We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful shower, hard bed, ok breakfast.”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The shower was a dribble, the bed was very uncomfortabe, there was no wardrobe in the room and very little space. Breakfast was better than expected and the staff were friendly. I stayed with a friend and have only just discovered that this place calls itself a hotel. It is a B&B, and not a very good one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emileyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 88 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

The Sandwich Secondary School Reunion for all who attended during the 60's was held on the 7th May and once again without being asked the Prorietor and his staff provided the perfect venue with excellent service. I personaly stayed the night and it was very comfortable accommodation with breakfast of equal quality. Thank you Richard and staff for making our reunion an fantastic occassion.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iceman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We paid £75 for a night here. I must say that the staff were really friendly and attentive. We had lunch before we went on to where we were going and that was pretty good.

But the problems far out weighed the good points.

I manage a cleaning company and to be honest I would sack the cleaner who did my room. Dust on the tops of doors, dust on the skirting boards, fluff and dust under the bed, shower gel on the tiles, finger marks on the shower head... not good to be honest, although the rest of the room was adiquate for what we needed.

Breakfast was a disappointment. The cleaner seemed to think it was acceptable to vacuum whilst we were eating, and then mop the hard flooring!

We were looking forward to this but when we arrived, we had no bowls for cereal, we had to get our own. Coffee was served but re fills we had to go looking for the pot to do it our self. We were not asked what we wanted for the breakfast, it just arrived. As to the breakfast, toast can at best be described as warmed up bread, no evidence of toasting to be honest, and the full english, whilst plentiful, was swimming in grease. The sausages had been done in the deep fat frier, eggs were covered in oil, the bacon, when picked up just dripped of oil and fat, and the grilled tomatoes tasted of the fish from last night.

Totally disappointed. I would not recommend to anyone to be honest

Room Tip: Dont stay
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merchandiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

You cannot make a silk purse out of a sow's ear, as the phrase goes but the staff and management tried their very best to make you feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the food was very good indeed - especially the Sunday Roast and the English Breakfast. The room, however, was tight with no wardrobe and a tiny ensuite. Frankly, if you are staying for one or two nights, it doesn't present a problem but I would not recommend any longer - except for a midget! Sandwich is a wonderful place to visit - better than Rye, in my opinion - and I would recommend it to anyone who likes history. You are very close to Dover, Walmer and Deal Castles, an absolute must!
One final word of warning re The Kings Arms; the price of wine there was ridiculous! Ordinary House wine £6.00 for a 250ml glass. £18 a bottle and no, it wasn't much cheaper by the bottle! Beer was OK though.
Stll, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rawlplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

The Sandwich Secondary School Reunion for all who attended during the 60's was held on the 9th May and once again without being asked the Prorietor and his staff provided the perfect venue with excellent service. I personaly stayed the night and it was very comfortable accommodation with breakfast of equal quality. Thank you Richard and staff for making our reunion an fantastic occassion.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iceman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

First of all, the people were lovely. Friendly smiles and very willing. Unfortunately, this is more of a restaurant squeezed into a pub than a hotel.

The rooms, though clean, are small and neither of ours had wardrobes. There were hangers for clothes and a row of coathooks to put them on. This wasn't too much of an inconvenience for our short stay, and there was enough drawer space. The plumbing wasn't up to much either - our toilet wasn't a good flush, and the shower was a joke; so weak that it was more of a light mist than a shower.

We hadn't booked for dinner on the day of arrival, and were a little surprised to be told we could be 'squeezed in', as it was a Saturday. After eating we had to vacate our table for other diners, and as the entire space downstairs is given over to dining tables this gave us nowhere to sit, except on bar stools in a crowded restaurant, or our rooms! Fortunately we were happy to wander off to another pub, but the notion that the hotel provides a bar lounge area is wrong, at least when the dining tables are full.

The breakfasts were excellent, a proper full English, well cooked and presented. The evening menu is too extensive for the size of the place and there was a distinct suspicion that the freezer and microwave were well used. For a restaurant the prices were just about acceptable, but this is more pub grub standard and we felt it was overpriced. This also applies to the drinks prices, especially when compared to the local pubs.

This is the problem - is this a hotel? If so, why not hotel facilities? Is it a pub with accommodation? If so, why not pub prices? It seems to be a restaurant, with the prices you'd expect from a restaurant and accommodation/facilities to match.

We all loved Sandwich, and had too good a time to be annoyed at the shortcomings (particularly as the people made up for them), but eyebrows were raised on a number of occasions at King's Arms prices, facilities and plumbing

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfukridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

This is a really splendid pub and hotel in a quiet corner of the delightful village of Sandwich in Kent. That warm, olde worlde feeling you look for in a pub? This has it in abundance - from the seats to the bar to the paintings and odornments on the wall and the real fire in the fireplace. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, without ever being overbearing. The room was suitably comfortable and a good base from which to explore the area. But above all this, we would recommend that you eat your dinner in the hotel's pub restaurant. It was by far the most delicious in the whole village, with immaculate service and what seemed to be an enthusiastic and brilliant chef. We would definitely choose to go there again. Thanks again, King's Arms Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanterburyJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandwich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Salutation Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
1.8 mi away
Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
St Peters Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Strand Street, Sandwich CT13 9HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: $98 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional 16th century inn, the Kings Arms Hotel retains its original charm and character, leaving it unspoilt and an ideal place to relax and unwind, whether for business or pleasure. As a privately owned inn, we are able to provide the attention to detail, flexibility and standards often sought, but rarely found. The warm atmosphere and our friendly staff help you to enjoy that 'home from home' feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing