We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Can't take any criticism"”

Papas Fish and Chips
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Can't take any criticism"”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been going to this chippie for around 5 months and travel all the way from Broadstairs. T he first 3-4 weeks we went the food and service was excellent and I even complimented them for their fish & chips. Unfortunately, now and again the quality of the fish was starting to get substandard and wasn't very fresh anymore. Last week I took back a piece of medium cod, which according to the owner was a tail-end and it was very grey inside, with hardly any flesh.
I kindly asked for a replacement and was told there was nothing wrong with the fish and ordered out of the shop and was told by his wife.. "that I was a very rude man".
As I was a regular there and travelled quite a few miles, I thought they would have been understanding & apologetic. However, this was the complete opposite and if you complain be prepared for verbal abuse and ordered out of the shop, as they can't take any CRITICISM.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIgnatiou, Manager at Papas Fish and Chips, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Whilst your complaint was taken seriously, you have failed to mention in your review that you were in fact given a refund for the fish that you brought in. You were asked to leave as you were shouting whilst there were other customers in the shop who are also regulars and found your behavior appalling. You were also repeatedly telling the manager there to "come outside".

With regards to the fish itself i have linked a picture of your fish and chips that you returned below and fail to see it being "grey". You made no mention of the colour at the time merely that there was more fish on one side compared with the other and this is when it was explained to you that it was a tail end piece.

http://i984.photobucket.com/albums/ae329/kyriignatiou/IMG-20130918-WA0000_zps66f63d18.jpg

I hope this clears any confusion.

Kind Regards

Kyri Ignatiou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    38
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips in Sandwich”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Large haddock and chips £6.95 -ish. Worth every penny, delicious and definitely a meal for the two of us. Fish and chips freshly cooked. Real potatoes - loads of sacks delivered while we were there. Restaurant located near the river. Pay and display opposite. Seats outside but we sheltered under a nearby tree as it was raining! Very friendly staff. Worth waiting if there is a queue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips with some outdoor seating”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Next to the main car park by the river and in a small building with a few tables and chairs outside.
Has an upstairs eat-in area but we did not use this.
We arrived at a very manic time with a lot of people waiting for the freshly cooked food. Despite this, the service was efficient and prompt and the fish and chips were delicious! Portions of chips were good and the haddock was large and very tasty.
If you want traditional fish and chips then you'll really enjoy Papas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, food ok”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Chips pale, quite tasty. Cod nicely battered but not overly flavourful. Staff efficient and helpful, location great for al fresco eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raquelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Second Review.....and the reason is........”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When I first reviewed just over a month ago, I was pleasantly surprised to receive an answer to my query of why were the chips so pale and untasty. It was explained that the oil that was used contributed to that and the fact that it was changed frequently. As I was happy with the fish I went back......twice.......both times were great, the chips were a lot better and I'm wondering, on the first visit there was a man cooking who was not there on my other visits and maybe he was being trained? Which would also explain the lack of tastiness? Either way, I am very happy to recommend Papas fish and chips in Sandwich. I really enjoyed the customer service aspect as well. Second visit they were not as busy so both people behind the counter took the time to chat, 3rd visit they were SO busy...no chat but pleasant still.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TWS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Papas Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing