We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Modern Rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Location, Modern Rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Lodge on a golfing holiday. The location was good with views of the bay & golf courses. The Lodge is isolated next to the beach on a private estate. We felt that the food was overpriced. We ate there the first night as we arrived early evening and last orders were 8.20 p.m. In the car park we met another party of golfers who were on their way to eat at a local pub, having arrived at the Lodge earlier. We followed their lead on the 2nd and 3rd nights. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants in Sandwich. We ate at the George & Dragon on the 2nd and 3rd nights. Excellent food. Much better value!
Breakfast at the Lodge on the first morning was disappointing as 3 items on a short breakfast menu were unavailable. On day 2 one of our rooms was not cleaned, and housekeeping had to be called to make the bed and change the towels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hand10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate that our food is more expensive than many of the local restaurants and pubs, but then again Brasserie on the Bay is not aiming to be one of those. The quality that we are aimimg for is to be in the top 10 restaurants in Kent. I appreciate that whilst I would like guests to eat here every evening, guests will go out and use other eateries and explore the medieval town of Sandwich. I disagree that the menu is 'short'. Our breakfast menu unlike many other hotels include all items without any supplements. i think that the day you refer to is that we had no smoked fish as our smokery tripped out during the night. All the other cooked food items come within a 15 mile radius, the sausages are our own. We always try and bake our own breads for breakfast, the apple juice is from a local press using Kent produce and where ever possible we only use the best that is on the market.
I am sorry that one of the rooms was not serviced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    60
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
58
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely location. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food. Several choices on the breakfast menu. Rooms are finished to a high standard with views over sandwich bay or the golf course. Can highly recommend. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulabeth04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, they are appreciated and passed on to all those invloved. Apologies for the time taken for me to reply but I had a problem logging on. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Angleterre
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here in August after arriving back from France.
The location is beautiful - our room was huge and had a great view over the bay.
However, in the morning we had to close our window as smoke was drifting up from some
members of staff having a cigarette break outside - not very professional.
Cooked breakfast good but very disappointing selection of cereals and pastries -
expected much more choice from such an establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are appreciated and have already been acted upon regards the smoking. i hopr that this did not affect you too much. Regards breakfast we have five different cerals available inaddition to frush fruit and natural yoghurts. We always try to bake our own bread for breakfast and the pastries, whilst limited to 2 choices are among the best on the market. The other items on the cooked breakfast are all locally sourced and within a radius of 15 miles. The sausages are made especially for Prince's. In addition to this we also have smoked salmon, kippers and smoked haddock. There are so many things that can be made available for breakfast and i hope that the choice will not deter you in staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Having had my wedding reception at the Lodge, I cannot praise the staff enough. All through the build up and planning Charlotte was only to willing to talk and Make changes as they arose. The Chef, Michael helped us personally plan our menu and ensured the food on the day was exceptional. On the actual day we were hosted by Trish, who is a he credit to the Lodge. She made sure the day was complete and everything ran smoothly with out a hitch. She was extremely professional and made it all look so easy, which was perfect for us as she organized the lay out of the room, decorations and seating plans and then controlled the order of the reception, the timing and service of the meals and the call for attention as she announced the toasts were to be made and thankfully in the correct order.

We then as a group stayed overnight in the Lodge and the rooms and facilities are fantastic, clean fresh and spacious, with views of the bay and course. Princes certainly made our wedding a day to remember for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Number 24 has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Mant thanks for taking the time to post a review. They are both appreciated and passed on to all concerned. The Lodge lends itself to weddings and the staff take a great pleasure in ensuring that the day is a special one for both the couple and their guests. I am pleased that the day was a success and I look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here on a 2 rounds, dinner, bed & breakfast deal. Communication was good, initial impressions were that the property is built to a high standard and the staff are well trained. After my golf buddy and I caused a room mixup (which they generously rectified with a drink) everything went swimmingly.

The set dinner was of an exceptionally high standard, the amuse-bouche being served at the bar was a nice touch, breakfast also exceeded expectations.

The property backs onto the 5th hole of the Shore loop and the scenery is spectacular. What struck me the most was that the staff were friendly and efficient, good service is generally hard to come by, but even my American golf buddy was impressed!

On return I received an email apologising for the stage of the greens, this wasn't a major issue, however the sweetener offered was above and beyond what I'd normally expect. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Really kind of you to take the time to leave a response. Much appreciated and will be passed on to all involved. We are as a team comitted to providing a place to both rest and relax, as well as enjoying some fine food and beverage. We support many local businesses in order to achieve this as it is impotant to ensure that as we grow other local businesses benifit too. I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Prince's in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have been working on Dover, on and off, for the last month, and have been staying at the Lodge. Quiet, in a outstandling location, with a excellent restaurant. Staff are brilliant, arranging a simple breakfast for me, as I depart before breakfast is served. Rooms are new, being large and well equiped. Complete with wi-fi also. Looking forward to me next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryWhiteBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a comment, which I will pass on to the rest of the team. Whilst we are very much a golf business we try at The Lodge to ensure that we accommodate all visitors and not just golfers. It is important to us that all our guests fell comfortable whether golfers or not. I look forward to welocoming you back to the Lodge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went there for our wedding anniversary. It was a lovely stay with a view on the beach and golf course. Very attentive staff and intimate atmosphere. This place is not only for golfers. Well done guys.

Room Tip: Room 15 is noisy from kitchen extractor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edyta35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at The Lodge at Princes Golf Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a response which is both appreciated and passed on to all the menbers of the team. Whilst we are a golf club we have developed The Lodge to appeal not only to golfers but to anyone who wants to enjoy the peace and quiet that Sandwich Bay offers. Ina ddition to this we just like to treat guests as we would like to be treated. I have noted the comments regards room 15 and will act on this. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
1.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
3.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Princes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Princes Golf Club

Property: The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Address: Princes Drive | Sandwich Bay, Sandwich CT13 9QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Princes Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Princes, located in the beautiful Bay of Sandwich is a real hidden gem where we focus on quality and service. You are assured of a friendly, warm welcome where we want you to relax and enjoy the fine food and hospitality and then enjoy a comfortable nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Princes Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Princes Golf Club Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing