We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't have to stay here to enjoy it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Silver Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Although I have not stayed at this hotel, I have been fortunate to attend a variety of meetings, functions and meals here during recent years. I have always found the staff (without exception) very welcoming, polite and accommodating. The food is extremely tasty and well presented and the well appointed meeting / function rooms overlook the pretty garden and have been laid out in different formats according to the requirements.
A beautiful setting for any get-together.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your various visits here. Little Silver offers our guests fantastic food, great service in amazing surroundings. Thank you for making the point that the staff here are very welcoming and polite. These comments fairly reflect the feedback we get from many of our guests and it is very uplifting to receive this accolade from a guest that has been here a number of times not only for conferences but functions and meals. Hopefully we will see you again here soon and again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 651 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night en route to Folkstone and Channel Tunnel. We were meeting friends for supper at a local Pub. The hotel is exactly what it says. Three star but done very well indeed. The room was large, spotlessly clean, comfortable, well appointed and quiet. Bathroom the same, perhaps a little small but not too small. We only had a "continental" breakfast as we were headed for France and a lot of food but I don't doubt a cooked breakfast would have been freshly cooked and delicious. The basic breakfast was as good as we have had in much grander places. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Owner served us at breakfast and he is clearly a serious and professional hotelier. I really liked this hotel. It was much better than most 3 star and very many 4 star properties. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony-Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. It is very rewarding to receive such glowing and complimentary comments and very satisfying to know what we are trying to achieve here is appreciated. There are not many hotels now of this type that are not in hotel chains or have affiliations to various hotel groups, which try and standardise the establishments to create a corporate image. Thankfully we are proud to be totally independent and create an individual experience for our guests. Hopefully we will meet again in the near future. Once again, thank you for taking the trouble to write this amazing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently attended a breakfast meeting at the Little Silver and I have to admit that it's the best venue that I have ever had a meeting. The staff were very polite, the food was great, the overall feel of the Little Silver is great. The Little Silver is set in the perfect location with amazing surroundings and great vibes from the moment you step foot in the door.

Overall I would just like to say thanks for a great experience and for doing what you guys do. It's great to step foot in a hotel/restaurant and know that every member of staff working there 'wants' to be there and takes pride in their place of work.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you so much Peter for such a great review. It is really pleasing for the staff to read your comments and this of course helps others looking to have meetings here, that this is the place to book. With two meeting rooms, one holding upto 100 delegates and one upto 30 delegates and a smaller interview room, this does give business people plenty of choice.

Again thank you for a cracking review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my boyfriend for one night, I arrived late as I had a wedding, my boyfriend arrived beforehand and said all staff were very friendly, upon arrival on hotel lovely hotel, really nice, the room however is very outdated, also I had hardly any sleep due to paper thin walls! I was woken up during the night by the room next door snooring! the walls were so thin I could hear lights being turned on by rooms next to us, this really was the only down point for me, other than that really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you Lauren for your review. Really pleased you found the hotel to your liking and the staff very helpful. Your comments regarding your room seem a little harsh. Most of our guests compliment us on the quality of our rooms. All rooms have recently been re-furbed, all have flat screen TV's, power showers some with whirlpool baths, tea and coffee facilities and complimentary bottles of water (plenty hotels don't offer that!), free wifi and the rooms overlook the gardens. I am not sure what else we can possibly do.
Again thank you for your comments, feedback is important to us and we have noted your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A group of 8 meeting annually for reunion had an excellent 3 nights on two occasions with friendly and helpfull service. Food very good with economic pricing at slightly out of season rates

Recommended particularly for a disabled person in main building.

Room Tip: Book in Main part as rooms in annexe are small and stairs are steep but v. good for price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobNapthne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. It is always very satisfying to get such positive comments. You mention our mobility rooms, which have a high specification to ensure our less mobile guests have the very best facilities to help enjoy their stay. The standard of our rooms get very positive feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed the meals here, all our products are sourced locally where ever possible. Again, thank you for your comments.
We look forward to meeting you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Little Silver several times - their rooms are well furnished, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The staff seem exceptionally friendly, courteous and effective. Excellent restaurant, too, good chef.

Room Tip: The rooms with four posters are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you Simon for such a great review. Really pleased that you have enjoyed your stays here and that you found our rooms so very good. Our head chef will be very pleased to read such positive comments about his team, all feedback is appreciated.
Again, thank you for such a fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just married my lovely lady at Little Silver (12/04/2013.) Staff were excellent leading up to the event and during the day. The hotel is lovely and a perfect venue for a wedding. The food was very good. The proprietor made us all feel welcome and was an excellent host. Many thanks for a great day. Andrew and Vanessa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you Andy and Vanessa for such a great review.
It was a pleasure to host your special day. Reviews like yours really help other brides as they look and consider their options and wedding venues. Reading your review gives them confidence that their special day will be the best here at Little Silver, with any worries or stresses taken care of. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
0.1 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,050 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
11.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,291 reviews
8.9 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Silver Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Silver Country Hotel

Address: Ashford Road | St. Michaels, Tenterden TN30 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Price Range: $124 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Silver Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional English hotel built in the Georgian style with an excellent restaurant that serves locally sourced foods. The hotel offers an Oak beam lounge, Oaks restaurant, bar, landscaped gardens and 16 luxury rooms including suites and 4-posters. These rooms have spa baths. A popular wedding venue, that is licensed to hold the marriage ceremony either in the magnificent Kent Hall or garden gazebo on those warm summer days. Kent Hall can accommodate up to 120 guests for the banquet and up to 150 guests for the evening reception. Plenty of parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Little Silver Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Silver Country Tenterden
Little Silver Country Hotel Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing