We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property run by very friendly newlyweds.”
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property run by very friendly newlyweds.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were made to feel so very welcome by the owners who could not do more for us and found the design of the property inside and out to be simply stunning. We felt so relaxed here and even had a celebratory drink with the owners in the gazebo by the river as they had just got married and were still very excited; congratulations again and many happy returns. We enjoyed our stay immensely and we could not recommend this place more and will be back again and again. The rooms were spacious and breakfast was great. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhojyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
63
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed midweek very clean and comfortable, amazing shower defenatly will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maco424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed midweek very clean and comfortable, amazing shower defenatly will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maco424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a really good stay at Tonge Barn and the relaxed owner added to our ability to chill out while we were then. A couple of good recommendations for places to eat from him and the sense that nothing was a problem - fresh milk for our fridge in the room, a relaxed check out time etc. Lovely garden for the kids to play in, nice rooms with mod cons and a really great breakfast room. In the Garden Rooms there's no door to the bathroom, just a fringed curtain but this didnt prove a problem and there are other rooms if it is for you. A definite recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimG-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lovely property, if you are looking for something unique.
Upon arrival you have to phone the owner to say you are there and would like to check in. The owner is quite an abrupt person, not the friendly B&B owner you would expect.
Breakfast times are odd, during the week it is from 7-9 am. When on holiday you may only want to get out of bed at 9am. I can't imagine any business people staying there to need breakfast so early.
The double bed was two beds pushed together however my "side" of the bed was higher than the other half so it was very uncomfortable.
If you do stay there I recommend the Indian restaurant down the road or the Three Mariners for dinner, both delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Tonge barn is a beautiful property set in beautiful grounds. The down side is the loud barking dogs next door, the train track, no hair dryer avaialble in room, no bathroom door and no evening chef on duty!

The owner was most unwelcoming, unorganised and only polite whilst my husband paid. I felt like we were seen as a nuisance rather than welcomed paying customers, We felt most unwelcome by his brief checking in, especially when we asked for a drink at the bar after our long journey as there does not appear to be one, he told us there had been a wedding the day before but when i asked another guest that was staying they said there had been no wedding! The facilities where then shut up until breakfast and no staff where present on sight!, Breakfast was nice however, the bed was comfortable and was served by a helpful efficient young lady who appeared to do all the hard work. Anna was the best thing about Tonge Barn b & b.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We picked Tonge Barn from Trip advisor reviews and were pleased that it exceeded our expectations. We received a friendly welcome in this well restored old building and found the room clean and comfortable with a good flat screen TV and free WiFi. The cooked English breakfast included was excellent and we sat around a huge kitchen table where there were some lively conversations with fellow guests. Many were regulars on business. Anna, who looked after the hotel was very helpful and when I asked if I could microwave some soup in the evening she without asking offered bowls and spoons. A couple of reviewers had mentioned train noise but although the hotel is close to the railway line we barely noticed the trains and they did not seem to run at night. After our first stay we immediately rebooked for a second stay on the return part of our trip. There are a number of good pubs around for evening meals. It is in the country and there are pleasant walks when the English weather permits. All in all excellent value for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.4 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
483 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,199 reviews
4.1 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
379 reviews
10.2 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Property: Tonge Barn
Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing