We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great country retreat.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Stable at Checksfield Farm Holiday Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable at Checksfield Farm Holiday Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Stable at Checksfield Farm Holiday Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tenterden, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jeff h
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great country retreat.”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A well equipped property ,with friendly owners who left us bread/wine eggs/milk and sausages .There were only the two of us staying ,but we hope to bring our three grandchildren here later in the year and they will no doubt enjoy seeing the ducks/geese/sheep and farm dogs in the fields overlooking from the excellent patio area .Great location for a 20 min walk to the town which has the steam railway and some nice tea shops etc.The nearby villages of Biddenden and Headcorn are worth a visit and both Hastings and Rye a short drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for leaving The Stable clean and tidy. We'd love to welcome you and your family back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrike G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovingly decorated house with everything you need”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed here in January 2018 with four adults and one baby and really loved the place. It's been converted and decorated with much love and attention to detail and the end result is inviting and comfortable.

The bedrooms are spacious and have ample storage. The kitchen is modern and has absolutely everything you may need. The sitting room / open plan dining area are very cosy and we got much entertainment from watching the geese and ducks through the French doors.

We didn't make much use of the outside area, given the freezing temperatures, but there is a nice little patio with a barbecue.

The property is on a working farm, but it's very quiet, aside from occasional quacking or barking of the farmer's little dogs. Nights were perfectly quiet.

The location is good, within walkable distance (or a short drive) into Tenterden where you have access to a number of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed staying at The Stable. We'd love to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice F
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Absolutely lovely holiday cottage on a farm in the heart of the Kent countryside. Everything is catered for here to make your stay comfortable, and charming hosts Colin and Lynn make sure you have everything you need. Very comfortable rooms , and the downstairs en suite double bedroom is perfect for anybody that has difficulty with stairs. Been a delight to watch all the free range animals and birds ambling around looking so healthy and contented. A perfect place for adults and children! We'd recommend this place to anyone !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. You were also charming guests and thanks for leaving The Stable so clean and tidy. Hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Not only is the interior of The Stable magazine worthy, Lynn and Wally have thought of every need. From a sewing kit to battery lights in case of a power cut, a hair dryer and makeup mirror in every bedroom. Their attention to detail is commendable.
Beautiful location, with a regular changing view of farm animals.
With a very warm welcome from our hosts, this accommodation was perfect in every way for a week of family get togethers.
I honestly don't think anyone could beat it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you your kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Lovely guests who we'd happily welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you! So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sonja B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing converted cottage in an excellent location!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful converted stable/barn with mordern fittings in immaculate condition ideal for a family holiday.
Excellent location for exploring kent with easy access to many toursit attractions, castles, National Trust properties and costal towns.
Colin and Lynn were very welcoming a lovely couple and nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended, we hope to return soon!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2017
Lovely to have met you and your family, we'd love to welcome you back. Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzie194...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfection in Kent”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We recently rented this property for a week for five adults. It is a charming and comfortable conversion of a farm building, that combines modern facilities with rural charm and total comfort. It has three bedrooms - two double and one twin - one double with an ensuite and two other bathrooms, both with baths. The cottage is furnished with everything needed for a self catering group.

Beds are comfortable and linen and large bath towels are of good quality. There is an outside setting with BBQ facilities and ample on site parking. It is located on a working farm - so lots of fresh eggs and other produce.

The hosts -Colin and Lynn - were friendly and helpful. Their home is also on site but we never felt that this proximity got in the way of our privacy. They left a welcome basket with a bottle of wine.

The cottage was great for acsummer holiday but woukd also be good during cooler seasons, as there is underfloor heating downstairs, radiators and a combustion stove. What more could one want?

So much to see in the nieighbourhood, whatever your tastes. Castles, Mational Trust properties, the steam railway, wineries, farmshops. It is within easy reach odpf coastal towns such as Rye, Hastings, Dover and Sandwich.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing