We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent for short stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hawthorn Cottage

Hawthorn Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hawthorn Cottage
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Hawthorn Cottage
Lounge
Kitchen
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Bathroom with roll top bath
Double bedroom king size
Entrance to Cottage
Outside sitting area
Garden/play area
Garden
Garden/sitting area
Parking and entrance
Ample parking area
Views from Hawthorn Cottage
Local pub - 5 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tonbridge, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
hewitt737
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“little things would have helped”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

in a lovely village,greeted by owner
left a complimentary wine,which was nice but no essential things left ,kitchen roll,washing up liquid,dish cloth,no extra toilet roll,foil (which helps to save on washing up ---on baking tray)
there needs to have a freezer (good job I enquired before we stayed as it is not a proper section in fridge so they supplied one out of property)
the sitting room is a lot smaller and dark than shown on web site
bedrooms nice and clean
a good location for visting lots of national trust and castles (hever castle brill)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tdog-Kent
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for short stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Hawthorn Cottage for over 4 weeks as we had sold our house and were waiting for our new one to become vacant.
The cottage is very well equipped and extremely comfortable. There is a washing machine and tumble drier which was extremely useful for us. There is also a washing up machine - but with just the two of us we didn't need that! The beds were very comfortable and the cottage was perfectly warm despite a few cold autumnal days during our stay.
There are plenty of good places to eat and drink in the area if you want to - the Man of Kent is very good. There are also lots of places to walk around the area.
Most importantly we found our hosts most accommodating as we had a few garden items we had forgotten in our move. They stored them in their garage until we moved out which was well beyond the call of duty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and relaxing at a time when we needed it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
It was a pleasure to have you both - hope all is well in your new home. All the best Lorna & Roland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammi P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in the country”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and lovely countryside. I really recomend it for people that enjoy walks. The pub nearby is really old fashion with very friendly staff and a good atmospere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy access to loads of footpaths
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M
Hamilton, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful cottage”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant little 2-storey cottage in a very quiet rural setting. At first glance it seems a long way from anywhere but it actually has excellent access to motorways and avoids the problems of town traffic. I stayed there for a month and would happily have stayed longer. Its wonderfully quiet in a nice rural setting with a great cross country running track (walk) along the river and around fishing ponds just out the door. Lots of parking. Very warm with all the appliances you would need and these great windows in the roof over the bed that you can watch the stars at night while tucked up nice and warm. Recommended

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review Matt - we hope to see you again sometime. All the very best, Roland & Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brabanter
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well aired, well located and friendly”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I am not often enthusiatic about cottages in England but I was about this one. It was close enough to Dover to make it easily accessable from the Netherlands and close enough to London to make a day trip possible.It was surrounded by family (and budget) - friendly National Trust properties. It was clean and was carpeted downstairs and not up stairs. This made sleeping a much nicer experience than usual. The beds were good and large enough to accomodate even the largest Dutchman. It was also well aired, and didn't have that damp smell of mould that all too many British cottages have. There was a big tv, wi fi and a garden for the children to play in. The kitchen was well equipped and there were two bathrooms and two toilets. All in all a positive experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
btelsch0w
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you for being such lovely guests and for your gift of Leeds Castle tickets - we went this weekend and had a wonderful day! All the very best Roland & Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing