We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a countryside”
Review of Little Dane Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Dane Court
Ranked #3 of 11 Tenterden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a countryside”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Little Dane Court for several times with an interval of about 4-5 month. It was nice to see how it was transformed over one year. The host is a nice and friendly man who looks well after beautiful cottage, garden and cosy ambience.

Variety of meals from Japanese to the traditional English breakfast will make you really happy!

Next time we will give it a try and stay in the Katsura Japanese style cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladwell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
62
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We decided spend some time in Kent as part of our summer holiday and on a friends recommendation came to Tenterden.
We arrived with no accomodation booked so a quick visit to one of the local pubs and our quest to find somewhere to stay began.
How lucky for us that the very first place we tried was Little Dane Court.
A knock on the door and a few moments later it was opened by a friendly chap who invited us in and made us feel instantly welcome.
We viewed one room in the main house before he mentioned that there was a Japanese themed cottage in the garden.
After viewing Katsura Cottage our choice was made.
We spent two nights in this former coach house which has been styled in a traditional minimalist japanese style.
It's a comfy little place - especially the bed - and has a good sized bathroom.
Fortunately for us the weather was good so we were able to enjoy the garden which the cottage door opens straight out to.
After breakfast the following day we chatted to Rod the owner who is happy to spend time talking and offering advice on the best places to visit in the area.
On our return from a days exploring we relaxed in the garden with a bottle of wine.
I had asked rod earlier if he would mind keeping it cool for us and when we returned he provided us with a couple of decent glasses also. A nice gesture we thought.
On the second day breakfast had been set up outside as it was a lovely sunny day.
All in all a great couple of days.
We were sorry to leave but had to as someone else had already booked it for the weekend.
Thanks again Rod for making our short stay so pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The B&B is perfectly placed for touring the area but I was a little disappointed. No locks on the doors, carpet in the bathroom, no choice of bread at breakfast and greasy full English, weak coffee. It has character but needs a few tweaks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladieswhodine67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod H, Owner at Little Dane Court, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ladies,

I don't usually respond to reviews but felt I had to reply to yours as it was the only negative review I have received in several months and I was not aware of any dissatisfaction during your stay. I am always open to requests and comments during the stay and I would have been happy to give you stronger coffee if you had asked for it. I gave you the choice of breakfasts such as scrambled eggs, continental, or a variety of special diet breakfasts and you requested the "full English"cooked breakfast (which incidentally is cooked in virgin olive oil. You were given white and brown toast and gluten free toast bread was also available.
As a 550 year old house the latch system on the doors is original and authentic and over the last 18 months of running Little Dane Court there have been no security issues at all in a house with all doors having latches. You are the first guest to complain about sleep quality as the memory foam beds are frequently praised by guests for their comfort while the low scores for service and cleanliness is something I am also upset to read and something no other guest has complained about. I hope you have better experiences at any other establishments you choose to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here because I grew up in Tenterden and always wondered what the house with the cat on the roof was like inside. What a superb place to stay run by Rod, an excellent host. We stayed in the cottage which proved to be so relaxing; loved the Japanese theme. It was a pity we only stayed one night. The next time we're in the area this is where we're staying. Thanks for the experience Rod.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for three adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thank you, Rod, for being such a kind, generous and patient host to our rather boisterous party. You were so considerate in allowing an ecstatic bride and her five excited bridesmaids, a nervous mother, a photographer and one videographer with all the camera equipment to squeeze into the beautiful front room to prepare for the wedding.
The 'honeymoon' cottage with its beautiful Janapese touches was the perfect place for the young couple to spend their first night.
Your thoughtful dinner in the calm and beautiful garden was just what we needed to wind down after the wedding celebrations.
Thank you once again. We look forward to staying with you whenever we visit our family in Tenterden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Super modern facilities in a listed house from the days before Charles Dickens. Service is top notch as are the breakfasts. We loved our room with walk in closet and stairs up to the large bathroom with a small dressing room that catches the sun.
Do not miss a stay at this 5 star B and B. Rod is the best host!

Room Tip: Cottage is private. Check with website for rooms with private or shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESTHER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I spent the last weekend in Tenterden - there to visit family but it was also Tentertainment weekend. Our whole family stayed at Little Dane Court. I have to say, this was fabulous B&B. The owner, Rod, was so helpful in planning our stay and executing our weekend.

The place is lovely - very old by American standards (built in the 1700s) - but so charming with all the essential modern touches added. The shower was awesome. The rooms are clean and decorated simply and beautifully. The beds/mattresses are amazing!

The food was fabulous as well. Rod does breakfast cooked to order and is even willing to do dinners! Great service with a smile!

The hotel is right in town - which is great since Tenterden is such a small town. All in all, I would definitely stay here again!

Defnitely stay here!

Room Tip: I don't think there is bad room. Just depends on the desired number of people per room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
1.4 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
1.4 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
William Caxton
William Caxton
#9 of 11 in Tenterden
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Dane Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Dane Court

Property: Little Dane Court
Address: 1 Ashford Road, Tenterden TN30 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Dane Court 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B in the center of Tenterden with a large oriental style garden and private courtyard and 5 rooms (4 en-suite)and Katsura cottage in Oriental style in the garden. Offering 5 star service in the heart of English wine and gardens country. Large car park to the rear of the house, WiFi and breakfast inclusive with locally sourced foods. Katsura Cottage is available for dog owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Dane Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Dane Court Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing