We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Silver Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Silver Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

a lovely little hotel and the staff couldn't be more helpful.the four poster spa bath room was lovely.
only slight critism was the restaurant. the food was good but the restaurant itself is rather bare and lacks atmosphere. A few ferns or large plants and some table cloths would help to give the place a more homely appeal.the crepe Suzette were pancakes with orange not a proper crepe. the breakfast was excellent and the owner so friendly
all in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katendave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    88
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
165
229
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Found by mistake, what a great place to stay. Food excellent, room 1st class and staff second to none.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a very well equiped hotel for anyone with disablities.
The whole hotel was on the level, so great for wheelchair access. All doors were wide and had easy access to the garden.
There are two rooms on the level with their own entrance and parking. The rooms are very large with a well equiped wetroom. Plenty of grab rails and low bath (with spa) also a shower with a seat. Mirrors and sink etc were at wheelchair level.
Being a small hotel, the staff have time to give a personal service and go out of their way to help.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel may be quieter if there is a function going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here whilst on a flying visit, we booked the Platinum room which had a huge round bed, seating area, dressing area and lovely ensuite. I was really surprised at how huge the room was and how bright and modern looking, it is well worth the slight extra cost.

We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was really really good and reasonably priced. My Dh had the breakfast and I stole a bit ( as you do) and the field mushrooms were so good that I asked the chef how he made them!

Well worth a visit and don't be put off by the unassuming frontage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We came across the hotel in the Johansen guide and assumed that the hotel would be of a good quality.
The staff could not be more helpful.The food was great and the room was large. (We were given a free upgrade to a luxury room).
Unfortunately the bar and waiting staff clearly have not had appropriate training.
Wrong drinks, wrong glasses, no glasses !
The hotel, other than a party of a dozen or so people, was virtually empty.
The dining room was like a canteen.
The smallest TV I have seen in a very big room
We may just have been unlucky.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton-on-trent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

My family and i have just spent 48hrs at this pretty hotel,our room had a four-poster bed and the whole room was warm and welcoming.The young staff were well presented well trained friendly and always ready to help.Good quality dining and pleasant atmosphere
I will certainly be happy to recomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We wanted to go somewhere special for a well deserved break and we came across Little Silver on the net. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the fab four posters with Jacuzzi overlooking the garden. We didnt want a spa hotel with 50+ bedrooms but somewhere personal and relaxing within walk able distance to a town. Tenterden has one of the most picturesque high streets I have ever seen with a beautiful church in the centre. It has good pubs and a few restaurants, but too many chains like cafe rouge can spoil the town.

We ate both nights in the hotels restaurant with both service and food to a very high standard. Its great to see an independent hotel supporting the local farms/suppliers by using their products to cook with. The extra cost of producing locally farmed meats was not passed onto the consumer as the food and wine prices were extremely reasonable.

Nothing was to much trouble, even getting in smoked kippers for breakfast on request.
They truly know how to make your stay a special one, and we are already looking to book our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, which most do I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank short_break_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
0.0 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
8.9 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
22.0 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Silver Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Silver Country Hotel

Property: Little Silver Country Hotel
Address: Ashford Road | St. Michaels, Tenterden TN30 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Silver Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional English hotel built in the Georgian style with an excellent restaurant that serves locally sourced foods. The hotel offers an Oak beam lounge, Oaks restaurant, bar, landscaped gardens and 16 luxury rooms including suites and 4-posters. These rooms have spa baths. A popular wedding venue, that is licensed to hold the marriage ceremony either in the magnificent Kent Hall or garden gazebo on those warm summer days. Kent Hall can accommodate up to 120 guests for the banquet and up to 150 guests for the evening reception. Plenty of parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little Silver Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Silver Country Tenterden
Little Silver Country Hotel Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing