We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently superb”
Review of The Dover Castle Inn - CLOSED

The Dover Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Consistently superb”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a meal for nearly 40 people, three courses, the room was laid out beautifully and very festive. The food was amazingly good, wonderful choice of vegetables to go with the mains, beautifully cooked, and the portion sizes were very generous! I have never had a problem with eating at this lovely place. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    18
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top Table”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been eating here for some years now. High standard of food and service never drops.Pity that like most hostelries the price of a bottle wine is high.(Drop price - sell more! It's worth a try).
Have also attended large group functions on a few occasions. An enjoyable experience for which I praise the management and staff contributing through their effeciency and friendlyness

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice meal!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited the dover castle as a last minute decision. This was a very good choice! The food was lovely and the service was very good. Honey roast duck was spot on. We will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fantastic pub. The food was great and the portions were huge! I had the burger challenge, I barely made it out alive. The service was good, and with the £10 voucher for completing the challenge I will definatley be going again soon.

I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ubique246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant little find”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived at this Pub/Resturant without booking a table, as it was a Wesnesday evening. When the four of us arrived we were told that they were very busy & the Main restaurant was fully booked but they offered us a table in the bar but told us it was a 45 min to 1 hour wait. We were seated, but had to wait for some time for waiting staff to take our order.

Even though they were short staffed in the kitchen and we did have to wait some time for our starters, the food was hot & scrummy, the staff were attentive, we really enjoyed our evening. We will certainaly be returning there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WENDY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dover Castle Inn also viewed

 
Lower Halstow, Sittingbourne
Borden, Sittingbourne
 
Rodmersham, Sittingbourne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing