We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Perfectly located for golf at Sandwich or Deal and located well for a couple of nice pubs immediately across the road.

A number of very good options for breakfast and a good bar and restaurant area.

One negative was that there was limited ventilation in the bedrooms, was very warm at night so had to open the windows and let in the mosquitos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickMac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    223
    86
    20
    11
See reviews for
96
372
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've lived fairly locally for a while but hadn't visited The Bell till this week: and what a great discovery! Modern, sympathetic decor, good service and lovely food (particularly the carrot cake). We'll be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kentcouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a delightful surprise to discover this hotel. Newly renovated, we adored the decor. The room was large and quiet, with a huge comfortable bed and a great shower. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant with friends and were served a excellent freshly cooked breakfast in the morning. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Particular thanks go to Anita for really looking after us so well. We very much look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speden2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked a king size room and it definitely was.
Room 211 was gorgeous.

Only thing I could say was the serious lack of parking, the hotel had about 8 spaces, otherwise it's round the corner in a pay and display.

Room service food was delicious

Breakfast fast and yummy

Would I stay here again ....oh yes

Room Tip: Room 211 fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseAhmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

booked to stay here for two nights this weekend both couples had booked king size rooms!ours was room no 19 which was a decent size ,our friends was room no38 their room not quite as a big!
Check in was easy let us check in a bit earlier,very helpful staff!
Rooms were fine but tired definantly need to look at improving the housekeeping as a lot of dust etc in rooms on lamps,lights and the dried flowers which were covered in dust!such a shame as could be so nice!!Also the hotel is lovely from the outside and into lobby area then when u are shown to your rooms upstairs the carpets which I presume should be cream are so so grubby!it wouldn't take a lot to deep clean them which would make such a better first impression!
The rooms were very stiflingly hot even with main windows wide open and bathroom windows wide open I dread to think what would have been like in reaaly hot weather!
Although the hotel were really good the second night as I said it was so hot and was going to buy a fan they brought me up one straight away!
You cannot fault any one that works in this hotel all friendly.happy,knowledgeable etc one really big plus for us!
The breakfast in the morn again lovely plenty of choice with it pastries,continental meats,cereals,full English,kippers etc etc!
Parking can be a bit of a nightmare as only five spaces here I was lucky to get one for the weekend but otherwise u have to pay to put in public car park would make sense really like other hotels for them to maybe have a subsidised permit for car par park per 24 hours when staying at hotel!!
All in all we would def come back but would also hope that someone takes notice and ups the keep of the hotel just by keeping rooms a bit cleaner,cleaning carpets etc and maybe a paint job here and there to keep it always looking clean and fresh for guests!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jems21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice hotel, big room to accommodate 3 in a family room. Apart from breakfast room, hotel could do with a lick of paint and update. Not glamorous but fine for what we were looking for. Staff very friendly and helpful. The chef even went to the shops for us to buy veggie sausages for our breakfast !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in one of the river view rooms with a balcony. Really comfy bed ,lovely shower and bathroom. Breakfast was very good on the first two days, fresh hot toast, good choice and excellent quality, right down to the vegetarian sausage. However on our last day I think we got the Nouvelle Cuisine Breakfast chef - 8 baked beans does not a portion make !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
8.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Property: The Bell Hotel
Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing