We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend stay!”
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend stay!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Tonge Barn in one of the rooms at the back of the property. The room has its own entrance and parking was directly in front of the room (like a motel). It was very clean.
It is heated by an air-conditioning unit which did keep the room warm. However, it is in the bathroom at the back of the room which meant that there was no door between bathroom and bedroom. Not much a problem for us but may not suit everyone. It would have been nice to have a shelf in the bathroom area next to the sink (there is room) to put down your toiletry bag.
The bed was too soft for me but my partner slept very well. A rail line runs directly behind the property but I didn't notice the trains. I found the place very quiet and relaxing.
Breakfast was excellent. The communal table is a nice idea. It gets you talking to other guests.
The young woman, who checked-in, cleaned and cooked, made us very welcome and we would happily recommend the Tonge Barn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WebWestward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
63
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've used this place a couple of times for business and I love it. It's a little quirky but is clean, has great facilities and a made to order breakfast. It's a fantastic, off the beaten track little getaway. Probably best described as Sittingbourne's little gem.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elygalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I'm always a little suspicious of website photos but Tongue Barn surpassed my expectations. The room was big, the bed was big, the bathroom was a wet room. the main house was beautiful. The young lady who looked after us was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was really good. Would definitely stay here again, a real find!

Room Tip: the ones that look onto the outside as apparently there are some with large windows that look inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeebsterWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

A very decent price for a modern and clean room. The barn is just off of the main road, along a few country lanes. Sittingbourne isn't the nicest of towns and neither is the neighbouring Faversham. However a 20ish minute drive into Canterbury is definitely worth a visit, as it is a beautiful town, with lots of shops and restaurants.

The main barn is where you have breakfast, which was lovely and the barn was gorgeous as it has such a lovely, modern design. Then there are a number of other little barn rooms, just outside of the main barn. These were a nice size and it was great to see a modern, clean interior and decent bed covers, not like so many of the other hotels around! Also it was the most comfortable bed that we had slept in so far!!

The only little downsides that I would say are that I did email twice and never got a response, so I guess it is just easier to call them with any questions that you have. Also we did have some noisy neighbours who were banging and shouting very late at night and then again early in the morning (I think they were business people). Plus after several uses the shower door did fall off which was a little dangerous but not a big problem.

Also just an idea... A DVD player in the room would also be a great idea. However thanks for a lovely stay at a great price and for accomodating us such last minute!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewilson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This Boutique is incredible, beautiful settings and grounds; the decor inside can not be faulted either, the rooms are lovely, clean and the decor creates and wonderful atmosphere. The staff and service are of an exceptional standard making you feel extremely welcome and valued; and as previous reviews have stated Tonge Barn is a home from home where you can totally relax. Breakfast is fresh and delightful, I really have nothing but a positive impression of this place and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Really comfortable beds, Lovely designed rooms and breakfast cooked fresh in front of you what more could you want.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayupchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swalecliffe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

beautifull stay..and top service
and the breakfast... a total delight and a pleasure to eat top chef and very clean kitchen

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deroubaix1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.4 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 6 in Sittingbourne
483 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,193 reviews
4.1 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne Kent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Property: Tonge Barn
Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing