We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing experience and I would not recommend it.”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room: Lovely - spacious, clean and quiet. However, the toilet did not flush unless you manually filled the tank with water. And it trickled all night and kept me awake for hours.
The food: My husband and I both had steak for dinner, and it was as tough as leather. And served with chips! The food certainly did not deserve a fixed price £25 pp for dinner. Service was fine.
When we checked out we were not asked how we had enjoyed our stay, and when we mentioned the faulty toilet the lady at reception did not apologise and did not seem to care in the least.
A lovely spot but I would not recommend it. I don't appreciate surly staff when I am effectively paying their wages, and the poor quality of dinner almost ruined the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellHotel, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal last week, at £25 for 3 courses including music is good value if we get it right, if you didnt want chips we would happily offered an alternative. I will discuss the surliness with my Front of House team and carry out further training.

Kind regards

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 748 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with friends who had wanted to visit the area for ages - myself & my husband originally come from Deal so thought this would be a nice place to stay.

Hotel was nice, clean, reception a, bar and restaurant staff all very friendly. Both our rooms were a good size with lots of drawer space and hanging space. And the heating had been put on - so management must have taken note of prev comments by guests.

Good Pure radio, tea making facilities and hair dryer. Complimentary shampoo etc in bathroom.

Yes the doors did have a strange locking system but I overcame this by asking how the lock worked - simple solution.

Very busy at breakfast but we were served promptly and didn't have to wait for our cooked breakfast which was very tasty.

Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleD644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For the money paid this is a decent hotel.

Plus
Staff are very friendly
Nice atmosphere
Great location
Good value and a decent breakfast
Rooms clean and comfortable

Minus
Carpet on main staircase REALLY needs a clean and is really off putting when you go to your room for the first time.
We had room 44 which is very small and not having double glazing suffers from traffic noise.
Lots of mess on the landings. They do need to clear dirty bed linen and towels away rather than leaving them on display.

Summary
The minus points are really just nit picking, because for such a reasonable price in such a wonderful town I would recommend The Bell to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldershotborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Whilst the staff were courteous this hotel needs a reality check. Astronomically expensive, to be precise Central London prices and for what? An inadequate room offering no favilities whatsoever. Bathroom was basic, nowhere to put anything. Basic amenities, no bath robes, no tissues. Dreadful.
Cheap fittings with hot taps turning the wrong way.
Bed comfortable but that was the only positive in a totally uninviting stay. Key lock door with complicated method to lock the door when leaving the room. No room safe. Tea making facilities but no easy mirror to see to dry hair or put on makeup. Full length mirror inside free standing wardrobe that was too short for any long hanging. This, incidentally was one of their best rooms as shown on the website.
As for the food, simply awful. We lunched in the brasserie on tasteless soup and packet fish cakes that were decidedly 'fishy' in smell and taste. I left them but was not asked why. Husband had linguini with clams. Also uneaten.
Hotel was full due to a wedding but decidedly under staffed. Guests all met for breakfast but tables had to be brought in. Kitchen unable to cope. We waited 3/4 hour for the cooked English breakfast and faced cold food, eggs overlooked, bacon under cooked and a fatty grizzly sausage.
(sorry, swimming pool ticked in error .. No evidence of one).
Hotel inspector urgently needed on this one. I'll not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellHotel, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am deeply disappointed and can only offer my apologies that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

We are passionate about customer service and the company arranges a number of unannounced overnight stays each year to monitor all aspects of the Hotel.

Once again I’m sorry and should you wish to stay again please feel free to contact me direct.

Kind regards

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed one night and when booking struck a deal at £200 for one of the river view rooms plus three course evening meal and breakfast.

This is one of those old late Georgian/early Victorian rambling buildings that can't avoid being a maze of corridors. Notwithstanding, the owners have made a great effort to make it light and airy. Our room overlooked the river (rather muddy and it's not the hotel's fault that a large housing for sale banner detracts from the view). The room was spacious and had comfortable arm chairs and wonderful bed and super bedding. Pillows I wanted to bring home! I appreciated a good quality TV and separate DBA radio both of which were simple to use (why do some hotel systems have tiny cheap TVs that have to be so complex?).The whole place was very clean and there are little touches that show someone has thought about how to cheer up an old building without detracting from its character.

One downside is that the central heating wasn't on. It was an especially cold night but, on enquiry, we were told that heating wasn't switched on until October. This meant a cold morning bathroom. OK, there was a plug-in electric heater in our room, but come on management : give your staff the freedom to use their undoubted common sense rather than drive things by a timetable.The poor receptionist was rather embarrassed by this.

Pre dinner the bar was quiet, comfortable and friendly (yes there is piped music, but not too loud). There are also quiet niches elsewhere to sit in the hotel. At dinner the waitress Kirsty was just wonderful. She dealt with a wide range of demanding guests with a smile and good humour. The food was pretty good too with a well thought out, not too long, menu and a wine list that was not overly pretentious and reasonably priced. Service at breakfast was equally good and friendly and breakfast was good quality and wide choice. Cooked breakfast was cooked to order (not getting dry under a red light).

The location is totally central in this quaint Cinque Port. It is easy to visit the "Secret Garden" Only two minutes walk away, and to wander around the narrow streets.

One small downside is that the hotel does not have a very large car park (5 or six vehicles) so you probably have to park in the quayside public car park. It is immediately in front of the hotel, but you do have to pay during the day.

Only the lack of central heating and the car parking led me to go to four starts rather than five in overall rating. We very much liked it.

Room Tip: A river view room was worth the small premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently stayed here for x2 nights and was delighted with the friendly and helpful staff who regularly took time to check that we had everything we wanted....a pleasant surprise and easy to see why it is a popular destination in Sandwich.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnyHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We turned up 'on spec', and were treated as well as if we had previously booked a room. We ended up staying 2 nights. The room was comfortable, and clean, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. Food was good, service was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMck59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
0.1 mi away
The Salutation Hotel
The Salutation Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
448 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
555 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
10.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range: $109 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing