We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the London Beach for a golf break on a Sun/Mon. The price of the break included 2 rounds of 18 holes of golf (9 hole course which was pointed out to us when we booked), dinner (2 courses), bed & breakfast, because of the price we paid we weren't expecting it to be 5 star and it wasnt however we were very pleasantly surprised, yes the hotel is tired and maybe needs a bit of TLC in places, the food at dinner was mixed with some delicious dishes and some not quite there (there were 4 of us staying so we were able to sample 8 of the dishes from the menu) and we witnessed an argument between 2 members of staff in the bar which didn't give a very professional impression. On the plus side though the bar and restaurant staff were very polite and friendly and the guy who runs the golf shop was a real character. The spa area was extremely impressive and a fabulous and unexpected addition to the hotel. The golf course was well run and well kept. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean and the balconies were a real bonus plus the small AC units on 2 of the hottest days of the year were much appreciated. All in all a very pleasant stay and incredibly good value for money and somewhere we would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBogdanovski, General Manager at London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Bigums,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel recently.
I'm glad that you had an enjoyable stay at our establishment and that the rooms, food and golf course provided you with a enjoyable experience.

I can only apologise for you having to witness an argument between two members of the staff, this is not something that I allow and I will look into immediately, as this is not normal behaviour for our staff.

Yours Sincerely

Phil Bogdanovski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 594 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

A very nice, smallish hotel, obviously is mostly filled with golfers, but an excellent central location to tour round Kent. After the first night we were ready to leave. Dinner took 45 mins for the starter to arrive, and another half hour for the main course. We abandoned the idea of a dessert. Breakfast the next morning again took over three-quarters of an hour to arrive. In our room we had to dust the tv before we could view. Having said that from then on the service and food was excellent. The room was very spacious and clean with excellent views. Food and drink are a little pricey, but the brasserie prices are very competitive. All staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms face South-west and have balconies with large patio doors and lovely views over the golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBogdanovski, General Manager at London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Graeme S,

I'm sorry to hear that the dinner and breakfast service on you 1st night was slow, I will be looking into this immediately.
However, I am glad to hear that the food itself and the service (although slow) were both of an excellent standard.

I hope that you will come back to enjoy our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Phil Bogdanovski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Was really pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff were polite and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Free wifi available throughout the hotel.
My room was really spacious with an added bonus of a balcony with table and chairs so you could watch the sun set over the golf course. The bed was very comfortable with a superbly soft duvet.
As per usual I had to leave hotel before breakfast which always disappoints me however all was not lost as staff arranged for a bacon sandwich to be ready for me when I checked out.
Having read some of the reviews for this hotel I cannot understand the negative comments.
Would I stay her again? Yes

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishgal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBogdanovski, General Manager at London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Irishgal2013,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.
I'm sorry that you did not have time to sample the full breakfast available every morning from 7am, but I'm very glad that we were able to make sure that you did not leave for work with out a Bacon Sandwich at the least. Breakfast is after all the most important meal of the day!

We look forward to you staying again and hopefully can persuade you to stay a bit later for breakfast.

Phil Bogdanovski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were in need of a couple of days rest. We chose the London Beach as it is not too far from home but far enough to feel as though we had gone away. After reading reviews on here was concerned about a few issues raised, all I can say is I think either those people were extremely fussy or they had reviewed the wrong hotel ! All the staff, from check in to check out were welcoming , polite and attentive. The food we had, first night in the restaurant area, 2 breakfasts ( one of the best hotel breakfasts I have eaten ) and a snack in the conservatory was delicious and very reasonable priced. The rooms were extremely comfortable. large and spotlessly clean, albeit a little tired but seriously what do people want these days , give me clean and comfortable any day. The view over the golf course was fabulous especially at sunset . the spa was peaceful and relaxing - sorry mums and dads no kids was a bonus - and the treatments we had were first class. We left feeling totally rested and ready to face the world again. Cant wait to return. Thank you so much London Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pepsi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBogdanovski, General Manager at London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Pepsi 21,

Thank you very much for your recent review.
We are glad that you had such a relaxing stay with us and that you found the staff both friendly and helpful.
It is so nice to have positive feedback to forward to the staff, as we are constantly striving to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Phil Bogdanovski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went there few months ago because we found (what we thought) a very good deal. £100 a night with breakfast and dinner. We ended up paying extra £300 by the end of our 1 night stay!
Possitives:
If you wantt o play golf etc it's all on the door step!
Good and clean rooms with comfortable beds
Spa is quiet nice, with a large pool and steam rooms

Negatives
Needs an upgrade, everything is very dated and tired
Food was ok, but eveyrhting was very stoggy
i think all staff needs a re-training in Customer Service, takes ages to get a cup of team

Overall, I wouldn't go back .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandraBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBogdanovski, Manager at London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear SandraBaku,

Slightly confused by your review, especially as I talked to you IN DEPTH about you stay afterwards.
As you mentioned you booked the £100 Spa Break, including Spa facilities, 2-Course Dinner, Bed & Breakfast and use of the Spa again. = £200.
You then added desserts at £6 per person and mentioned that they were lovely at the time as well as a couple of bottles of wine!
You also added treatments for both you and your boyfriend £33 each... = £66

The total for your stay was in fact £300, not an additional £300!
...
Not a bad price for 3 Course Dinner for 2, and 2 Treatments and 2 Bottles of wine!!!

Especially when you mentioned that you had had a Spa Break elsewhere a few months ago and paid £165 for exactly that...
I mentioned this to you at the time and you realised that it had actually been cheaper with us with our bill totally £300 then the one that seemed better value totalling £330...

As I mentioned to you at the time we offer lower rates and allow you to add-on if you want to...
Thank you for allowing me to clarify this to you again.

Philip Bogdanovski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at this Hotel on the whole, the staff were less than friendly and seemed unwilling to be bothered with queries and complaints.
I left my Tablet charger in the room and they wanted £25 to return it to me....rip off....I arranged for someone to collect it for me from a nearby Hotel and they gladly posted it to me for £3 in a jiffy bag.
I did e-mail the manager ....but alas he did not reply.
The food was a good standard
Bedroom was clean
Balcony was dirty and smelt of stale tobacco, there were cigarette ends on the ground even though smoking is not allowed...and it was covered in cobwebs ( the balcony ).
The pool was lovely...but again unfriendly staff...likewise for the treatment rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBogdanovski, General Manager at London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hi Jim d and thank you for you feedback.

Since your visit, I have looked into the £25 Hotel Returns Policy, in place due to the time taken to go to the post office, pay for parking, pay for packaging and postage... Not to mention the staff members work time.
However, yours is the second complaint regarding this policy this year, therefore I have spoken to the Owners of the hotel, who had now agreed that the policy should be cancelled.

From now on we will only be charging for the postage & packaging for items to be returned.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention - feedback helps us look after you.

Philip Bogdanovski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just spent a wonderful two nights on a Spa break at the London Beach hotel. Lovely room, fantastic food, friendly polite staff, brilliant spa facilities and pool. Hope to visit again. The only slight problem was on booking when I seemed to get different prices but the price we paid was very reasonable for a two night break, with breakfast and dinner, and use of spa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBogdanovski, General Manager at London Beach Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear LindaP,

Thank you for you recent review.
We are very glad that you had a wonderful 2 nights with us.

We are always trying to improve our service and if you would like the best rates; just give us a call and book directly over the phone.

We look forward to seeing you soon - maybe try our £150 B & B Spa Break?

Yours Sincerely

Phil Bogdanovski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
0.1 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
11.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,325 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
19.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
727 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Beach Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Beach Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Ashford Road, Tenterden TN30 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Price Range: $104 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London Beach Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Beach Country Hotel has a magnificent adults only Spa with expert beauticians to pamper you and all the latest treatments available. It also has a beautiful parkland golf course. There is a health club at London Beach but the gym and fitness area are for members only. The hotel offers affordable luxury. It is situated just two minutes from the historic market town of Tenterden , fifteen minutes from Rye and twenty minutes from Ashford International Station, within easy reach of the M 20 motorway and the channel ports.As Tenterden's premier hotel it offers outstanding facilities including spacious bedrooms with private balconies and free high speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and in the bedrooms. The hotel's restaurants offer a wide choice of menus catered by our award-winning chefs. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure our friendly staff will meet your every need.For the perfect Break with your partner or friends. No decisions needed the choice is so wide. Combine a Golf Break with a Spa Break or one of the many options available from horse riding to flying breaks. Please note: The Luxury Spa with its saline hydrotherapy & swimming pools is available for £25 pp surcharge on non Spa packages, there is no separate hotel pool for hotel guests, but guests are welcome to pay this surcharge and turn their stay into a spa break. Spa Facilities are for adults only with a 21+ requirement, children are not allowed in the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your London Beach Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Beach Country Hotel Tenterden
London Beach Country Hotel And Spa
Best Western Tenterden
Tenterden Best Western
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing