We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a brilliant stay. Denise was so welcoming it felt like visiting an old friend rather than a first visit. Our room had a sea view which was a delight. Room itself was beautifully decorated and had everything you could hope for and more. I am often dismayed by the tiny cupboards classed as ensuite but not here....the bathroom was big with bath and separate shower, a delight.
Breakfast was delicious - I am a coeliac but this was no problem and I waddled out full of food each morning.
We both agreed we have never slept so well at a b&b..the bed was amazingly comfortable.
Would we go back? ABSOLUTELY!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseVardill, Owner at Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you Kirsty for such a wonderful review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hofgeismar, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have had a great time staying in Whitstable Bay. Everything was very nice. Every morning we have had a very good breakfast with fresh fruits and for my wife especially good glutenfree toasted bread. The room was new furnished and new painted.
Barry and Denise were more than friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseVardill, Owner at Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you Matthias for the kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

A good location- 2 mins to the beach and 15 mins beach walk into town. Not as "quaint" as some may want but an extremely comfortable bed and light, lovely room. The breakfasts were superb, served on a trolly which was stacked with delicious delights. Eat in bed or at the little table in the room. Luxury! One small problem with the room was that i wake with the light and the blinds were very flimsy and let the morning light in at dawn so I didn't sleep as long as I might wish- if you have no problem with light though it's fine!
The owners were great- there was a problem with trains so when we were leaving they even drove us to a station further away so we could get home ok!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LibertytripS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at this B&B over a long weekend in April, what a wonderful time we had! On booking the room over the phone, I could tell that we were in safe hands however never could I have expected what a truly beautiful house we would be staying in with such kind and thoughful owners. Room=5* (even the mattress was a Hypnos, for goodness sake!), Gardens=A wonderful sight to wake up to, House/location=peaceful and just 5 minutes from Seasalter beach, perfect for leisurely strole up to Whitstable. The breakfast was just out of this world, posh teas, biscuits and soaps and, to top it all off, was meeting with "Auntie" Beryl, mother of Owner Denise, a precious lady... guests will understand how enchanting she is if they are lucky enough to meet her. Enjoy...

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LucieBeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

My partner booked this guest house for a small break for my birthday, on arrival to the guest house we were greeted by Denise, lovley lovley lady! Who showed us to our room, I was suprised with how large the room was and found we had everything we needed! very clean! great facilities in room. Breakfast was amazing! fresh fruit continental breakfast brought to your room on a trolly! very well done indeed. I liked the fact that the welcome was warm, but you still had your own space and did not feel like you were encroaching someones house! Would definightly stay there again!

Room Tip: Fantastic location for beach strolls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I booked my weekend at Whitstable Bay Guest House through the website - calling the owner- Denise. She is a lovely person who welcome us with a smile. I was searching for nice b&b and the moment I saw the picture of the room as well as I have spoken to Denise I know this is going to be good place to stay. As a frequent traveler I know what I would expect from b&b and the Bay Guest House tickes all boxes. The b&b is located on Joy Lane - in residential area just 10 min walk from the centre - high street where you get all restaurants, shops and 5 min walk from the beach ( via shortcut). The guest house is a well presented villa with an off street parking. As the car parking in Whitstable can be sometimes an issue - the road are very narrow and parking space is limited + not fee of charde - unfortunatelly, I was very pleased with private parking just in front of the villa. Our room was located on the first floor. The bedroom offers: an en-suit shower room, a fantastic size double bedroom with king size double bed. The bed is so comfortable that cotton linen make you feel like sleeping in your own bed. The room is nicely decorated, carpeted throughout with double glazed window, central heating, great size wardrobe with full length mirror, a small table with 2 chairs - ideal for b-fast, TV, a double sofa, an iron board, wireless free internet. The bedroom and shower room were spotless. The highlate of our stay was actually the breakfast. For an extra £5 per person I got 2 slices of fresh toasted bread with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon + complimentary standard b-fast which includes, a cofee or tea of your choice, milk, musli or cornflakes, fresh fruits salad, two different jams, two fresh crossaint, butter, two fresh yoghurts, chilled water, an orange juice...it was just amazing. I like to eat propertly in the morning and this breakfast was just great start of the day. One night at Bay Guest House cost us £75 including b-fast. It is just one hour away from London. For a dinner I would recommend Whitstable Oyster Fishery, lunch - try Samphire - small restaurant on the high street. If word of mouth is what some places deserve -The Whitstable Bay Guest house is definitely one of those places. You will not feel dissapointed if you are looking for a quiet city break with short distance from London. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marekgldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon Hills Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

The greeting was the warmest you could wish for, our room was large, very clean and has everything you could want, the very helpful friendly landlady is eager to oblige with any reasonable request.
Breakfast arrived on a trolly outside our room at the time we asked and wish I had taken a photo-it really was a picture, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals of your choice, croissants jam & marmalade, orange juice, milk and fresh chilled water along with pot of coffee-absolutely perfect. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjincallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
17.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Joy Lane, Whitstable CT5 4DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury bed & breakfast just moments from the sea. We have three rooms to choose from, one with a seaview, with a breakfast in bed service. Two of the rooms have king size beds, each with an en-suite, tea & coffee making facilities with a selection of beverages, freeview TV and free wifi access. There's off-street parking and secure bike storage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitstable Bay Bed And Breakfast Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing