We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional hotel with a modern feel.”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed at The Bell for 1 night during our birthday week and it was a lovely treat. Beautiful room (king size overlooking river) with plenty of space and very well designed. Really comfy bed and slept well as Sandwich is a quiet place in March. Bathroom was very traditional with gorgeous claw foot bath as well as shower. Would have liked a towelling robe for after the bath, but minor point. Like other contributors we liked the breakfast very much and found all staff to be very polite. Slightly disappointed with dinner - liver a bit chewy and Dover Sole not as I remember it, but the passion fruit souffle with mango sorbet went some way to make up for that! There are good walks and cycle routes nearby and gardens (Jekyll & Lutyens) just a short stroll away. A good place to spend 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eiffeltrifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellHotel, General Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Matt Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 769 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2011

In a county which has very few hotels that I could recommend, this hotel certainly bucked the trend.
The room allocated was very clean and well equiped. It was extremely comfortable and could not be faulted in any way. The food in the restaurant was also of excellent standard with good choice and resonablly priced. All the ingredients were locally sourced, and catered for vegetations.
The bar and the wine list was of very good quality.
Finally the staff could not have been more helpful and proffessional in their approch and certainly conveyed a feeling that the customer was the overall consideration.
During our stay a wedding reception took place but this by no means interferred with a restful stay.
We shall certainly be returning to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MidlandsCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Warm and welcoming staff, excellent food and clean comfortable room. Would fully recommend people staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithflint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We returned to the Bell Hotel for two nights hoping that our memorable stay last year would be repeated. This time invited our picky son and his partner to join us If anything the service rooms and particularly the food were better than our memories. Cant fault it. Look out for offers as it makes reasonable rates very tempting.
We will return before long.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This hotel is a great find. It has modern decor, is immaculately clean and the service very good. The room we had, a standard king was spacious with a large bathroom. The description of the hotel on its website is pretty accurate. We found large whiter than white fluffy cotton towels in the bathroom and nice complimentary toiletries. It was a joy having a bath! Also complimentary bottled water and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. There was a radio in the room which was a nice touch and the decor of the room was fabulous. The most important thing was the very comfy bed and quality sheets. This certainly made for a good nights sleep. We we were staying on dinner bed and breakfast basi and found the exquisite food they served in the restaurant a delight. A lot of thought and effort went into the meal served, definately food cooked from scratch with homemade bread None of this frozen, mass produced rubbish you get served in so many restaurants. The breakfast was large! Plenty of everything and cooked breakfast made to order. Friendly, attentive staff made this a very pleasurable stay and not ones to visit somewhere twice, we will most certainly be returning. Also a very reasonable price that we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ange1974_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We got married at Preston Court in August and obviously wanted to stay somewhere special for our wedding night. We visited The Bell for coffee and liked the setting and furnishings. We were unable to view a room but after reading the brochure and looking on the website we decided to book a junior king suite as I am not keen on 4 poster beds.
Our car was dropped off at the hotel around lunchtime so we were lucky to get a space. We made it back to the hotel around 11.30 and having been wet and cold throughout the day were looking forward to a boozy hot chocolate to warm up.
On check in we asked if we could order room service but were told it was too late. We asked if we could get any food and were told if we were quick we might just catch the bar. In full wedding regalia we bought 2 packets of crisps and some nuts!
We got up to our room which was large and looked very nice, one window looked over the road by the main entrance and the other down a small side street. Unfortunately the bathroom window had been left open and with the weather being so bad the room was freezing.
We tucked the sumptuous curtains behind the radiators and fiddled with the valves hoping for some heat but nothing. The bathroom was also large, which equaled very cold, nothing special just a shower over the bath. Surely there must be some hot chocolate to share on the hospitality tray and nice packet of biscuits - no. Out of desperation we looked up local takeaways to deliver us something warm but they were all closed so we gave up.
On the positive side we were first down to breakfast which was superb. The service was excellent and the staff very polite. The food was delicious and the restaurant was elegant. The bed was also very comfy.
We didn't expect champagne and rose petals in our room but we did notice our booking card said wedding night so a congratulations and maybe a drink would have been nice.
It seems our guests all had far better stays in local b & bs so maybe we will celebrate our anniversary in one of those as we definitely won't be spending any money in The Bell.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellHotel, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry that your Celebration was overlooked and that you were disappointed with your stay.

We do not offer 24hour Hot Room service, but we do offer an assortment of Sandwiches after 9:30pm. A selection of Herbal Teas and Coffee are available in the Room and Hot Chocolate is available 24 hours a day upon request in your room.

I'm disappointed the temperature of your room was not at a comfortable level. The window being left open clearly did not help and should have been picked up on Housekeeping checks.

I’m pleased that you found the Room of a good standard and the breakfast and service in the morning of a high standard.

Best regards

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We had a superb weekend at the Bell Hotel. Easy to reach and good accessibility to local attractions. Room tastefully decorated and well appointed - wonderful shower! Food in restaurant for breakfast and evening meal very good. Parking a bit of an issue for loading/unloading from car but local car park (alongside the river) available which is free overnight.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellHotel, General Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2011

Thank you taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Matt Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
0.1 mi away
The Salutation
The Salutation
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
10.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Blue Pigeons
The Blue Pigeons
#1 of 1 in Worth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range: $117 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing