We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad wine”
Review of Darjeeling Heights

Darjeeling Heights
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Rainham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Through passion, pride and great dedication, Darjeeling Heights has gained a unique position in Kent social and dinning environment. Our meticulously prepared regional cuisine and British favourite dishes by our master chefs, specially prepared wine list and cocktail menu, beautiful setting in midst of wonderful images of Darjeeling. Our seamless service and welcoming smile have created a wonderful atmosphere of relaxed elegance.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, bad wine”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have eaten here on several occasions, and find the food fantastic with excellent choices and tasty food. The only fly in the ointment is the alcohol serviced, the prosecco is weak and watery, with no fizz and after one glass you get a terrible headache. Is it prosecco they are serving or one of they illegally made cheap substitutes, but it needs to be sorted, before it damages someone. As I said the food is one of the best in Gillingham not cheap, but definitely the best taste. Sort the alcohol out and they will be laughing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lucis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    70
    30
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DINER”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited this restaurant on 16/11/2012, we went in at 7:15 ish, we booked table already, As soon as we enter the manager with suit greeted us, asked us for our coats to be hanged, gave us a ticket. the Decor is brilliant, we had couple of drinks in the lounge, the manager visited us once to make sure we are being served, talked about India a bit and then took us to our reserved table and sent his boys to attend us. We ordered the some more drinks, starters and food, absolutely perfect, superb taste, well presented, staff is so polite, every dish was great, its the best Indian food I had I can say. The manager in this Restaurant is very caring unlike in other restaurants they just stand and stare or they dont even bother to visit the table, this guy here was visiting every table, explaining about the food, making sure everyone is being served on time, answering questions what others asked, we asked about the lovely pictures on the wall, he explained about the places and where they belong to. Lovely food, lovely décor, lovely people, Will visit and recommend others and will be going again before Christmas.Its good value for the cost and the way they made everyone feel special, very attentive staff, the manager is doing a good job.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DINER440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have driven past quite a few times and while waiting at traffic lights I saw a table of people enjoying thereselves and the restaurant looked inviting.
Had a meal for family birthday. I dont agree with some other reviews regarding average food as we all thought the food tasted great. The flavour and spices came through with every mouthful. It was nicely presented on hot plates. The staff gave my Mum a free ice-cream with a candle, they all stood around our table and clapped with big smiles to birthday music which was lovely and good fun. They did this for others also while we were there. The restaurant was almost full and everybody else appeared to be enjoying the evening. We all liked the decor and traditional music which added to the atmosphere. We do have a favourite restaurant where we go more often that we have visited for years, over 15 years infact but sometimes its nice to try new places and we are glad we did. Yes its more expensive than other Indian restaurants as are French,English Mexican etc more pricer depending on where you go.
Five of us attended each having a main dish, rice, 7 drinks+2 coffee's, papadoms,Bombay potatoes, naan plus 4 desserts. Total was £127 - a few pence INCLUDING gratuity (12.5%) thats around £22/23 each for meal and £3 each for tip which is about right for a good restaurant we all agree. Admittedly, we did comment that the service charge is added to the bill as we did not notice its our choice to pay on menu. We would have tipped anyway however perhaps its better to let the customer decide as to how much they wish to tip. Once its all ready added to the bill your not likely to refuse!!
On the whole an enjoyable evening. Will return. Will recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank helenakaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pricey”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We like eating out as a family. Too expensive.........As a family we will go back to our little Indian restaurant where we can order great food at half the price. Had to Try Darjeeling which we have done, won't be back. Need to drop prices...............

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MrMrsD_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Been meaning to visit for a while and was NOT disappointed at all!

Was greeted by a man in authentic costume at the door,he was very polite and although we hadn't booked a man who looked manager type took us immediately to a table.

The decor was modern,fresh and tasteful,with a lot of attention to detail.

The staff were very pleasant and attentive and the food was beautifully presented and to die for!

Although the service charge was applied I'd of left what they charged as a tip anyways,so for me not an issue.

A very pleasant dining experience,by far the best indian I've ever had n I've had a few!

Will recommend and return.

Ps I never leave reviews anywhere I go but felt the need to on this occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nic27x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darjeeling Heights also viewed

 

Been to Darjeeling Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing