We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub with comfortable rooms above.”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #9 of 13 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst in the area on business.
The location was good within in the small town of Sandwich. The pub and accommodation upstairs were cosy and comfortable and the service was great. All staff were friendly and I was made to feel welcome.
My room was a twin room with comfortable beds and a full en-suite bathroom.
The room was a good size and clean. I enjoyed staying here. The window did not open in the room for some reason and you could hear some noise from the pub below but these were my only minor complaints.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely and set me up for the day ahead. I would happily stay here again if I was in the area.
The pub is situated around 10 minutes walk from Sandwich train station.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crinse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a traditional pub, (part of the Thorley Tavern group) with accomodation. Free parking was available on the premises which was a bonus. Well appointed and clean rooms. The food offered in the pub was great value and there was plenty of it! Great breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluewalrus750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 5-Sept-2013. We had not booked ahead as we were en route home from touring Europe.

Parking is easy and free with 24 hour CCTV coverage.

Check in is quick and efficient.

Customers; friendly and polite.

Food and ale, very high quality and reasonably priced.

Service; polite, fast and efficient.

Price; very competitive for this area.

In my personal opinion, these people are at the top of their game. Others could learn a great deal from them.

Room Tip: Unfortunately I don't know enough to help on this point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked 3 rooms in this hotel for the wedding of our daughter in Sandwich. It is very central so within easy walking distance of everything. The welcome was great, rooms clean and very comfortable, and we had an excellent full English breakfast. All this together with a reasonable price made us very happy customers!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katyab101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really good stay , very good staff , & stunning girl serving breakfast this morning . Rooms very good & live music Saturday night a bonus
would & will definately stay again, great pub, with great atmosphere

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevingw1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed with a group friends for a boys weekend away, from the moment we walked in we were greeted with warmth a smile and that was just the good looking barmaid. The hosts and all the staff were great and couldn't have been more helpful, would highly recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Sandwich, wide choice of food, good and wholesome, rooms comfortable and really good value. Made to feel very welcome throughout the stay, icing on the cake was left my phone charger in the room and they posted it back to me straight away free of charge, thank you Brian and Lynda, would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on front are quieter away from kitchen start up at breakfast time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosehole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked B&B for 5 adult males for a trip to Kent. Couldn’t be more pleased. We arrived about 6.00 on a Friday and we were greeted by a member of staff. They asked for payment for the rooms first which wasn’t a problem. We were shown to the rooms which were well equipped and large. It had all the creature comforts including a fridge. This would be handy if you wanted to chill down some drinks for the next day. The bar is spacious and the food was good old fashioned pub grub, although a bit expensive £ 9.95 for fish & chips. The atmosphere in the pub was great and the locals’ friendly, asking us where we had been and off to next. They even told us where we could find a pub with some music as there wasn’t any booked for the night at the New Inn. The full English breakfast was hearty and with a constant supply of tea/coffee and toast the stay at the New Inn was great would definitely stay there again if ever down that way.

Room Tip: Pick a front room to avoid the kitchen fans if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank number1leadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandwich hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Salutation Hotel
The Salutation Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Five Bells B&B
The Five Bells B&B
#1 of 1 in Eastry
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Peters Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
St Crispin Inn
St Crispin Inn
#3 of 4 in Worth
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: 2 Delf Street, Sandwich CT13 9ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: $110 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing