We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #46 of 93 Restaurants in Sittingbourne
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Minster on Sea
Level Contributor
174 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Thai special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have been looking for a good Thai restaurant for ages in this area and have just visited The Fountain, a nondescript pub near Sittingbourne Station. No frills here - pub tables, but Shepherd Neame on tap, as well a few other favourites. The Thai menu is comprehensive and the food is plentiful and tasty, we were even asked if we liked spicy chillies - a bit of a warning as the dish was quite hot. The only downside is the wait, as they do take away meals as well and you can get into a queue - up to 30 minutes. We went on a Friday night and there was live music as a bonus! Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food...but informal pub setting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have been into this pub a few times because it is a handy meeting point rather than being a spectacularly good pub. They have music, often on a Friday evening and a Thai menu. There are few frills but this is authentic food cooked in generous portions and served with a smile. Not the venue for a romantic meal but a great place for some music, a game of pool a few beers and some excellent Thai food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great all round (but a bit of a wait)...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I personally love this pub but I think if you visited from out of town you may get a little frustrated at the waiting time for food. However, when food arrives it will not disappoint! Lovely dishes, adjusted according to taste if required, great value and always fresh.
Fantastic range of ales (Sheps) and other drinks, though a little limited on the wine front.
The staff are really friendly and the pub itself is very original and has a great atmosphere (especially at the weekend!) We've been to many a great gig in this pub too and if they worked on waiting time I would definitely give it 5 stars - great all round!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Authentic fabulous Thai food on our doorstep. Very good value and service too. Hope to visit again very soon

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoshZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Good ale, great food and briliant atmosphere in this railway themed pub. Friendly staff and a vibrant music scene on most Friday nights. One of Sittingbourne's best kept secrets.
G

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikthemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Sittingbourne, Kent
Sittingbourne, Kent
 
Sittingbourne, Kent
Borden, Sittingbourne
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing