We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful: A REAL pub!”

The Kentish Rifleman
Ranked #9 of 103 Restaurants in Tonbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: a 16th century pub/restaurant offering honest, freshly cooked lunch and dinner. Restaurant closed Sun and Monday evenings. Gluten free and vegan options available. Dogs welcome in the bar and attractive garden. 4 real ales on tap.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful: A REAL pub!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I think The Kentish Rifleman is my all time favorite pub! I should say that it is a "real" pub, not some Gastro pub and that is what makes it so great to me. It isn't fancy, it isn't posh, it isn't anything other thatn what it is supposed to be: A great country pub with good hearty food, good, well kept beer and honest people. I most recently went there on Pie and a Pint night and had a great big steak and mushroom pie, good veg and fat chips with a pint of Native...what more could you want?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaWSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    52
    9
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Seabass or Sardine.....”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Diabolical!. Visited with 2 friends on Sunday 26th May. On the face of it the pub looks welcoming, but you DON'T want to eat here!!!. Starters arrived promptly, mushrooms with brie & small piece of toasted French stick...just awful..where was the brie?, tomato soup sharp tasting..not good. Waited over an hour for main courses to arrive..despite having booked!!!. Seabass looked more like a sardine, was accompanied by 4 tiny new potatoes & a small amount of wilted spinach plus 3 or 4 carrot batons. Not enough to feed a 2 year old!!!. Roast 'chicken' dinner was slabs of what looked like processed meat ( & was pink in the middle!), plus cold veg. 'Roast lamb' was a bit of a puzzle too...was it lamb or beef???..looked like beef & was as tough as old boots according to my friend, again served with cold veg. At £11.50!!!!..for the 'Seabass', I sent it back untouched...both friends sent theirs back too. No visit from the Landlord to check on our concerns,he simply carried on serving behind the bar. To be fair, we were only charged for drinks....no questions were asked. This, however, points to an admission of guilt & nonchalance on the part of the owners of what is actually a lovely country pub. Come on folks...wake up and start caring!. Too many establishments like yours are closing down on a daily basis....you have a little 'Gem' here, please employ a decent chef and dig yourselves out of complacency. Until then..we'll be staying away!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mags1RochesterKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Humble and honest”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Since being devasted a few years back in a fire, the pub has had a facelift and is all the more welcoming for it. In the winter- log fires warm the cosy rooms, during the summer- the doors are frequently left open to allow some cool breeze. Have been coming here for years and the atmosphere, the welcome recieved is to be admired in this age of chain run gastro-pubs.
I've been impressed by the level of attention shown to developing the menu- there is a wide range of tastes catered for in the menu- and in the wines/beers (the real ales are second to none!) and with regular events nights being held a customer is always spoilt for choice.
I may of course be biased as I have been coming for years- but maybe that should tell people reading this something. There are no shortages of pubs/restaurants/cafes, etc. in the surrounding villages and towns- so why come here? Because not only is the food and drink good, and the welcome received a hearty one, but it touches something that none of the bigger establishments can- something we are close to losing in this country where the workers clock in and out and dont stay afterwards to have a quiet drink at the bar- a touch of community, of home and hearth...and THAT is reflected in the whole package.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Not impressed. 4 of us visited. Only Chardonnay white available which was surprising for a pub and not a good start. Two of the main courses we selected only had one portion available. The topping of the steak and ale pie was not cooked even after sending it back. Then the jam roly poly was a minuscule portion and barely warm. Overall not a good night out

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Surferboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went in for a quick lunch with my brother and mother. The pub is fantastic looking from the outside, with a warm old world style on the inside. The owner/manager seemed friendly enough but was not involved in the service at all. The young barman had the service skills of a plank of wood! Ranging from flicking a beermat at my mothers glass of wine and picking his nose while reading the paper at the bar, only for him to disappear for a fraction of a second and bring our lunch plates out. The haddock tasted as if the oil it had been fried in hadn't been changed in months. The KR burger was chewy. And all the chips were rock solid. No check backs done during the meal, so no chance to complain about it, and by the end all we wanted to do was get out of there.

Will not be going back. Such a shame to see a wonderful looking pub dragged down by the lack of simple hospitality skills.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BenAlkureishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kentish Rifleman also viewed

 

Been to The Kentish Rifleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing