We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condition and wonderful true greens”
Review of Princes Golf Club

Princes Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prince's offers all that is best in modern golf: with its 27 holes of Championship links golf, practice facilities to match and a centrally located clubhouse Since its opening in 2012, Prince's can now offer visiting golfers overnight accommodation in its 38 bedroom facility - The Lodge. Prince's boasts 3 loops of 9 holes: The Shore, The Dunes and the Himalayas, all of which have their own unique characteristics and signature holes and have benefited from significant investment and redevelopment over recent years. Players of all standards will enjoy the challenge of this links and the outstanding views. The Lodge at Prince's, situated at the entrance to the course has 12 bedrooms and two luxurious suites and the adjacent Lodge apartments have 12 two bedroom apartments. All bedrooms have ensuite facilities, club storage and battery charging points and wonderful views across the golf course or Sandwich Bay. The apartments are particularly well suited to golfing groups with a comfortable lounge in each apartment. In addition the Lodge offers a quality dining experience in the Brasserie on the Bay which was re-awarded 2 AA Rosettes in 2014 and golfers can also enjoy the Lodge bar menu in front of the warming log burning stove or in the Summer months on the Terrace. Prince's prides itself on helpful, attentive staff who understand your needs from your first enquiry to service during your golf day itself. Fourballs are welcome seven days a week and groups of any size can be accommodated.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great condition and wonderful true greens”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great Links golfing experience.Golf course was in great condition throughout.Greens were true and pretty quick.Staff very friendly and helpful.Beautiful views form most holes.A real test but fair and most enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1405Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money links golf, but not quite top notch”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Prince's offers good quality links golf at affordable rates and has always been accessible, which is not something you could ever accuse its neighbour Royal St Georges of...
In April 2013 the course was in good shape, although greens were not really true. The two members of staff I spoke to offered two different explanations, which I will not bore you with here, but the fact is that they were not nearly as good as nearby Deal, with which it will share the hosting of the Amateur championship in June.
On the other hand...you pay 1/2 the green-fee and you get more than 1/2 the value so all in all, a very good, but not excellent experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ex-expat-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good Accessible links!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have played golf here several times over the years, but this was my first visit for quite a while. This time I played with my 16 year old daughter who is fairly new to the game.
The welcome was friendly and didn't overwelm my daughter, bacon rolls on arrival and then a leisurely 18 holes.
Whilst not quite in the same league as the other local giants, Royal Cinque Ports or Royal St Georges, neither are the prices, the accessibility...or lack of! or the stuffiness that you may encounter at St Georges...especially with a lady in tow, and if you dont know what I mean google it!
What you get at Princes is 27 holes of good links golf, a friendly welcome and the chance to play on one of Englands "better" golf courses without breaking the bank.
We were lucky however that we played on an extremely quiet day (even the pro commented on this) we were told we could tee off when we liked and play as many holes as we liked and we basically had the course to ourselves....Oh and the bacon and sausage rolls were superb!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Close Second...”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

...to its very close neighbour, Royal St George's & has 27 holes too. Also has great accommodation for the travelling golfer looking to play here, St George's & Cinque Ports. Together with other superb courses in the area, this part of the UK offers real competition with famous parts of Scotland that benefit from better marketing methinks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannamrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“consistantly exiting.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

a very good test of links golf. It will give you the urge to take on the bigger challenges of links golf where the dunes are more inspiring.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princes Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Princes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing