor too, can’t believe the transformation of the place under the new management.
Biggest shame is the dining room is fairly small, I’m certain it’s going to get booked up quick once word gets around!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank lizzysecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalNavalReserve, Owner at Royal Naval Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2019

Hi Liz
Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2019

Tried the beer battered plaice and chips instead of cod and how nice it was, loverly crisp batter and perfectly cooked fish great chips too. Loved the decor of the mezzanine Floor restaurant with lots of interesting pictures of a nautical theme
Great service and great beer too

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalNavalReserve, Owner at Royal Naval Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2019

Thank you for the review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Naval Reserve also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Royal Naval Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing