We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting”

Richborough Roman Fort and Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Although there isn't a huge amount of the old buildings left the small museum is good and guidebook informative.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    67
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great hidden piece of history!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I did not know this existed until I looked through the English Heritage magazine but am really glad I have visited. It is a bit old and crumbly but definitely gives the impression of what the fort used to be like and the free audio tour gives a lot of historical and contextual information as you walk around! A lovely place to pic nic as well and close to lots of other sites if you fancy them (Dover, Deal Castle etc). Entry fee was five pounds or free to members so not expensive either!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TessicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A fascinating place where we learned many new facts about Roman history. Maintained by English Heritage it was worth the entrance fee and the free audio description. Step onto Watling Street at the very beginning of its' route. It's possible to take a river taxi into Sandwich from here-we didn't do this but others did while we were there-sounds interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConnieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic, well-maintained historical site”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a must for anyone with an interest in the Romans and particularly the Roman army. It's probably the best preserved Saxon shore fort we have visited to date, with the added bonus of it's historic pivotal role in the initial Roman invasion of Britain. We visited on a summer's day with blue skies and it was very serene and beautiful, with plenty of photo opportunities. The site is very well-maintained, the facilities are sufficient and the audio-guide included in the price is very informative. It was also easy to find when using Google maps as a Sat Nav.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soylent-Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Its huge! Roman walls standing taller than a house, the original marble facing still there! Easy access, no fenced off areas, suitable interpretation boards, wonderful ambiance. Just walk around and see how the site developed over the several hundred years of Roman rule.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ponytailpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richborough Roman Fort and Amphitheatre also viewed

 

Been to Richborough Roman Fort and Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing