We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and a comfortable stay”
Review of Cliftonville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliftonville House
Ranked #5 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely two night stay at Cliftonville House. We were in the lemon room, which is comfortable, quiet and clean with a well-appointed large bathroom down the hall.

Sue was an excellent hostess, friendly and helpful with recommendations for places to eat and drink. Breakfast was hearty and Sue was flexible with timings.

We really enjoyed the town - which is only about a 10-minute walk away - with nice pubs and restaurants and good fish and chips at the harbour. All in all it was a most enjoyable stay and good value as well - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cliftonville.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at Cliftonville House while on a two day study course in Whitstable. Owner Sue was very friendly and obliging throughout my stay. She was helpful and keen to accomodate my needs at all times. The Lemon room I stayed in was very comfortable and clean with an excellent bathroom with a large shower and all other things provided.Sue cooked a great breakfast for the time i needed it and gave a good selection to choose from. All in all, I'd certainly recommend Cliftonville house.

Room Tip: Lemon room at back not on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Thanks Sue for a fabulous stay at Cliftonville House. MMy boyfriend and I stayed for one night midweek, midwinter and were treated to the comfiest bed ever in the big, bright, White Room. Sue advised us on the best local hangouts, and we took her advice and headed to the Pearson's Arms and Samphire for loads of degustational delights. Breakfast, cooked by Sue was delicious, and she had made effort to adapt the menu to suit our dietary needs. A friendly host, and a wonderful welcome to Whitstable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nif1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Excellent value for money we stayed in the White Room. The room was bright, warm, large and spotless. Massive bed and sanded floors gave it that extra something. Sue was friendly, super keen and flexible. Breakfast was hearty and eaten in the pretty front room. Ten minutes walk from the sea-front.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting.

Room Tip: Ten minutes walk from the sea-front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HackneyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our trip to Whistable was made even more of a delight by Sue Wells the owner of Cliftonville House B&B. She was so welcoming, polite and friendly.

We stayed in the Lavender room the first night which was a lovely small room but was still spacious enough for the two of us. Also I absolutely loved the shower unit it looked so good. It is a great use of space. For the following two nights we stayed in the White room. This room was as beautiful as was the lavender room. This was much bigger with the worlds most comfortable bed. Both rooms were extremely clean, bright and not a fault in sight!!!

Sue's hospitality skills were the best we have ever come across in any of the B&B's we have stayed in, in the past. We had a bit of a later breakfast than most places as we were given an option which suited us well. The breakfast was amazing the eggs and sausages were the best also. Along with our breakfast we had the company of the owner herself. We had some great morning chats about Whistable and other things. :)

At last minute we decided to stay on at Cliftonville for an extra night. Sue was very happy and made us feel at home. The weekend we came to Whistable was my birthday and the day we left we gave her some of my cake which she was very happy with.

We had loads of bags and she even gave us a lift to the Train station!! We thought this was very nice of her as she really did not have to. But she was such a great host that she did not feel that it out her duty!! :)

We were extremely happy with our overall stay at Sue Wells' Cliftonville House B&B it is the best welcome we have ever had staying in a B&B we will definitely be coming back to stay here again in the near future!!!

Thank you Sue for your hospitality it was very much appreciated and we had a fantastic time in Whistable and at your B&B!!!

Tara & Kelly

Room Tip: All rooms in Cliftonville House are lovely, Clean, Quiet, Bright and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had booked three nights at Cliftonville House, one in the Yellow room and two in the White (due to the White being booked up for the first night). Upon arrival, we were told both rooms were now occupied so we would actually be staying in the “Lavender Room” for the first night instead – there was no previous phone call to inform/ check that the booking alteration was acceptable.

There is a reason this room isn’t advertised on the website – nobody would choose to stay in it. It consists of a box room with a double bed and a cubicle shower next to it (the cubicle is literally next to the head of the bed – no screen was present during our visit, contrary to what the photo recently uploaded by the owner shows). Further to this, the en-suite toilet is a tiny box room, more like a cupboard in fact - too small for any adult to use comfortably with the door closed. The owner charges £60 for this room, which I think is an outrage. It doesn’t even have a proper window, ie one that gives onto the outside world. The view is of some sort of internal laundry/storage room complete with washing machine and drying clothes – not acceptable when being charged the £60 mentioned.

Not only was this dumped on us when we turned up, but the attitude of the owner was really disappointing. No apology for the inconvenience and putting us in front of the fait accompli. Instead, we were asked when we would like to have breakfast, only to be told that our chosen time could not be done - breakfast could only be served at particular times due to the b&b being full. This was NOT done in a friendly way, we were made to feel as if we were an inconvenience as opposed to paying guests. We were so angered and disappointed by the room and the owner’s behaviour, we picked up our bags and left. Not exactly what we had in mind the day before New Year’s eve.

Even at that point, we didn’t receive a proper apology. The owner barely seemed to mind that we’d decided to leave. So honestly, do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to stay. The owner probably thought she’d get away with shafting us with a box room for one night because it was New Year. Not a good way to run a business.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank LoulouHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Beautiful, simply decorated rooms, comfortable beds and a perfect hostess. Sue really goes out of her way to be helpful and is a wonderfully, genuine, warm person. The B and B is conveniently situated within walking distance of the town, restaurants, shops and beaches. Match this with a deliciously cooked English breakfast and you do indeed have th NUMBER ONE B and B in Whitstable. Keep it up Sue. Would recomment Cliftonville House to anyone who is planning a trip to the marvellous little town of Whitstable. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Both rooms are superb. One is ensuite and the other has its own private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCM-Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitstable hotels
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
906 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Hillview
Hillview
#1 of 12 in Whitstable
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ampersand House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliftonville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliftonville House

Address: 54 Canterbury Road, Whitstable CT5 4EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range: $123 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cliftonville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftonville House Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing