We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have read the reviews...”
Review of Fishermans Wharf Restaurant - CLOSED

Fishermans Wharf Restaurant
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New head chef Ricky Smith arrived in April 2014 and our menu has completely altered to incorporate fresh fish, meat & seafood, most of which is locally sourced from local suppliers. Enjoy first class food overlooking the River Stour or in our flower filled courtyard. Families welcome, private hire available.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Should have read the reviews...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Attracted in by this picturesque building on the riverfront and feeling really hungry at lunchtime, we didn't look any further, but wish we had.

How can they get a Ploughman's wrong? A couple of small bits of cheddar roughly broken on to the plate accompanied by one pickled onion, a spoonful of Branston, a piece of lettuce, three minute slivers of onion and a warm baguette with three individual butters. It must have cost all of £1.20 to put together at most. A ploughman would have thrown it back in disgust.

The crab sandwich was cheap sliced bread filled with a brown crabmeat which looked more like paste and cut in half - not even cut into four with some cress on the top! Oh there were a few nachos.

Such a shame - the location and the building is attractive. Don't be fooled by it's exterior appeal as we were. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Exmoorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    69
    38
    37
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Seafood Platter ..”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Fishermans Wharf Restaurant on Sunday 25th August, we had the seafood platter washed down with two glass's of rose, we both found the food to be very very tasty and the service excellent and all for a very reasonable price. We will be definitely be going back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food let's this place down”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went here for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Between my wife and I we had nachos, potato skins and I had the surf and turf.

The nachos arrived and we were shocked at this restaurants take on what nachos should look like. Were were presented with a plate of tortilla chips with tinned tomatoes poured over the top and some grated cheese, that was it. When I asked for some soured cream we were brought a bowl of watery liquid.

The potato skins were also a massive failure. We were brought a baked potato cut in half with some cheese and chili on top... When I complained I was told, "Well what you can expect, it's a potato".. didn't even offer an apology.

My surf n' turf was ok, I was offered peppercorn sauce for the steak when I ordered but they forgot to bring that when the food came. The 'surf' part of the meal was 3 scampi and a few prawns, not that great.

The restaurant looks lovely from the outside but we would never eat here again. The menu prices are no way reflective of the quality of food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lord_rje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quantity not Quality”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A group of 5 choose to eat here as the location and the property were beautiful. The menu was appealing and offered a good selection of seafood. The service was good and the staff were polite and we had no complaints about either service or premises. Unfortunately the food lets this restaurant down. Two if our party had the Pâté and both described as salty processed dog meat. The portion was extremely big but really un edible. The seafood chowder again was excessively large with loads of fish but again the overall taste was rather sickly, The whitebait was very good however ruined by the serving of cheap vinegary tartare sauce. The mains were truly awful the Crab salad tasted as if it was out if a tin nod contained virtually no white meat just a sloppy brown mush. The seafood plate consisted of the same awful crab meat along with the cheapest slabs of smoked salmon. Two if the party had the ocean pie which they said was ok however it appeared to just be a thickened version of the seafood chowder with extra potato on top.
None of us had a desert or even wanted coffee. Three of the party had upset stomachs later in the evening coincidently the three were the ones that had the seafood chowder and ocean pie. As I say this might just be a coincidence.
There is a good selection if eateries around the area so would find no reason to eat mediocre food in here again and would advise others to look elsewhere. Which is a shame as its such a beautiful location and building.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madiain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Once again, lovely meal out!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a meal in Fishermans Wharf tonight, again food was lovely and service was great from the girls in there. Will be back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xTara2711x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing