We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Civilised Sunday Lunch

I have always wanted a proper meal on a train & the Wealden Pullman ticked all the boxes with their... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
BridgetSarah
,
Farnham, United Kingdom
Lovely steam train ride.

I enjoyed this trip. On the way back in diesel you can sit at the front and see the drivers view... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sean C
via mobile
Read all 971 reviews
  
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveler rating
678
194
42
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
194
42
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bodiam castle tenterden station trolley service beautiful countryside kent east sussex steam engine level crossing mince pies return journey pullman dining course meal cream tea volunteer staff sunday lunch step back in time english countryside edith cavell
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

I have always wanted a proper meal on a train & the Wealden Pullman ticked all the boxes with their Sunday roast lunch. A treat for my 60th birthday, thank you.

Thank BridgetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I travelled on the Kent and East Sussex Railway at the weekend after being persuaded to try it by friends.
On Saturday evening (27th October) we travelled on the Wealdon Pullman up to Bodiam Station from 7.30pm-11.15pm. It was a very cold evening but we thought once we was in the "waiting lounge" we would be able to get warm but it was just as cold in there, obviously preparing us for the very cold journey on the train to Bodiam and back.
It's rather a shame that their so called champagne was just prosecco and the canapés offered were very small and was only offered 3 per person.
Once on the train it was extremely cold both ways and the only heat we had was from the hot plates placed in front of us before our main meal was served on them with us along with others holding their hands over them before dinner was served on them along with keeping coats on throughout the journey. We had a gap below our window where we sat and the draught from that was terrible. Also eating poorly presented food came as no comfort to us either, plus the volunteers who wait tables should be issued with better fitting uniforms, although they work hard some look very unprofessional. When you pay that sort of money for an evening on the train you don't expect to have to keep your coats on nor hold your hands over the plates to keep warm. As you can gather from the above we will not be returning.

1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André F, Manager at Kent & East Sussex Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review Sharon R.

We're sorry that some aspects of the visit did not meet with your expectations. We will always do our best to correct any perceived shortcomings if they are brought to our attention at the time.

We're rather confused by your reference to champagne: the reception includes a complimentary aperitif and canapes, as clearly described on our website and on the menu which you were provided with at the time of booking. On this occasion we served unlimited Prosecco & canapes: we don't ration the canapes as you suggest, but many guests choose to moderate their selection given that the meal following consists of seven courses!

Our trains are fitted with low level radiators which are heated by steam from the locomotive during cold weather and we normally find this to be very effective - such that its not unusual to find our guests open the windows or even turn off their under-seat heaters. I'm sorry that you experienced a draught from what sounds like a partially open window on what was a very cold evening.

We appreciate that the traditional style of silver-service dining provided is not to everyone's taste, but thank you for your custom. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed this trip. On the way back in diesel you can sit at the front and see the drivers view. Nice tea room.

Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Train station was closed, although online was opened, no staff to ask for events or where we can see Thomas or another train, museum closed. Two old people really lovely selling charity cards, made our day, he looks like Santa .

Thank Gabriela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André F, Manager at Kent & East Sussex Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review Gabriela. I’m sorry that you misread our website and visited when we were closed - we were operating our popular ‘Fright Night’ Halloween train on Friday evening but, as shown, there were no train services, museum or Gift Shop open during the day.

Our enquiry office is open every day in the Tenterden Station building and there are always leaflets detailing our services available at the entrance.

We hope you’ll choose to return when we’re open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled to bodiam from tenderten on the diesel train which was great, had lunch then travelled back on the steam train. Was an amazing experience! Lovely gift packs for the children to do and they enjoyed the quiz in the museum.. great family day out! Will be going back very soon! I'm looking to book a meal on the Pullman next time! Also face painting and magic show was a nice touch! Can't beat a proper steam train!

Thank danielle_dwyer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled by steam to Bodium Castle, then returned by diesel. Enjoyable ride, and lovely views across the countryside.
Families were also travelling on the Halloween Special, waste of money, promised thrills on the ride, they received a small pack of stickers and one or two other bits. No thrills, no interaction from staff. Lot of money for a family.

2  Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was given this for a birthday 'treat' and it was a superb day spent driving, firing (the engine not the people), guarding and listening. No question seemed to silly and some where there ay be a photo of the driver and myself with heads under the engine discussing how the regulator works. They also do a vegetarian sausage stew to die for!!
Great day.

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an amazing day, my wife booked the half day train driving experience. This was a lifelong ambition! The volunteers made the day extra special with their enthusiasm and knowledge. We got to drive the train, be the fireman, the guard, points man etc. We took my young son with us, he rode in the carriages whilst I took the experience, the staff were very accommodating throughout.

Thank lukemitchell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quite an expensive day out, and the lead-carriage in one direction (best place to hear the ‘chuff-chuff’, and see the smoke) costs a further unadvertised supplement (windows locked for safety). Mostly-volunteer staff make the whole thing a very friendly occasion though, and the money is certainly needed to pay-off farmers so that the line can be restored as far as Robertsbridge. Make time for the well-presented museum hidden in unpromising barn at Tenterden (free to ticket-holders), interesting little hop-pickers’ display at Bodiam. You can plan journeys with time to see the (empty) castle over the river, and research the ‘public footpath’ up there to glimpse the photogenic North frontage without paying the exorbitant NT tax. Good pub food and beer at the rather-Spartan ‘Castle Inn’ nearby.

Thank TWSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André F, Manager at Kent & East Sussex Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks TWSteve, glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Our family TravelCards offer great value on all day unlimited travel and they also provide a discount on admission to the National Trust Castle at Bodiam!
Some of our trains do have First Class accommodation for which a small supplement is payable. The windows aren’t locked though - just lift the leather strap up and in and then you can lower the window down into the door

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This steam train is run by a group of enthusiasts who give up their spare time for the public.
The trip takes you from Tenterden station to Bodiam and back. You can get off the train and visit Bodiam Castle which is a short walk away.

1  Thank 155richard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews