We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, quirky old B&B in Tenterden.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Dane Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Dane Court
Ranked #3 of 11 Tenterden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quirky old B&B in Tenterden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Highly individual 550 year old timbered B&B right in the heart of Tenterden. One minute from the shops, and a number of pubs and restaurant and with parking to the rear of the house - which is very handy. The house and rooms are tastefully furnished and there is a really relaxing atmosphere.

We were stayed here as we going for a wine tour at nearby Chapel Down winery and the owner Rod will drop and collect you (for a £10 charge), which made things very easy indeed. We went for the Garden Room, with a double bed and ensuite, and this was very comfortable. There was a terrible storm all that night so I couldn't comment on what the noise would have been like otherwise - can't imagine it would have been bad.
The english breakfast was delicious, as was the coffee. If I'd been drinking tea I would have agreed it was a bit weak, but then I would have just asked for it a bit stronger, rather than keep quiet and put it in a review when it's too late for Rod, the very friendly and obliging Scottish owner to do anything about it. He comes round lots of times to top you up - you'd only have to speak up and ask!

All in all we loved it, and if you're going to Chapel Down it's perfect. If we came back to visit the steam railway or the castle - we'd definitely use this place again. It would also be perfect to take all the rooms for a larger group

Room Tip: Aside from the cottage at the rear - you would hear some traffic noise, but I can't imagine ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelD1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have returned for a second time to this exceptional B&B in the centre of Tenterden. Great location, off-street parking, friendly service and lovely breakfast. We stayed in a well appointed room (The Garden Room) with alarm / automatic tea maker, and spacious ensuite bathroom. The property also has a beautifully furnished lounge available to residents. The house is itself of historic interest, and is close to the many shops, cafes and restaurants in the lovely town of Tenterden, which is well situated for visiting the many sights in the region, such as Battle (Hastings), Batemans (Kipling’s house), Churchill’s former house at Chartwell, Dover Castle etc. We will certainly be returning during our next visit to Kent.
Neil and Margaret, Ayr.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. Good location to centre of Tenterden. Rod's recommendations for eating out were spot on. Room was comfortable and clean, equipped with teasmaid but no hairdryer. Perhaps this was because we were in a twin room which looked liked it was decorated for kids e.g. cartoon animal curtains (probably left over from previous owner)! Overall lacking detail on things that would not cost too much and would justify the high price.

Positives:
Clean, good breakfast (see below for tea comment), welcoming host, unique decor, memory foam beds.

Negatives:
Teabags not replenished in room, tea served at breakfast was extremely very weak (one tea bag in a large family sized pot!), no bedroom locks however there is a lock on the shared bathroom. No hairdyer in room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scienceladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

A lovely old house with great features and fascinating history dating back to the 1500's. A priest's hole, smuggler's cellars, attic smugglers light plus a listed sculpture of cat chasing a bird on the roof all make a stay in this brilliant B&B out of the ordinary and exciting. The rooms are very stylish and comfortable and have excellent 21st century facilities which fit in beautifully and make for a really pleasant stay. There is good parking to the rear and pleasant gardens. The breakfasts are delicious and Rodney, the owner, could not have made us more welcome. The area has some brilliant attractions -we were there for the stunning gardens of Sissinghurst, Great Dixter, Scotney Castle, Wisley etc. -all within easy reach. There are lots of other nearby attractions including the Wealden scenery and countryside, Canturbury, steam railways etc and Tenterden itself is a picturesque town looking like a scene from a Dickens novel. We will definately be back soon to see it in the spring/summer.

Room Tip: The coach house at the rear looks interesting and fun -we will try to book it next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This lovely B&B with off street parking (very handy as it is pricey to park) is centrally placed in the gorgeous little town of Tenterden. A 2 minute walk from the shops, cafe, resturants and of course the wonderful steam railway, where you can catch to train Bodiam Castle (or drive one if you have the mind too which is why we were there!). Rod, the owner/host is friendly, interesting and attentive really doing his best to make you feel welcome and at home. The B&B is a delightful mix of 15C arcitecture with a maze of rooms/stairs with beautiful Japanese art (inc. a garden) and furniture. Room/bathrooms are spotlessly clean, nice toiletries, beds very comfortable with memory foam matresses and a variety of pillows to ensure a good nights sleep. Breakfast is as substanstial as you could want. Just a little warning if you are a light sleeper the B&B is on the main road so if you have the windows open the traffic can be heard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the B&B, or use the cottage if you are a light sleeper :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulsandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ideally situated with off street parking and close to the shops, restaurants and pubs of Tenterden.
A warm welcome from the owner awaits you at this B & B. Well appointed clean rooms. Comfortable with heating for the colder nights.
A cold buffet awaits you in the morning as you choose from a good variety of traditional cooked breakfast fare. All cooked to order.
There is free wi-fi throughout
Guests may also use the lounge to relax during the day and evening.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: The main road is busy so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back or in the detached co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A large Kent cottage with many original structural features and off-street parking. A quiet setting within easy flat walking distance of all the main areas of Tenterden. Rob gave good advice about where to eat out and things to do. A very comfortable bed in a spacious and simply decorated room - a calm atmosphere and Japanese theme throughout. Our requests for additional items and slight variations to breakfast were all easily accommodated. Yogurt, fruit and juices in addition to well-cooked food that was full of flavour. We are not accustomed to having an unlocked bedroom whilst on holiday but secure storage was offered. An extremely enjoyable 3 nights stay which we are happy to recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Talk to Rob about your requirements. He is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
1.4 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
1.4 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
William Caxton
William Caxton
#6 of 11 in Tenterden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Dane Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Dane Court

Property: Little Dane Court
Address: 1 Ashford Road, Tenterden TN30 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Dane Court 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B in the center of Tenterden with a large oriental style garden and private courtyard and 5 rooms (4 en-suite)and Katsura cottage in Oriental style in the garden. Offering 5 star service in the heart of English wine and gardens country. Large car park to the rear of the house, WiFi and breakfast inclusive with locally sourced foods. Katsura Cottage is available for dog owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Little Dane Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Dane Court Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing