We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best, not the worst.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best, not the worst.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as we were going to a wedding. The room size is pretty decent and the bed was huge.

The main issues were that the room hasn't been properly cleaned and there were bits of litter left lying around on the table and in the cupboard. The shower wasn't great and required me to fix it before we could use it properly.

The staff were helpful and bought an iron and ironing board up to the room for us. (The iron was terrible though)

The location for Tonbrige is great and there is free parking on site. A comfy bed and if that's all you need you'll be okay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACsoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    140
    108
    64
    37
See reviews for
55
139
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very Comfortable overnight stay,
Room (105) not the best view in the world but no problem for a overnight,room itself is comfortably furnished and similarly Bathroom is clean and Spacious
Typically Best Western Hotel which means lots of stairs and corridors(may be an idea to ask staff to allocate room by ease of access if stairs are a problem,I'm sure the very helpful staff would oblige)
Did not dine in Hotel but restaraunt Menu looked appetising and varied (lots of diners in restaraunt so i took this as a good sign)
Hotel Parking is free and seems to be enough spaces for all?
Well stocked and Comfortable Bar area(very good ales)
All in All, Happy to return if the occasion arises

Room Tip: 105 very comfortable(though view is limited)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here in 2012 so this review is late, but hopefully still helpful!
The hotel is an easy walk from Tonbridge railway station (turn left from the station exit and walk straight down the high street) – took around 12 minutes. There is no lift but we got help upstairs with our luggage, so this wasn’t an issue.
The main building is full of quirky corridors and a maze of doors, and has real character. It was confusing to find our room at first (on the top floor) but directions to all rooms were clearly marked. Our room had been newly renovated: the bathroom especially was lovely, looked new. A kettle, cups, coffee/tea/milk, and even some biscuits were provided in the room, which was a welcome touch. Breakfast was included in our booking, and we were very impressed – there was continental breakfast and full English breakfast available, and both were plentiful.
The staff were excellent: pleasant, chatty and helpful. Anything we requested came through exactly as we asked, and nothing was too much bother for them.
There was one negative point, and this was due to the building itself, not the staff. This is a really old building, but if it is being used as a hotel then there needs to be a balance between keeping its character, and giving guests a pleasant stay. Unfortunately, what seems like ‘character’ during the daytime became an issue at night. Floorboards were extremely noisy on our floor – this sounds really minor and is obviously not a problem during the day - but in the night we were constantly awoken by loud movements - they were so loud they sounded like they were in the room itself. It rained heavily a couple of nights, and there was a constant dripping sound above somewhere (not in the room though!), so this did mean we had some disturbed sleep during our stay. They’ve clearly made a great effort with the redecorating and renovation, and the staff are lovely - but it would get top marks if some of these internal noises could be sorted out.
The hotel's location is great - it's on the high road, with the castle opposite. It's an easy walk to the railway station, and various bus stops are along the road. There is a fairly good selection of shops nearby. We visited quite a few areas very easily as it’s in a great location for public transport. Can recommend The Humphrey Bean (restaurant/pub) in the high road for cheap, good plentiful meals & drink!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a real treat! It was a bit difficult at first to find out where to put our car long enough to check-in, You can, very briefly, pull up right in front of the door. There is a parking area behind the hotel. You just have to drive quite a ways to get to it. The room was beautifully furnished. A nice touch was having hot chocolate mix and "biscuits" in a little basket. We used the pot to make hot water and had got warmed up on this cool, rainy day. We had dinner in their beautiful restaurant just off the lobby. The roast beef with Yorkshire pudding hit the spot as did the Bailey's Brulee. The young woman at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful. The only downside with this place was that the floors creaked in our room. Not too good if you are in a room with a light sleeper. Don't miss the Tonbridge castle which is just a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in early May sleeping in one of the "garden rooms" which are in an annexe to the hotel. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable enough for a short stay. The shower was hot and there were all the usual soaps etc. A small criticism; the duvet could have been a bit bigger, we always use king size on double beds at home.

Breakfast was good with the "Full English" freshly cooked and very tasty. Without exception the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.

It is never going to be one of England's great hotels, but for a place to stay for a few days and used as a centre for touring the area it was more than acceptable. We would use it again if in that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have more space for clothes storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spurstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a one night stay at the Rose and Crown on a B&B deal. The hotel is in two parts and we were allocated a double room in the annexe, built, I guess in the 1960s. The room was pleasant enough but quite small as was the 4ft 6in double bed. We have a 5ft at home and that size seems pretty standard in hotels these days. We found it difficult to adapt to the smaller size. We had an added problem of no cold water, with both taps in the bath and wash basin delivering hot water - by the time we found this out on the Sunday morning it was too late for the staff to do anything.

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was reasonable although there was not a lot of choice. I am not sure that I would want to stay there again unless we could be sure of a wider bed.

Room Tip: Check the bed size if you are booking as a couple and if, like me, you are 6ft 3in tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being on a busy high street, it is fortunate that you can stop outside to ask directions to the car park, a common event as reception have small leaflets explaining how to get there. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We were directed to 103 and 104 , 2 ajoining rooms ( our daughter was with us) and also given details of the free Wifi which worked well. Being a traditional Inn, it does lack the clean lines of a new build but the multilevel corridoors etc do add to the charm of the place.
Initial impressions of the rooms were positive. Although clean, some of the furnishings had seen better days and let the place down ( headboard for example was a very simple almost "home made" unit). Parts of the bathroom has also seen better days, especially the loose toilet seat, but again the room was clean and very functional. The biggest critisism of both rooms was that although their were thermostats on the radiators, irrespective of the setting , they remained red hot and as the windows were original, it was not possible to open them ( also opened onto the main road). We draped the curtains over them to reduce the heat, but we did sleep well in as the beds were comfortable.

One little incident we had was that the interconnecting door closed behind us and as keys etc had been left in the other room, we could not get back in. A search in the hotel could not find the yale key to reopen the door and staff were getting prepared to shoulder charge the door. Fortunately another solution was found ( I will not explain what). However closer inspection of the door frames showed that it would not have been the first time they had been forced open.

Breakfast was in the restaurant and was a quite hearty full english. I have read others complaining that it was expensive at £10,50 but as we had an all in rate we found it good value. However on the first day, my wife did not take the full choice and was given extra of what she ordered. The second day she asked for the same and received a much smaller amount showing a variation in standards in the kitchen and also bad value.

Both nights we ate in the resaurant and were surprised at how few people were their considering the quality of the food . Again I see others complaining it is expensive, but at £16 for a 3 course meal , we thought it was excellent value. Yes the beer is a tad expensive, but I enjoyed a perfectly kept pint ( or 3) . Both nights we had the Belly pork starter, which was excellent, but as with breakfast, it was clear their had been a change in chef as the second night it was not crispy.

As commented, the bedrooms were clean an comfortable, although the single room ajoining had a number of wall paper joints that had been badly refixed. Similar in the corridors, the wall paper has obviously been there for many years an repaired / restuck more times that it should and giving the impression that it had not been a professional job.

HOWEVER,
all the above comments taken into account, we enjoyed our stay soo much that we extended from 1 nights stay to 2 and should we find ourselves in the area again, will be more than happy to stay there or recommend it. A new build Premier- Holiday- Lodge it is not but its quaintness certainly makes up for this

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DriftwoodNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonbridge
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Hadlow Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hadlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge

Property: Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
Address: 125 High Street, Tonbridge TN9 1DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tonbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tonbridge
Best Western Rose And Crown In Tonbridge Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing