We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem! Excellent food and a fascinating setting.”

The Ship Inn at Conyer
Ranked #12 of 97 Restaurants in Sittingbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem! Excellent food and a fascinating setting.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The new owners obviously thought long and hard about creating a gastro-pub of the highest quality but without losing the homeliness that locals (like us) can enjoy on a less formal basis. So, we have enjoyed both casual lunches and more formal group-eating in one of their upstairs rooms. The staff are very energetic, fun, and knowledgeable. From some tables (or outside in warmer weather) you can enjoy your feast with views of a thriving Creekside community. Thames barges converted to residential use, a marina (with ship works), and access to often breezy marshland walks along the Saxon Shore. The bar keeps beers from local micro-breweries for those who enjoy a good pint; there are wines to suit all palates. There is an impressive list of local suppliers of meats, vegetable, fish, dairy and bakery products. We have enjoyed more private eating in groups of up to 12 people up-stairs and have been impressed by suggestions for short menus for such a group - pre-booking is essential on busier days and evenings.
Conyer Quay is an isolated (for which you can read "peaceful") community that sits comfortably on a rare piece of raised land in what is otherwise marshland. Blissful at any time of the year. Worth making it a stop-off in circular walks from both Faversham and Sittingbourne too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5HedgeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    78
    31
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about it”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We went for a romantic meal last weekend! The setting is gorgeous and the restaurant itself is kept very well.

The head waitress couldn't bring me a glass of wine as said "sorry i don't know much about wine" when i asked for something sweet! the menu board was incorrectly written so we ordered and both items then were not available, they had run out of cream to accompany the pudding and I thought it was VERY expensive for the quality.

Also it's neither a pub or a restaurant it's both so we had a beautiful seat which was then spoilt by a large rowdy birthday party underneath us!

It was trying to be the sportsman in seasalter food wise which it was nowhere near. However the setting was lovely and I would return for a drink or to sit outside for lunch on a summers day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daptaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smart modern pub with nice grub.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good pub grub (I had bangers and mash) in the Ship which has been transformed from the depressing place it once was. Good value, cosy fire and friendly staff made it a very nice place for a midweek meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUNDAY LUNCH”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went to The Ship at Conyer Creek, had a fantastic evening in the private room upstairs celebrating my fathers 80th birthday, staff couldn't do enought to make the evening special for him.

I have also dined on several other occasion and have always enjoyed the food and service but the only disappoint for us has been the Sunday Lunch! We have been twice and I think we most probably like Sunday Lunch to live up to the tradition of lots of roast and veg, the lunch tends to be presented as per the meals off their menu with a fancy presentation, this is great for fine dining when the food is richer. Giving that the Gastro Pub is in such a lovely setting, especially for hungry walkers on a Sunday, try just putting meat and yorkshires on the plate or even better still offer a joint for larger groups along with bowls of roast spuds and veg and I think it would become an amazing place for traditional sunday roast at its best.

We will still be returning for our annual xmas celebrations as we love the ambience of the place along with the friendliness of the staff and the chef always does the place proud.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem of a pub”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visited this pub at the start of a long walk along the Saxon Way to Oare. You would never find it unless recommended to - as we were - and it was worth the drive to find a walm, welcoming haven on a cold day. Staff were friendly, we only had a light lunch but it was beautifully served and delicious. The decor is excellent. A real gem!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oakes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn at Conyer also viewed

 
Borden, Sittingbourne
 
Bapchild, Sittingbourne
Sittingbourne, Kent
 

Been to The Ship Inn at Conyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing