We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent food, nice staff and atmosphere and reasonable price.
A place nice to eat and rest. The building is beautiful and the views aswell.
You can pay by card.
Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ladymarion666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments ,hope to see you in the future if ever you return to Sandwich
Pam And Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 318 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

I visited Sandwich and chose the Crispin Inn for lunch. I was pleased to see they sell the local Wantsum Beer and their menu is fairly varied. The barmaid took my order but did not mind when I changed my mind to Goat curry. Service was efficient and the portion ample, I really enjoyed the crispy dumpling on the side. The meat was well cooked and the sauce delicious I hope to return soon a real find for all caribbean food lovers and their traditional pub grub looks good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Criticalparanoiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thankyou for choosing to eat with us.The curried Goat is a very popular choice for those who know caribbean food or just want to be adventurous.So we are pleased you enjoyed it.
The Wantsum you refered to would have been Wantsum Perle,a single hop ale,another good choice.Thankyou for taking the time to review THe Crispin and hope to see you in the future
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Saturday night dinner in the Crispin Inn - it wasnt too busy and i had the Jerk Chicken which was great, very spicy!. Very friendly staff and a nice local atmosphere.

Thank Sara28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your visit.we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.
many thanks
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

After a rainy but enjoyable boat trip we stumbled into this lovely pub. The staff gave us and the kids (6 and 4 years) a warm welcome. The kids were shown a treasure chest of games and colouring books to entertain them while we enjoyed a drink. Our food order was taken in the bar seating area and we were told they would call us through to the restaurant when the food was ready. The food was fresh, tasty and plentyful. I had the jerk chicken which was delicious and spicy, the other half had steak fajitas, theses were well seasoned and came with 3 fresh sides. The kids wanted fish and chips (not on the children's menu) so the staff suggested dividing an adults portion onto 2 plates for us. The fish was fresh and not oily and the chips were amazing, very large and crunchy outsides with fluffy middles. The kids ate everything. The homemade sticky toffee pudding was moist and tasty. The food is cooked fresh so it takes a little time to arrive, this is clearly seen in the quality of the dishes, but I guess not great if you are in a rush! The best bit for us was the low bill (mainly as were used to London prices), but very good value. Next time we are in Sandwich we will be eating here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LillyStar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I remember your visit well,you were seated at the far end of the restaurant
It always pleases us when we get lovely comments like yours.We as parents are very aware of the needs of children and try to do those little things to make it a pleasant experience for them.
As you pointed out the food is cooked to order,and it does take a bit longer,so we are pleased you appreciated this
And if you do get back to the area we look forward to seeing you.
many thanks
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The minute we opened the door and walked in there was a friendly greeting from the staff behind the bar. We found a table and whilst perusing the menu a girl came and asked us if we'd like a drink. The drinks duly arrived and our food order was taken. The food came in reasonable time but not before we had time to admire and comment upon food delivered to neighbouring tables.
Portions are generous. Although just a lunchtime visit for a small meal, would like to return on any future visit to sample more from the Inn's menu. Longest wait was trying to pay my bill but to be fair, this was because the member of staff dealing with this was on the 'phone patiently explaining and answering queries from someone enquiring about their Christmas Day meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank muskateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review.It is good to hear that you were happy with the service as well as the food.Hope to see you if your in the area again
Many thanks
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing