We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
336
77
45
34
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
336
77
45
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room the main house other guests gardeners cottage goggle box afternoon tea gardens are beautiful tea room tasting menu george and dragon the cottages honesty bar top floor christmas present for sale huge bed lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 514 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2016

I booked this for my husband and I as a Christmas treat and it really couldn't have been better. We stayed in the William Room which was spacious, clean and a bed that is so big it needs to been seen to be believed. We had been told previously by email there were no specific new year plans and that the restaurant was closed but we were provided with a list of other local venues. We met Tigger a few hours after check in and a wander round the gardens and he took us and the other guests on a whistle stop pub crawl of Sandwich introducing us to each other and locals to make us feel part of the party. The other reviews are true that he is real character and a hoot. We ended up back at the hotel for New Year and the staff laid on music and presecco a plenty and it was the best way to see in the new year with an eclectic bunch of like minded folk. They provided a brilliant impromptu buffet after midnight and we partied until the wee hours. The gardens are beautiful even at this time of year and we have resolved to go back in the summer to see the Lutyens inspired beds at their best. We have made some fabulous new friends in the other guests that stayed that night and feel we have found a great retreat from it all. The staff and location are fantastic and we would like to say special thank you for giving us such a great start to the year.

Room Tip: Would recommend William room - great views of garden
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Frances O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2015

We went for Sunday lunch the Sunday after Christmas. Service was a bit slow but we didn't mind. We had the roast pork, lamb and Turkey and it was all lovely. The only complaint is that it could have been hotter but we asked for extra gravy which did heat it all up. The pork just melted in your mouth and was gorgeous. We shared a cheese board and that was plenty for 3 of us, far too much for one person. Lovely dining room, a bit shabby but that added to its charm. Very friendly spider nestling beside the curtain next to me! All in all a good experience and we would go again and recommend it.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank wilyconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2015

I would like to start by qualifying that I never write reviews but on this occasion it was so utterly terrible that I felt absolutely compelled to.

We went to the Salutation for Sunday lunch to celebrate a very special birthday with family members that had flown in from all over the world for the weekend. It started badly when we arrived to a disorganised group of staff charging round to get our private dining room ready despite weeks of notice.

The food was truly dreadful- honestly the worst I have ever had to pay for when eating out. Undercooked (uncooked) Yorkshire pudding and completely inedible beef/lamb with soggy vegetables. We had also asked for a cake for the special day and after promising to make one for us - the chef clearly decided he had better things to do and instead went a bought a cheap coffee cake from the Co-op.. Probably the best thing we ate all day mind you!

Staff were actually very good and desperately embarrassed by how bad it actually was.. We were discounted appropriately but unfortunately we left with a really bad taste in our mouths (literally and metaphorically).

Would not recommend and afraid won't be returning..

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
24  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2015

I booked the Salutation as a surprise for my BF's birthday. We are fans of Gogglebox and of Dom and Steph and they are the reason I booked the hotel. We didn't arrive until late, but we were greeted by Scarlet and shown around the hotel before being shown to our room, Gertrude. What a beautiful room, very large and spacious with an exceptionally large bed. Complimentary Tea/Coffee and Whisky/Brandy and all toiletries. Great view over the gardens and of St. Peters church in the distance.
We didn't stay for dinner.
We spent the evening in the bar area (that you see on the TV with the bar) with the other guests, all of whom were staying at the hotel for the same reason. We had an absolute blast. The two barmen looking after us all were Dash and Andrew, absolute gentleman for their young 18-years, lovely young men and they looked after us all so well. Very friendly and couldn't do enough for us all, a real credit to the hotel and the hospitality industry.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious, cooked fresh to order and absolutely tasty. Overall, we had an absolutely wonderful stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. While of course we were a little disappointed the Parkers were not in residence, it in no way dampened our weekend. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Gertrude - top floor, great views, very large bathroom and a massive bed.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

can only say that the Saturday afternoon/night was great - staff were excellent our rooms henry and William were fabulous. Met some great people - and the breakfast was massive !!!!!! - disappointing that Steph and Dom wasn't there but been to sooooo many "celebrity" restaurants/hotels where we have missed them by a day or so !!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews