We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Take Away!”
Review of Spices

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spices
Ranked #29 of 129 Restaurants in Whitstable
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Indian Take Away!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We've been living between Canterbury and Whitstable for two years and have tried many of the Indian restaurants in the area and always been disappointed until we found Spices. The food is cooked really beautifully using whole spices and with delicate flavouring - no fat swimming around on the top like you often see! Service was polite & prices fair. Will definitely be using again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonmf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were on our way home after a day out and passed the restaurant and decided to see if we could get a table. Being a Saturday night we thought it would be fully booked but it was about half full - possibly because the restaurant is not in the centre of town. Most of the diners appeared to be regulars as the staff seemed to know them. We had a nice meal and found the staff friendly. We would go again if we were in the area

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karenphil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I go frequently to Spices and have never been disappointed!
Service is always great and they have never messed up my chicken rogan (always the right amount of spices!). The food tastes fresh and flavoursome and if what you want isn't on the menu, they are always happy to whip it up!
Certainly the best Indian restaurant I have ever been to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstieElbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We must have picked an 'off'' night, the curry sauce on bangladeshi lamb was thin, and the lamb extremely tough. The tarka dall was like water. This was on takeaway food. The staff, however were very pleasant. Sorry, won't be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moooo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very welcoming staff, couldnt do enough to please. Food very good quality, nicest Indian Restaurant we have visited in this area!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spices also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
 
Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing