We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Silver Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here recently for 2 nights while visiting the nearby Wildlife Heritage Foundation (we found the hotel from the Foundation's list of nearby hotels). We were not disappointed. We arrived to a warm welcome from the owner/manager and shown to our room. We were thrilled to have been upgraded to a four-poster/whirlpool bath room at no additional cost. Our room was well sized, comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. The bathroom was large, with plenty of space for us to put our things and a good sized whirlpool bathtub. The food in the restaurant was good (we had breakfast both mornings and one evening meal) - it wasn't amazing but perfectly fine for our needs. Only a few things we noticed, which I am going to mention for the benefit of the hotel, but has not affected our opinion or our rating:

- Few cobwebs in the room and bathroom that we were surprised went unnoticed
- The hotel has free wifi but the signal is terrible (perhaps a better router is needed or is this just because of the location?)
- Pillows could be better quality - we found them far too soft
- Larger bath sheets would be nice in the bathrooms instead of bath towels - would be nice especially after stepping out of the amazing whirlpool bath
- Somewhere to hang towels by the bathtub would have been handy
- On our first morning down to breakfast we arrived at 7.30 to find that there was nobody around and no food laid out. As we had to be at the Wildlife Heritage Foundation that morning we had come down at the beginning of breakfast service so we could leave in plenty of time. We later found out that all the staff were serving breakfast at a meeting at the rear of the property. Normally would not have been an issue but we were concerned about time. Perhaps on mornings like the buffet area (cereal, milk, juice, yoghurts and fruit) could be left out so people can make a start.

But to reiterate these few points did not affect our stay in any way and have not affected our review. We had a great stay, all the staff were helpful and friendly and we would not hesitate to stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OfficerCharlieDibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review. It really helps a business like ours to have such positive reviews and very much appreciated by our staff and hopefully guests who are thinking of staying with us. The few points you made have been taken on board, we are grateful for pointing these out.
You can remain in touch with Little Silver by ‘liking’ us on our Facebook page, bringing you upto date on all that is happening here. Hopefully we will see you again in the future, again thank you for such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 674 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We came here for a wedding. The staff were ok, some rude ( Actually, no, all of them were )... It had beautiful grounds and gardens and the wedding was outside which they made perfect, lots of flowers around, the hall was good, the rooms though were very dated.... Overall good reception and good hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cherriecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your review. I am sorry you found the staff rude (your words). We get a great number of excellent comments from our guests regarding many aspects of this hotel but especially how attentative, polite and professional our staff are. We are sorry you found this not the case, it is a pity you have waited 11 months before you alerted us to this situation. Nevertheless, we are pleased you enjoyed the wedding and the gardens this hotel offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I, who are both disabled, attended a function and stayed overnight on 23rd.March 2013. The room was perfect for a wheelchair user and the en suite wet/bathroom was ideal. The dinner/dance was wonderful with superb attention to detail in order that all went smoothly. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast was delicious. Many thanks to all but especially Charlie who was a great help in making our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: The room we had, 11, was ideal for a wheelchair user with space to turn and wide doors to room and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for such an excellent review. We have two rooms that are equipped for guests that have mobility needs. We are very pleased that you found one of these rooms you stayed in did come up to expectations for a wheelchair user. The rooms are specifically designed for wheelchair users in mind, though we do find the rooms are also excellent for our guests that are a little unsteady or have general mobility needs.
Again, it was a pleasure having you both staying with us, we all hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and l stayed here on the 15th march 2013 and it was absolutely perfect from the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble.Oliver took us into town and he then collected us later as we couldnt get a taxi and all of his staff were great going out of the way to help with anything.The room was amazing, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and this was just a standard room.Definitely be going back there as soon as poss.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank yo very much for your fantastic review. It is a pleasure to be of service to our guests. thank you for making the point of how clean the rooms are, our housekeeping department our really very thorough. look forward to meeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My Daughter was married here last week (Feb 23rd 2013). It was just perfect and the staff were amazing, nothing too much trouble. I have to make a particular mention to Paige - one of the staff - she was there right from the moment my Daughter and Son-in-law decided this was the place for them. She was worth her weight in gold and could not do enough. The whole experience was wonderful, food fantastic and the bridal suite (I was told) was fabulous. They made the whole day go without a hitch. I would most certainly recommend Little Silver to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. We are really pleased that the wedding went off well and that you found the food and staff were excellent and that the bridal suite was fabulous. We are one of Kent's most popular wedding venues and feedback like this helps future brides have confidence that Little Silver is the place to get married. Hopefully we will see your daughter again to celebrate their wedding anniversary next year. Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012, nice little hotel with nice gardens. Soundproofing could be better, you could hear floorboards creaking from the room above, for this reason try and book an upstairs room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your great review. Sorry we did not quiet get full marks. Creaking floor boards I guess come with the older parts of the property. Hopefully it did not disturb you too much. Last year we invested in extra sound proofing in rooms where necessary to avoid any excessive annoyance to our guests, plainly this still did not cut out floorboard noise totally for this we apologise. Hopefully we will be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were married at The Little Silver hotel on May 6th 2000 . We have stayed at the hotel since our wedding . Chris & Ollie & all of the staff ensure your stay is first class . The food is excellent & all local fresh produce . The rooms are spacious & top class . A perfect retreat for a relaxing stay . Our wedding was perfect in every sense of the word including the weather ! Chris & Ollie ensured we had an excellent wedding , a day to remember . We now look forward to seeing them for our 13th wedding anniversary .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCHTenterden, Owner at Little Silver Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

What a great review, thank you very much. It is so good to know that after all this time Little Silver still means so much to you. We are delighted that the ambience and quality you found 13 years ago on your wedding day is still here. We do re-invest heavily back into the business to ensure that we are continually improving without loosing that special appeal that Little Silver offers. We too look forward to meeting you again next year and again thank you for taking the time to place this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
0.1 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
9.9 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,386 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
10 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Silver Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Silver Country Hotel

Address: Ashford Road | St. Michaels, Tenterden TN30 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Price Range: $116 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Silver Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional English hotel built in the Georgian style with an excellent restaurant that serves locally sourced foods. The hotel offers an Oak beam lounge, Oaks restaurant, bar, landscaped gardens and 16 luxury rooms including suites and 4-posters. These rooms have spa baths. A popular wedding venue, that is licensed to hold the marriage ceremony either in the magnificent Kent Hall or garden gazebo on those warm summer days. Kent Hall can accommodate up to 120 guests for the banquet and up to 150 guests for the evening reception. Plenty of parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Silver Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Silver Country Tenterden
Little Silver Country Hotel Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing