We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Blue Pigeons(Worth)(Great Value!)
$172
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fleur de Lis(Sandwich)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Salutation(Sandwich)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pegwell Bay Hotel(Ramsgate)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Hotel(Deal)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveler rating
360
264
104
29
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
264
104
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelriver viewpublic car parkshepherd neamepay and displaylimited parkingflask of fresh milkno liftreception areafamily roomtea and coffeewaiting staffmedieval townwine listfamily weddinglovely roomlovely weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 782 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were a bit concerned when we received an email from The Bell, informing us that they had major renovations going on at the hotel. However, Shane the manager, at The Bell rang to reassure us that our stay would not be interrupted at all.....and he was correct. The Staff, especially Lynne & Anita on reception were delightful, helpful & informative. A big thank you to all the staff in the dining room, splendid service and the food was delicious & very well presented.
Will definitely be going back for a further treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burley1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A weekend stay for our 40th anniversary, with Sunday afternoon tea for friends and family. Great room, excellent kippers for breakfast and a really enjoyable dinner that was part of the two night package. Very professional staff, who were there when you needed them, and not when you didn't! Only very modest quibble was that the range of beer was a bit limited because of the renovation work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The last time we visited the historic and pretty little town of Sandwich, Kent was some 15 years ago, when we stayed at the Bell, at the time we thought it awful, dirty and unwelcoming, so I was a little concerned when we wandered in there on Saturday 19 October to book a room and stop the night as a spur of the moment decision, however, I need not have been, all my fears were unsubstantiated, what a turn around for this hotel. It was lovely, and clearly the new owners, ie: the Local Brewery had turned it round and although renovations were still on going, it was a lovely surprise. A lovely bar area, nice restaurants, much nicer rooms and a much better service, will recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannius24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in a superior grade bedroom overlooking the river. This is really the only hotel in the town to stay in, (avoid the golfing tournaments!) It is an old hotel undergoing a major makeover to December 2013. We nearly cancelled when they informed us a week before but at least an effort was made to let us know. We really enjoyed our stay with a very helpful and attentive staff. Evening dinner was well presented and the food choice good. Few outside customers at present as when you arrive it looks as though it is being rebuilt. Don't be put off by the present outside appearance.
A lovely small old town with a medieval atmosphere with lots of local interest. Check with hotel the best way to reach them as your Satnav will take you in on roads which are currently closed!!

Room Tip: Not ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rochester604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice hotel, very English, but over £100 for single occupancy in a room that you could not swing a cat around in.

Breakfast was nice, after ordering it took nearly 25mins to arrive, and once it arrive it was not correct, but I so hungry I just accepted it. I am glad I was not in a hurry to get somewhere!

Good nights sleep, nice shower, a nice hotel with friendly staff, very helpful.

But a little too expensive, breakfast staff do need to get breakfast out quicker. Hotel could do with being around £85 a night not £105

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank City H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews