We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility”
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was treated to a night at Tonge Barn by my partner yesterday for my birthday and we were absolutely delighted with it. The accomodation is beautifully finished and the garden space is so tranquil with a fantastic seating area next to the river. Two of our friends joined us as a further surprise and they were also thrilled with their stay.
Our accomodation was luxurious and fantastic to have a little fridge in the room. The owner was charming and our breakfast was fresh and delicious. It is a little awkward at times not having a door of some sort for the ensuite, although the toilet cannot be viewed from the room itself, the thread curtain gives no real privacy! This certainly did not detract from having an amazing stay though.
All in all a really fabulous place to stay with lovely walks around a local fishing lake and a truly beautiful setting. It is clear the owners take great pride in the presentation of the property and grounds. We will definitely be returning at a later date and recommending to many. It was a wonderful birthday treat.

Room Tip: We saw three of the rooms whilst staying and all were beautiful! Some have doors for the ensuite, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skypod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Tonge barn last night as we were going to a wedding in the area. Overall we were really pleased with this B&B. It has a lot of character. We were in one of the 'chalets' at the back and the room was lovely. A little strange that the bathroom/toilet has a hanging screen rather than a door - I was glad I was with my other half and not a friend or relative!
We arrived with little time to spare and the owner was really accomodating getting me into our room asap so I could get ready. Rooms have a fridge, tv, air con and wifi. Beds were really comfy. The gardens and whole setting are delightful,
This is a B&B and so I would imagine the owners try to maintain some semblence of a life during the day - the sign says to ring their phone on arrival as it's a fairly big site and they obviously have quite a lot to do. This would be my choice again for a stop over or longer stay - but it is not the facilities of a hotel so those who require that should choose a different venue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soosfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Enjoyed a super weekend at the Tonge Barn, fabulous location and beautiful setting with great individual rooms. The owners were super friendly and were always very helpful. With excellent local knowledge they can offer advise on days out and restaurants etc.

The breakfast is just amazing. Will stay again for certain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Whilst planning my stay , the owner neglected to mention that kitchen and living area is not for use , and become very aggressive towards me and my wife and tried to change price of room , then made up some excuse you could not have adults in single beds , there are so much nicer b&bs and hotels in the area who are a lot more friendlier than here do not believe the excellent reviews .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Firecell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just enjoyed three nights at Tongue Barn, and we had a great time. Lovely tranquil setting, great rooms, great beds, great facilities, great breakfasts, great hosts.
It has a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, and Steve makes you feel really at home there.
Just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are wonderfully romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrR554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here very much. Room was first class, nice owners who provided good breakfast and good advice and suggestions on touring locality.
Situation quiet and informal but handy to visit interesting places.
Will use again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, and won't be returning because of the appalling lack of security in the car park.
On the second night, my car passenger window was smashed in, as was another car's. Three other cars were broken into. The police including CSI were called to the scene when the damage was discovered Sunday AM.
They were also extremely concerned by the lack of security at such a remote location, and one officer said the owner of the Tonge Barn had been made aware of their concern previously but nothing had been done.
There is no CCTV in the car park and very poor, inadequate lighting. The gate is left open because other properties share the entrance.
The location is remote and I understand the owners are also in dispute with rowdy neighbours next to the Barn. On the Saturday night we were there, they were playing extremely loud intrusive music well past midnight.
It's all a shame. No matter how nice the Barn and chalet rooms are, the first priority of any hotel should be the security of their guests, and the Tonge Barn is sadly and disgracefully lacking in this respect.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank benbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.4 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
518 reviews
4.1 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
591 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range: $112 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing