We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good stay, however let down by a few things.”
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I booked in for 9 nights whilst I was on a busisness course. The Owner did put me in one of the bigger room due to the length of my stay. The rooms are clean and tidy however there is no door on the bathroom. I was dissapointed when I returned one evening to find the cleaners had removed all the towels and not replaced them.

My room was left insecure not only was my door unlocked but the door was wide open, luckly nothing was taking, The owner and the new cleaning staff were very apologetic but I feel this let the overall stay down.

The hotel is close to a busy train line however during the evening the trains pass with such speed the noise sounds more like a strong breeze.

Apart from the above items I WOULD stay again.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a few days, ask for either room 3 or 4.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth__8828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Tonge Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 173 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were down in that part of Kent for a Wedding. Tonge Barn is in an idylic setting and would make a great base to visit the whole of Kent. We stayed in one of the larger barns at the front which had a single bed in a separate area which is great for kids. The room was extremely well presented and comfortable. We had a delicious breakfast in the main part of the building which is stunning and has a really comfy sofa area with log fire which would be lovely in the winter. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We did have to wait on arrival 10 mins as the room wasn't ready for us.. but the gardens are beautiful so we happily sat in the sun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balders200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was treated to a night at Tonge Barn by my partner yesterday for my birthday and we were absolutely delighted with it. The accomodation is beautifully finished and the garden space is so tranquil with a fantastic seating area next to the river. Two of our friends joined us as a further surprise and they were also thrilled with their stay.
Our accomodation was luxurious and fantastic to have a little fridge in the room. The owner was charming and our breakfast was fresh and delicious. It is a little awkward at times not having a door of some sort for the ensuite, although the toilet cannot be viewed from the room itself, the thread curtain gives no real privacy! This certainly did not detract from having an amazing stay though.
All in all a really fabulous place to stay with lovely walks around a local fishing lake and a truly beautiful setting. It is clear the owners take great pride in the presentation of the property and grounds. We will definitely be returning at a later date and recommending to many. It was a wonderful birthday treat.

Room Tip: We saw three of the rooms whilst staying and all were beautiful! Some have doors for the ensuite, s...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skypod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Tonge barn last night as we were going to a wedding in the area. Overall we were really pleased with this B&B. It has a lot of character. We were in one of the 'chalets' at the back and the room was lovely. A little strange that the bathroom/toilet has a hanging screen rather than a door - I was glad I was with my other half and not a friend or relative!
We arrived with little time to spare and the owner was really accomodating getting me into our room asap so I could get ready. Rooms have a fridge, tv, air con and wifi. Beds were really comfy. The gardens and whole setting are delightful,
This is a B&B and so I would imagine the owners try to maintain some semblence of a life during the day - the sign says to ring their phone on arrival as it's a fairly big site and they obviously have quite a lot to do. This would be my choice again for a stop over or longer stay - but it is not the facilities of a hotel so those who require that should choose a different venue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soosfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Enjoyed a super weekend at the Tonge Barn, fabulous location and beautiful setting with great individual rooms. The owners were super friendly and were always very helpful. With excellent local knowledge they can offer advise on days out and restaurants etc.

The breakfast is just amazing. Will stay again for certain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Whilst planning my stay , the owner neglected to mention that kitchen and living area is not for use , and become very aggressive towards me and my wife and tried to change price of room , then made up some excuse you could not have adults in single beds , there are so much nicer b&bs and hotels in the area who are a lot more friendlier than here do not believe the excellent reviews .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Firecell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just enjoyed three nights at Tongue Barn, and we had a great time. Lovely tranquil setting, great rooms, great beds, great facilities, great breakfasts, great hosts.
It has a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, and Steve makes you feel really at home there.
Just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are wonderfully romantic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrR554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.4 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
493 reviews
11.2 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
69 reviews
4.1 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
386 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Golden Hope Hotel
The Golden Hope Hotel
#2 of 6 in Sittingbourne
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range: $120 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing