We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Perfectly Acceptable”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Premier Inns are a classic example of consistency. It isn't luxury, though I've stayed in so-called 'luxury hotels' that have been far worse, but it is perfectly acceptable for one or two night's.. The beds are comfortable, there is a choice of hard or soft pillows, the staff are well trained and personable and the TV and shower work. This is Value for Money. If you want to pay more, do so, but it is unlikely that you will get a commensurate increase in quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    119
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
118
112
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for three nights having stayed in premier inns around the Uk (we are a family travelling from Australia). This is not the newest or most stylish Premier Inn BUT the staff were so incredibly friendly - nothing was too much trouble (they helped us with luggage, allowed us to use washing facilities, gave us advice on good places to take our 9 year old - Hever Castle and the Wet Maze). The Beefeater next door was ideal for us with a child and the lady looking after breakfast each morning was lovely. I rate this hotel the best Premier Inn purely because the staff were so incredibly helpful and made things really very easy for us. Other than it, it was quiet, good parking, handy to the motorway (we used it as a base for Brighton, Canterbury, RTW, Hever, Sissinghurst and Leeds Castle). Highly recommend - and thank you to the lovely staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelec69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed at this Premier Inn several times; the staff are always friendly, good parking, rooms clean and good disabled facilities; although on a main road traffic noise is not disturbing. We would definitely stay here again and the Hilden Manor next door is a good place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Booked Tonbridge North Premier Inn and meals in adjacent Beefeater for 2 night stay on 12 & 13 June 2014.

My wife and I arrived 18.30 , room was double, not twin as requested. Only a drip or two of cold water coming out of basin cold tap and basin was very slow to drain. Toilet very slow to fill. Complained to receptionist who made up single bed. Said she wouldn't drink the water anyway and couldn't do anything about basin tap and said drinking water was available from MACHINE in entrance. Didn't offer any free bottles of water. Surely FRESH COLD water is a requirement for all bedrooms, especially when tea making facilities are provided. This is a basic requirement and rooms should be let without this facility. It also calls into question how the room has been checked prior to letting. We had to go to the local petrol station to purchase bottles of water for drinking and teeth cleaning.

Went to Beefeater who had no knowledge of our booking for meals despite booking them initially and again during on line check in. Ordered drinks which never came, reminded waitress who had obviously forget them. Ordered mixed grill and grilled salmon in bearnaise sauce as described in the menu as follows:- Grilled Salmon Fillet** and Béarnaise§
A freshly chargrilled salmon fillet, with buttered potatoes, tender
stemmed broccoli, cherry tomatoes, served with Béarnaise sauce.

Meals arrived after 30 minutes, mixed grill was passable. Salmon was disgusting, about 3 slivers of very hard dried up potatoes, no butter. Broccoli was very hard and dried up, only 3 very small sprigs. No tomatoes. Complained about salmon and was told that if another meal was wanted the order would be at the back of the queue and would take about 40 mins. No replacement fresh vegetables were offered. Also as we had booked meals and paid on Premier inn site no refund could be given. Ordered desserts, one was bread and butter pudding with custard. When it arrived the spoon and fork were laying in the custard. No attempt was made by the waitress to change them until prompted.

Returned to room, cold water still none existent. Next morning at 7.30am pointed out room problems to receptionist who, I later found out was the manager, who said she would get the handy man to look at it and if he couldn't do it would call a plumber in. Returned at 5.30pm. Basin still the same, no remedial action had been taken. Complained again to different receptionist who said she would contact manager. Upshot of this was that we were offered one nights refund for room and one meals refund which she said she would do that evening. After dinner she handed me a refund note for the meals but said she had done the room refund but thrown the refund receipt away. Had another night without cold water and had to go and buy 2 bottles which surely should have been supplied free.

The one helpful person was the deputy manager in the Beefeater. who, although she could not do much on Thursday evening, made sure our meal on Friday evening was more enjoyable.

When I got home checked for room refund, not done so had to chase this up. Following a complaint to Head Office have now received a refund for the second night.

Have 2 more non refundable booking with Premier inn, hope these will be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for one night, mid week. The reception process was pleasant and efficient. The car park is close to the hotel and there seems to be plenty of spaces.
The room was the usual set up however it had a large flat screen TV wall mounted and the bathroom looked as though it had been upgraded.

There is a beefeater next door which was ok however the service was slow and the food pretty horrid.

Not much to say I'm afraid but if you're in the area and looking for somewhere to stay, want a clean room, comfortable bed and a decent breakfast then you should give this place a try.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our room was modern, comfortable and very clean. Two extra beds were added to the room for our children at no extra charge and they even had breakfast for free which was superb and had lots of healthy options. We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in many 5 star hotels which could learn a thing or two from Premier inn. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhammond212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Overall this is a average Premier Inn, so OK quality at an OK price.

I had a room fairly near reception so I expected there to be some passing customer noise and there was. I was awoken at 5am by a couple of other guests on their way to checkout. They were not particularly noisy so I think Premier Inn should consider fitting an additional inner door to these rooms, as some hotels I've stayed in do. The inner doors are not fire doors so allowed to be open most of the time but can be closed at night to ensure peace and quiet!

The only other quibble was the room was looking a bit tired. The carpet looked like it needed a wash rather than just another hoover and the plumbing wasn't great. The shower head was coming apart and the sink overflow didn't work.

On the plus side the reception team were all very pleasant and helpful when I asked a couple of questions about the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the traffic, which is not too bad anyway, but near to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonbridge
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
4.7 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.5 mi away
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Hadlow Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hadlow
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
682 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
Address: 109 London Road, Tonbridge TN10 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tonbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside the Oast Theatre and not far from Hever Castle and the grand Penshurst Place and Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel Tonbridge
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing