We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a stay before golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“great for a stay before golf”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was meeting up with friends to play a 4-ball at Princes on Friday morning 10:30, and decided to book a room through laterooms.com for the night before - to include breakfast. This is an ideal golfing trip accommodation. The bar and restaurant area were clean and friendly; rooms were clean, new and spacious; and free wi-fi provided. Breakfast was an excellent full english.
Everything is modern, well-equipped and some have a view of the course - others the sea.
It's a 2 minute drive from here to the golf club house at Princes.
Highly recommend and will come back with my wife for a golf stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    67
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
60
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is an ideal golfing trip accommodation bolt hole. I can't think of a way in which this could be improved really. The rooms are in appartment form so you get a couple of bedrooms, a central lounge area and a little kitchenette. All which works really well. They are modern, well-equipped and ours had a view out over the courses.
It's a 2 minute drive from here to Princes, 5 minutes max to St Georges and not much more to Deal.
Breakfasts were good too. We didn't eat there in the evening. We went instead to the Geroge & Dragon in Sandwich which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived shown into our apartment over looking the green on Royal St George's, two bedroom with a lounge, mini kitchen and plenty of room to sit down and enjoy the room.

Bedrooms nice and roomy, bathrooms are great, the showers with the boost button, really give you a morning awakening! Great stay, bar was lovely with a great view until it rained! But we are in England!

Ideal to stay if your playing princes, cinque ports or st George's

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank City H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After returning from a walk to sandwich we thought we would check the lodge out after hearing about it. We had our dog so sat on the terrace and the lovely girl behind the bar cleaned the dog bowl that was outside out and filled with fresh water, already a 10/10. She was so helpful and friendly as we're asking her about the menu,s ext and she went and photocopied some.for us to take and look at. It's so nice sitting on the terrace and looking over the golf course, really peaceful. Staff were brilliant , although we only had a drink we will definitely be returning to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highmaintenance38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I'm just back from a Sunday night stay at The Lodge with three friends. We played two rounds at Prince's and the course was very enjoyable, but The Lodge really was the star of the show. Our rooms were modern, spacious, clean and very well appointed. There is a comfortable bar with a terrace overlooking the 5th green of Shore and without exception the staff were great. Friendly and efficient service which makes you feel right at home.
We didn't have dinner in the restaurant so I can't comment on that but breakfast certainly was excellent. I've stayed in many golfing lodges/hotels in the UK and this is definitely one of the very best - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent one night at The Lodge last Sunday. We had a lodge with 2 bedrooms, lounge, golf club storage, small fridge and sink. The accommodation was contemporary and stunning, the ensuites both very nice. Ate in The Brasserie on the Bay Sunday night, very nice "nouvelle cuisine" so don't expect big portions! Having said that, 3 out of the 4 of us felt very satisfied. There is a pleasant bar,a gym and a half size snooker table. Unless you are here for golf or walking, there is little else around. Sandwich town is a long walk away!

Room Tip: Room 6 was beautiful, quiet and overlooked Royal St Georges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our golf society had 13 members stay on 6th and 7th September 2013 . The accommodation was first class as were the meals . Without exception the staff were friendly and efficient . The drinks were not cheap but given the surroundings we were satisfied overall .


Tony Dawe

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durdle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
1.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
681 reviews
3.9 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
502 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Princes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Princes Golf Club

Property: The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Address: Princes Drive | Sandwich Bay, Sandwich CT13 9QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Princes Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Princes, located in the beautiful Bay of Sandwich is a real hidden gem where we focus on quality and service. You are assured of a friendly, warm welcome where we want you to relax and enjoy the fine food and hospitality and then enjoy a comfortable nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Lodge at Princes Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Princes Golf Club Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing