We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quirky barn experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quirky barn experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed from Friday 18 July to Monday 21 July, during a weekend of really hot weather, so it was delightful to stay in this garden chalet which opened onto a garden full of singing birds, rabbits on the grass, hammock and garden swing. The owner was very friendly and advised of a couple of places to eat. Staff were chatty, and friendly. The English breakfast was perfectly cooked and hot, coffee was good. Breakfast was served in an open area where guests were seated around a long table which encouraged conversations with other guests. Some guests may not like the fact that the bathroom area didn't have a door to it. A quirky, high standard stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a quiet part of the Barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
60
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mannum, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Our first time in the Kent area. Loved the ambience and location of this property. Barn conversion is very interesting with quirky dining and lounge areas.
There are a variety of rooms for guests to select according to personal requirements. The secluded garden at the back is lovely.
The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed meeting other guests. Staff were very friendly.
Room was very clean and comfortable beds.
I hope to return to the UK one day and would definitely stay there again. Good value for money.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed with our two boys (1&4) for two nights and it was fantastic.
Great spotless family room, staff were very welcoming polite pleasant.
Full cooked breakfast each day was REALLY good! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelllS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Good sized clean room with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast with good choice of food. Very friendly staff.
I will definitely return to Tonge Barn next time I stay in Sittingbourne and would have no hesitation in recommending to my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zara E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here in May for a local celebration and enjoyed it.

Our room was out in the back and was a good size with a good sized, comfy bed.

It was peaceful, with a good balance between traditional feel and mod con. Room was also clean and the only negative I have is that there was no door between the bedroom and the bathroom (including the loo!). Instead there was a kind of veil made of strands. This meant that you have to go outside or witness your partner use the toilet. Luckily we aren't shy!

The breakfast was very good but not be an intmate affair as there are two large tables for all guests. Again, not a problem fof us but may be for others.

All in all, good value, nice people, clean and quirky

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StuBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
210 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A colleague of mine spent a few days in this hotel and whilst I did not sleep in the hotel we spent many hours working together in his hotel room.

Plus Points

The location of the hotel is great being out in the countryside near the Tonge Mill where generations of local families have brought their children to feed the ducks and swans and enjoy a cream tea (including myself as a child and as a parent with my children)

We were able to sit outside the chalet style rooms and work al-fresco which was nice.
My colleague told me he had a good sleep so the beds are comfortable.
The chalet room was basic - rustic in design and fittings
Service was polite and helpful

Areas that are weaker

NO CHALET TOILET DOOR?????? the bathroom/toilet had just a beaded string screen between the bedroom and toilet which made life difficult in terms of privacy to say the least. Put a door please!

The walls are thin so sound carries - however there is not much the hotel can do about that

One has to have a car to get around as there is no bar or evening restaraunt.

The train line runs nearby so you have to get used to the sound of passing trains.

Conclusions

A pleasant and interesting experience none the less (Both views of myself and colleague)

Room Tip: My colleague stayed in No1 chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A great recommendation, Brought us to this lovely accommodation, very relaxed and professionally run with a great breakfast.
Sylvia works very hard but she is always smiling and very pleasant

Thank you we will return soon hopefully

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.4 mi away
Hempstead House
Hempstead House
#1 of 1 in Bapchild
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne Kent Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
11.2 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Property: Tonge Barn
Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing