We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
1 review
“Best weekend ever”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the coniston hotel for a haunted weekend. The hotel was excellent the staff were brilliant, very helpful and approachable. Food was great rooms were a generous size, beds were comfortable. Due to being only open for three months there were a few teething problems but nothing that spoilt our stay.

The girls from London
16 nov 2012 rooms 229 & 239

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiemagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
What a great start to my day, thank you so much for your encouraging words and feedback. I will certainly be bringing your review to the attention of the hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    160
    77
    31
    26
See reviews for
74
155
17
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here during a week on the road. The previous night had been a rather tired Premier Inn in Beaconsfield, so this place was a very welcome delight. The room was almost identical to a Premier Inn but the stylish decor made it seem brighter and certainly funkier. The reception staff were really friendly, and able to offer advice about local restaurants other than the hotel's.

Easy to find and plenty of parking. What more could you ask.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I was glad to learn that you discovered the Coniston especially as we are so close to the hotel you had tried last week. I hope when you stay next time, you take the opportunity to try our bar or restaurant for food, as it seems such a shame you have to find alternatives when we have such a great facility on site. We offer a three course meal with wine for two people for as little as £17.50 per person. I have also made sure that the reception team are aware of your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at the Coniston as we were in Sittingbourne for a party. I'm originally from the area and when my wife told me she had booked the Coniston I was filled both trepidation. I remember this hotel attired and scruffy. When we arrived I was certainly in for a pleasant surprise! This hotel has had an extensive, and by the looks, an expensive refurb. It is now a modern and delightful hotel. Lovely rooms and very spacious. A really nice hotel. Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast was superb with lovely sausages and bacon (makes a change from the cheap stuff served in most hotels) Service was a little slow at breakfast but not a problem as we were in no rush. If you are staying in the area, you won't get better for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillsfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I am glad we met with your expectations and very grateful to you for posting your positive feedback on this site for others to read, I will certainly make sure the team are aware as they are always interested in what our customers opinions are. We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I would certainly recommend this hotel to the sophisticated traveller, this hotel is creative with design, stunning daylight and trendy furnishings. The service outstanding and as a female travelling alone made to feel very secure, special mention to Jane at breakfast for her warm welcome & Richard on reception for his assistance.

The room was spacious with fantastic mood lighting, a glass pod like modern bathroom complete with a super shower. Most appreciably the room has black out curtains, that draw down on entry to the bedroom and a queen bed - i had the best nights sleep and awoke to a fabulous full English to set me up for the day!

Over all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBarrettNogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I was pleased to learn that you had such a pleasant stay, both Jane and Richard have been notified about your review which is great for team morale – so thank you we all appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel since it opened
Very good hotel
Staff are really help full especially the reception girls Chelsea and Dani
The bar is relaxed friendly atmosphere
I have recommended this hotel to a few colleagues that all said the same well thought out hotel modern clean would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you for offering to recommend our hotel and for your encouraging comments about the reception team. I am pleased we can be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I
found this hotel by chance, driving through Sittingbourne. This hotel is amazing!!
It is very new and modern.Our bedroom was very clean, had a comfy bed, a big flatscreen tv and a bathroom with a bath and power shower.
We had dinner in the bar. My partner was very happy with his steak, while my ham, egg and fries was just cheap and nasty ham with fried eggs and greasy fries.
I was looking forward to one or two cocktails, but the very friendly barman apologised and explained that he wasn't trained to mix cocktails yet.
This is one of the best hotels we ever stayed in and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kika999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello and many thanks for taking the time to write.

Your feedback was invaluable to us especially when we have only been open for only a few weeks, I have passed your comments to the chef who wishes to be associated with my apology and I am pleased to say we have undergone additional training to meet the demands of the cocktail list.

Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just had a one night stay at the most amazing Best Western Plus Coniston Hotel in Sittingbourne Kent. You may have stayed at a Best western hotel before and reading this think it was not the best experience, but i want to highlight the word PLUS. Food was outstanding. Service exceptional. The decor was top class. I am planning a return stay soon, and if I had not already made arrangements for xmas that is where you would find me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Manager at Holiday Inn Sittingbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Wendy,

I was delighted to read your review; as positive feedback posted on this website allows the readers to make choices based on having a sufficient balance information as only to often in our busy lifestyles we don’t always take the time to compliment; Hope to see you during the festive season, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
2.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
68 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tonge Barn
Tonge Barn
#6 of 6 in Sittingbourne
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
7.4 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sittingbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sittingbourne

Property: Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Address: 70 London Road, Sittingbourne ME10 1NT, England (Formerly The Coniston Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Sittingbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sittingbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing