We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
other travelers have booked this property
Tom Paine's cottage is the white cottage on the left, its right in the heart of Sandwich.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tom Paine's cottage is the white cottage on the left, its right in the heart of Sandwich.
Looking across to the living room reading area. The cottage reading area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Tom Paine's cottage is the white cottage on the left, its right in the heart of Sandwich.
Looking across to the living room reading area.
The cottage reading area
A log burner in the living room supplements the central heating in the winter time.
The kitchen is large and well equipped. There is a door to the garden which is south facing.
Looking across the kitchen
There are two single beds in the front bedroom.
The second bedroom has a carved mahogany double bed from c.1870
View of the rear of the cottage.
There is a south facing garden which is not overlooked and nice to sit out in when its warm.
There is a south facing sunny area for sitting out.
A portrait of Thomas Paine who lived in the cottage in 1759 and married in the church opposite.
The principle river bridge in Sandwich
Fishergate was part of the original walled defence of Sandwich
Feedback from our guests just as they write it.
Further feedback from our 2014 guests.
Further feedback from our 2014 guests.
Comments from our guest book, see for yourself
Comments from our guest book, see for yourself
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sandwich, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
felicityr...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 10, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights at Tom Paines Cottage in Sandwich. It is a beautiful place with absolutely everything that we could have needed. The location is superb too and there is loads to do in and around Sandwich. We would highly recommend and hope to visit again. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oj_ashton
New Cross
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect winter's getaway”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful break in Thomas Paine's Cottage- From the moment we arrived, everything went seamlessly.
The Cottage was as described and we couldn't quite believe we had such a wonderful & well equipped place all to ourselves!
We enjoyed Sandwich very much & its surrounding countryside. I found the area particularly pleasant when compared to Kent's other Medieval Towns which are often spilling over with tourism or frayed around the edges by deprivation- Sandwich feels authentic & sustained.
We spent many cosy evenings in by the log fire, enjoying home cooked meals, which were a pleasure to cook thanks to the large and well equipped kitchen. On other days we enjoyed some meals out. Of particular note was Papas, the Fish & Chip shop with some of the best Chips I've ever had.
All in all one of the best holiday breaks we could've hoped for.
Will definitely be booking again.

A final note to Robin - Thanks for being so accommodating & dropping us off the extra kindling in the morning. You made the stay feel easy and relaxed.

Regards

Owen

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linbin69
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Revolution”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was by far the best; most beautifully put together cottage we have ever stayed in; quite simply perfect! Only one down side...we should have booked 2 weeks instead of 1!!!!!

Fantastic.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna K
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A homey, historic haven in a wonderful village”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were transported back to the 17/18c in Thomas Paine's cottage and the charming village of Sandwich. Even prettier and roomier than photos indicate. Robin has lovingly restored this historic home and appointed it with period furniture and modern comforts. He even had a warm fire burning for us on arrival. The garden in Spring was gorgeous and warm enough to enjoy an aperitif in the sun. The only caution is the rather precarious staircase.
Sandwich is totally charming and has everything you need within walking distance - groceries, wine shops, butcher, French deli, good restaurants , and a Thursday market. Lots of beautiful walks nearby, and easy public transport to Canterbury, Broadstairs, Walmer, etc. if you don't want to drive.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 12 days here, and hope to return soon !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm, authenticity, location, and the wonderful host
Liked least: The staircase
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tractorgi...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This cottage has everything.”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage for four nights and just loved it. Robin welcomed us and gave us lots of useful information. It's beautifully furnished and is very warm, quiet and comfortable. It was difficult for us to drag ourselves away from the log burner! The kitchen is big and is very well stocked with everything we needed. There is also a beautiful garden. There's lots of very interesting information about Thomas Paine. I have no hesitation in recommending this property - perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and warmth.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2015
Many thanks for your feedback, good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing