We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!”
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had one of the newly converted rooms at the front of the property with the pitched roof. It was a really good size, with one double bed, and one single bed in side room (just a curtain across, no door). The main room is well equipped, but the in the room with the single bed there was no bedside table or light unfortunately. The room is equipped with kettle (too big to fit under the bathroom tap), fridge, microwave and hairdryer (no plug near the mirror) and is nicely decorated. The ensuite wet room is large, but there are no hooks to hang anything on, and no shelf near to the sink or anywhere to hang a hand towel. However, the shower was good and powerful.
Breakfast was good, seated around a big table so you can talk to other guests. It is cooked in front of you and there is lots of it and a good choice.
The gardens are lovely, but note - it is right next to a train line. You can't here the train in the front rooms - I don't know about the garden rooms.
I only saw the owner once in the 3 days we were there, but was looked after by a lovely lady from I think Lithuania, who seemed to do everything there!
My main gripe is not being able to get any communication from them in writing with reference to the reservation prior to arrival. I enquired by email from their web site, no response. I then booked by phone, asked for an email confirmation and was told they don't send one, but if I sent them one they would respond - I did, they didn't! No wonder there are mix ups on arrival (as seen in previous reviews). It makes you want to book via a 3rd party such as Booking.com, as least then you would have a confirmation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumble666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The barn itself is lovely. We had a slight mix up with our booking and had an internal room instead of a chalet as we had expected. Our room was spacious and contained a double bed and a single bed, desk, chair, tv and fridge. The beds were well made with clean sheets. The carpets were nice and thick.

The ensuite shower room was on the small-side but perfectly adequate. However, the shower room did let the room down. It was nicely tiled but the pipes behind the toilet were just boxed in with raw plywood which spoilt the overall effect somewhat. Also, actually in the shower cubical, a wooden corner unit had been put up to put toiletries etc on but being wooden this was going rotten. Where sealant had been put in the bathroom this hadn’t been finished off and was rough and untidy and had become discoloured in the rough areas. Also the towels had long threads coming off them along the edges.

Breakfast was served in the main barn around well-presented communal tables which was nice as you could speak to other guests. We were asked as soon as we went down for breakfast if we would like tea or coffee and this was made and brought over to us. There was a choice of cereals and milk and a cooked breakfast was prepared almost in front of you in the open kitchen. This included 4 pieces of toast along with a good assortment of jams..

The weather wasn’t up to us sitting outside at any point but the garden and decking area looked like it would be nice to relax in. There was a railway line that ran very close to the barn but you could hardly notice when trains came past. However, we were woken before 6am on Sunday morning by people in the next door room talking which spoilt the stay there.

The lady on reception was able to direct us to a nice pub only 10 minutes away where we had a nice meal. We hadn’t booked a table and were lucky to get in so it may be worth ringing ahead to check availability.

There are lots of places to stay in the area and if we were needing accommodation again I think we’d chose one of the other places unfortunately as although the barn looks lovely and the room was adequate, the shower room really let it down and noise let it down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suffolk_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely building in a great location...until you realise there is a high speed train line just behind the building. This however does stop during the night and I wasn't woken up by the trains in the morning. The room was very pleasant with a small on suite.
There are lovely gardens complete with hammock..
Breakfast is served around one large table and cooked in front of you, it actually was really pleasant talking to the other guests - especially the couple from Amsterdam as we were watching their new Kings coronation over bacon and eggs!
They do not serve dinner in the evenings but there are very good pubs nearby. They do not have a bar, but you can take your own - cork screw provided in room.
The owner was very amusing - a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noteasilypleased666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May and were lucky enough to have some sunshine! The location is lovely, very rural with ducks wandering past the cabin room we had and lots of trees. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to leave each morning and the freshly cooked breakfast was very good too. Although the room was not luxurious it was comfortable and the small fridge was useful for storing beer and wine as there is nowhere close by to eat and we did not want to drink and drive so we ate first and drank after. A door on the bathroom would have been nice. Parking was good as we were able to leave the car right outside the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacuumcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. Tonge Barn is comfortable excellent place to relax and explore the beautiful Kent countryside. We stayed for the bank holiday weekend, lovely clean comfortable room free wifi and a well cooked breakfast to set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked a "deluxe family suite" for a long weekend. However, there was nothing deluxe about it, and it was only 2 beds so not enough room for a family. Many things promised online were not actually provided:

1. "Free WIFI in all rooms" (their website front page) - but the wifi was not available in the rooms, only in the reception area.
2. "each individually furnished and decorated guest room comes with a separate dining area" (on venere.com where we made the booking) - but there was no seperate dining area
3. "Refrigerators, minibars and coffee/tea makers can be found in each room" (venere.com) - but there was no minibar.

So you can see that without these things that were promised, and instead with just a small room with 1 double bed and another single bed in an area seperated only with a curtain, and a bathroom, the accomodation was drastically below the standard sold to us.

The walls between the rooms are thin so you can hear TV next door. The surrounding area isn't very nice, but we were travelling around so this didn't really matter. The reception and breakfast area is pleasant but unfortunately the lounge area is not open out of hours. I'm giving it 2 stars because it would be an ok place if we'd known what we were in for and paid fairly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had 2 stays at this lovely hotel both times on way to ferry.this is a perfect distance for morning ferry and breaks up journey from Yorkshire. Loan of wine glasses and corkscrew were greatly appreciated and felt like home from home with use if sofa in the main barn. Breakfast was really good

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmanfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.4 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
522 reviews
4.1 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
10.2 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
432 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Golden Hope Hotel
The Golden Hope Hotel
#2 of 6 in Sittingbourne
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range: $114 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing