We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Lannion, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked 3 rooms in this hotel for the wedding of our daughter in Sandwich. It is very central so within easy walking distance of everything. The welcome was great, rooms clean and very comfortable, and we had an excellent full English breakfast. All this together with a reasonable price made us very happy customers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katyab101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
20
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really good stay , very good staff , & stunning girl serving breakfast this morning . Rooms very good & live music Saturday night a bonus
would & will definately stay again, great pub, with great atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevingw1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed with a group friends for a boys weekend away, from the moment we walked in we were greeted with warmth a smile and that was just the good looking barmaid. The hosts and all the staff were great and couldn't have been more helpful, would highly recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Sandwich, wide choice of food, good and wholesome, rooms comfortable and really good value. Made to feel very welcome throughout the stay, icing on the cake was left my phone charger in the room and they posted it back to me straight away free of charge, thank you Brian and Lynda, would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on front are quieter away from kitchen start up at breakfast time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosehole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked B&B for 5 adult males for a trip to Kent. Couldn’t be more pleased. We arrived about 6.00 on a Friday and we were greeted by a member of staff. They asked for payment for the rooms first which wasn’t a problem. We were shown to the rooms which were well equipped and large. It had all the creature comforts including a fridge. This would be handy if you wanted to chill down some drinks for the next day. The bar is spacious and the food was good old fashioned pub grub, although a bit expensive £ 9.95 for fish & chips. The atmosphere in the pub was great and the locals’ friendly, asking us where we had been and off to next. They even told us where we could find a pub with some music as there wasn’t any booked for the night at the New Inn. The full English breakfast was hearty and with a constant supply of tea/coffee and toast the stay at the New Inn was great would definitely stay there again if ever down that way.

Room Tip: Pick a front room to avoid the kitchen fans if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank number1leadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putten, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

In one word PERFECT! The room was light and airy and you could open the windows. We ate one lunch and one dinner there and they were delicious. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. Linda and Brian are darlings.Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Although the sounds from the bar do resonate through to the rooms for us it wasn't a problem..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I would like to say what a great place the New Inn is. We had a lovely Christmas Eve drink listening to excellent music from Miss Sara Banks. The staff are friendly and full of fun. There was no one being loud or miss behaving. Its a breath of fresh air to find somewhere with high standards that every age can enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audley1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The New Inn has two sides to it: it is very clean, the rooms are well appointed (their towels would beat most 5 star hotels !!), the TVs are more up-to-date than I have ever seen in a similar hotel. BUT the live music in the pub will keep you awake until 11 p.m. The counter strategy of spending time in the pub is not really recommended - time has stood still in the pub. There's not a single craft beer on tap, all the big well-known brands only (Guinness, Carlsberg etc). Music is also dated. Time hasn't stood still for its punters, unfortunately. Bit of a time warp. Breakfast was ok, friendly waitress. Food had been under the 'warming lamp' too long, looked a bit shrivelled, and a little in need of TLC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sol500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandwich hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St Peters Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#7 of 15 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.0 mi away
Molland Manor House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: 2 Delf Street, Sandwich CT13 9ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing