We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget tea and cake and opt for the puds”

The Lemon Tree Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Tenterden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 14th Century heavily timbered wealden hall house restaurant in the centre on Tenterden offering great British food. Open for breakfast, morning coffee, lunch and afternoon teas. All home-made dishes, desserts and cakes, freindly efficient staff.
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Forget tea and cake and opt for the puds”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Traditional tea room in its decor and of course scones are available, in fact we had a lovely cheese and chive variety. But we shared a Banoffee Pie (which was huge), after deliberating between that and the lemon equivalent. Friendly staff and an OK price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your Banoffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    115
    64
    51
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food & Service”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Passing through we called in at this restaurant for the first time for a lunchtime meal, we thoroughly enjoyed our food and were very impressed by the service by your friendly staff who could not have been more helpful. We would certainly visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Many thanks for the great review - hope to see you when you're next passing through
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romney Marsh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch with the children”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had lunch for 4 adults and 3 children. The staff were very helpful and moved two table together. The waitress was very helpful as one of the children had a ballet lesson within the hour and she made sure that we did not wait long for the food which was very helpful. She was very jolly and helpful. We have visited many times before and always had a good service. We shall return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noo68teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Delighted you enjoy both the Lemon Tree and Zest. Delighted to get your positive review, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had home made sweet ham, eggs and chips. Chips were not hot. Ham was very good and tasty. My friend also had ham and eggs but mashed potato. The mashed potato was crunchy. Maybe that's their way of mashed potato! I had a cup of tea, which was fine, but my friend asked for a latte not in a glass. The latte came in a mug. My friend would have preferred a cup. Would reconsider using this establishment again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed it overall. Our mash potato has leeks and onions in it, but I can't understand how this would make it crunchy?. We always serve Lattes in a Latte mug, but if you would like a cup next time do just say. I do hope we get to meet on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not a good cooked breakfast”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went here for a saturday morning breakfast in Feb 2013 with my family at the end of half term.
When the food was served and we complained the sausages weren't cooked properley. The staff argued with us that they were and that the red colour in the middle was due to 'osmosis'. Food here is quite expensive and so you do not expect it to be under cooked or the staff to be curt. I would probably advise to try a different cafe in the high street for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EMM1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
I'm sorry that you didn't believe us when we explained that our handmade great quality sausages were not raw or undercooked. I'm also sorry that you accepted our gesture of goodwill and didn't pay for 2 of your breakfasts. I'm also sorry that you try to affect our good reputation by leaving a poor review that certainly isn't in the spirit of Trip Adviser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Lemon Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing