We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good food”
Review of White Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lion
Ranked #1 of 11 Tenterden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stay at the White Lion on a regular basis and think its is great. The rooms are nice, the staff are friendly and helpful and most of all the best pizzas I have ever tasted. I have tried other food of the menu and that has always been good too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 166JanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi there,

I have to say I agree completely with your love of our pizzas! They have been a fantastic addition to our menu and go down a storm. And please accept our appreciation for your kind words from one of our regular guests. We dont take anything for granted so love it when our friends return time after time.

Kind regards

Roger Norris
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for White Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 363 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nts over the w/e and very much enjoyed our stay. The newly refurbished interior and bedrooms, individually named after local landmarks, are really smart and the included continental breakfasts were excellent. All staff were helpful and efficient. Car parking off the very busy High Street is a boon and numerous restaurants are within 5 mins stroll.

Room Tip: Suggest a bedroom on the top floor - this old building creaks and it is better not to have someone m...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkbarn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

What can I say? Love Tenterden, Love The White Lion!

Thanks for your lovely review and hope to see you again another time as there is always more to explore around town and the local area.

Kind regards

Roger Norris
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed for one night in Benenden, which is one of the larger rooms at the White Lion. It is beautifully decorated a la shabby chic, large and luxurious with a very comfortable superking bed. There were most delicious homemade cookies in the room when we arrived, along with tea and freshly-ground coffee.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening, flat iron steaks cooked in the Josper. All of the food was exceptional, and the steaks were magnificent – juicy and tender, and cooked to perfection. The ground-level space is beautifully decorated, and filled with quirky, interesting objects and giant candles in giant lanterns. It’s a very comfortable place to spend an evening, especially when you spend that evening eating the very excellent food that they serve.

The next day , we drove to Rye in the morning intending to stay there for lunch. The lunch options in Rye are frankly disappointing, so we went back to the White Lion for pizzas. The White Lion has a genuine Italian clay pizza oven, and a beautiful thing it is too. The pizzas that come out of it were easily the best we have eaten, although we had some trouble choosing which of the many tempting pizzas we should choose!

The staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful, happy to chat. All in all, it’s a wonderful place and we recommend it wholeheartedly. It has everything: comfortable accommodation, friendly staff, good food, good beer. There may be other places you could stay in Tenterden, but really, why would you want to?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellAndSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi Russell and Sharon.

Wow! Your are making us blush!

What a fantastic review...many, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience so elequently. All my team are really chuffed,

Hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards

Roger Norris
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Make no mistake, this is a great hotel and one that Tenterden has been crying out for, no doubt the best in the town. Very high quality furnishings and lovely touches in each room, everything very fresh, very clean and immaculate.

You pay a premium for this quality however and the antique nature of the building itself means that although it is very charming, the ceilings can be low and the small rooms a wee bit on the cramped side. Also, the elderly nature of the building means that in the morning, if you're not an early riser, noise travels and the clatter of other guests or the cleaner's hoover travel far and wide.

The staff however are excellent, it comes across (and perhaps is) like a family business with a real personal touch that many larger hotels could learn from. Add to this the excellent food downstairs and fine selection of drinks, you could do a lot worse than stay here.

Room Tip: If you're tall, make sure you get a room with higher ceilings otherwise you'll be in trouble...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryAbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a group of five and everyone enjoyed the White Lion over the other place up the road 10 minutes. The rooms are beautiful in a cozy style. I loved the bedding and the mohair blanket throw. The little touches made it special. They made sure we had fresh milk for afternoon tea after a long day on the road. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: The St. Mildrads was a nice room with a window view of the main street.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePainter119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

once again our stay at the white lion was fantastic. the staff are very friendly and helpful at all times, including when we had no electricity for 12 hours! the room we had was great, very spacious and comfortable. in general the hotel was looking good since its complete refurbishment. we recommend the white lion

Room Tip: all the rooms are good. we had room 10 which is very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed on New Years Eve taking two rooms for our family. The beds were super comfy with high quality bed linen and big fluffy bath towels - lovely. Fresh ground coffee and homemade cookies in the room. There was a power cut in the whole town on New Years Day so we all congregated in the candle-lit bar with the open fire and played charades! The best thing though is the really friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely
stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
1.6 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
1.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The George in Rye
8.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion

Address: 57 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterden
Price Range: $124 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a stunning recent refurbishment the White Lion Hotel now gracefully combines ‘olde world’ charms with a contemporary look and feel. All of the rooms (including family and superior rooms) have been delightfully re-furbished to provide guests with flat screen TVs displaying over 40 digital channels, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and new luxurious beds and bedding. Guests can also make use of the function and conference facilities, complimentary WiFi and the restaurant, serving quality fresh food sourced from the best suppliers. The pub remains the heart and soul of the White Lion Hotel and food is our specialty. The enhanced environment, combined with a fantastic new fresh food offer, allows guests to enjoy either a meal in our bar, or for more of an occasion dine in our restaurant. Diners and drinkers alike can also enjoy one of our many real ales or wines selected from around the world. The town itself has been described as ‘the Jewel of the Weald’, with wide tree lined streets, historic buildings, inns and a host of specialist shops. Out and about there are picture postcard villages to explore, manor houses and gardens, and of course, Leeds Castle, set in 500 acres of parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your White Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing