We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of Elvey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elvey Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I took a group of friends to Elvey for my 50th birthday and I can hosnestly say that it exceeded erxpectatios in all areas. Jeff and Simon were incredibly welcoming and helpful and made it a very special weekend for us. The rooms were superbly decorated and spotless. The restaurant was excellent in terms of the food, the service and the atmosphere. We all had a truly great time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonChris7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 431 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

If you are not a real dog lover don't stay here!. We had dog hair all over the bedroom floor from a previous guest and a resident dog barking outside our door when we were trying to get to sleep! A real shame as the bedroom was very nice apart from this.
We ate in the restaurant which I think is very overpriced for what is, nice but quite amateurish for the price charged.
Breakfast was excellent though in very nice surroundings - again a little off putting to see dogs trotting in and out of the hotel kitchen though.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TABH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffMoodyPluckley, Owner at Elvey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Whilst all negative reviews are upsetting, this one is perhaps the most distressing, as it concerns our lovely dog Scubie!

This lady is clearly not a dog lover, which is absolutely fine, but we make no bones of the fact that we're a dog-friendly guesthouse. Guests bring their dogs, and they play with Scubie. Most guests absolutely love having Scubie around the place, and they certainly enjoy bringing their dogs on holiday with them. Scubie is a loveable, friendly Golden Retriever, who greets all guests and spends her life being cuddled and coddled by residents. Spoilt or what!

In hindsight, this probably is the wrong guesthouse for this particular guest.

It's disappointing that this guest describes our restaurant as "overpriced" and "amateur". I guess this is a subjective opinion. I personally am very proud of the wonderful menu of old-fashioned Kentish recipes we've created, all with fresh, local, seasonal produce. The restaurant has a great reputation, and I am very proud of all our staff, who work so hard to produce such beautiful food and service. I would never in a million years refer to their work as "amateur", but we're all entitled to our opinion, and I do thank this lady for her comments.

The only thing I will say is: dogs are NEVER EVER allowed in the kitchen. The door to which she refers leads to a corridor that links the dining room with the kitchen and with our private house. Scubie may well have been spotted in this corridor, but she will have "trotting" from our house, not the kitchen.

One again, I'd like to thank this lady for her review, and apologise that she wasn't happy with the dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed at Elvey Farm over the valentines weekend. It was perfect. A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely. The food was delicious. A highly recommended hotel which we will definitely return to again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilchard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at Elvey Farm for my 40th birthday. We had the Canterbury Suite in the converted stable block, with a spacious wet room w power shower and the use of a priavte jacuzzi at the end of a farm path. The waiting staff in the restaurant were most friendly, and whilst the meal was expensive, I certainly felt it was worth it. Simon was v welcoming and there was a lovely pub down the road. Recommended.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank LYDIAANDJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We booked Elvey Farm as an overnight stop on route to the channel tunnel as we were looking for something a little more comfortable for an overnight stop rather than a functional Travelodge. When we arrived we were received by the chef and told that we had been upgraded as the room we were booked in had a burst pipe. Our upgrade was to one of the two rooms in the Oast House. The room was a decent size, but there were several things that let it down. The bed was a standard 4' 6'' bed with an annoying footboard which meant us having to sleep diagonally on a very poor matress. The bathroom was very cold and had an electric fan heater on a timer that rattled painfully and was something out of the 1970s. The radiator rattled all night. The hotel is obviously in a poor reception area as the freeview TV had very few channels and there was no mobile signal. The hotel's own free wireless internet did not reach the room we stayed in.
The restaurant itself is a nice room, but the food did not match the surroundings and was a bit mediocre.
It wasn't until later in the bar I happened to mention to the barman that we would be leaving early in the morning at 7.30am, it was then that we were informed breakfast wasn't served that early on a Saturday but we could acces the breakfas room for cereals if we wanted. It was then that we were asked to pay in full for the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I had very high expectations of Elvey Farm. I have to say that I was not dissappointed.

The best things:

The room
The slipper bath tub
The service
The breakfast
Scoobie

I would agree with all the previous comments. The service is fantastic. The rooms tastefully decorated. It was a really special night away for my girlfriend and I. We also ate dinner in the restaurant which was very good.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that neither the room nor the restaurant are particularly cheap. Not the world's greatest value but a pleasurable indulgence nonetheless.

Finally, I would strongly recommend the World Heritage Foundation which is nearby for their Big Cat Experience. Truly remarkable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stingray76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We went on Honeymoon to Elvey Farm and spent the most perfect time there everything so so relaxed and Jeff and Simon were perfect hosts we were made to feel very comfortable and the food was fantastic. The rooms were excellent we stayed in the Westerham Suite and will be booking again for our 1st Wedding anniversery

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donutpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pluckley
6.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,344 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
89 reviews
3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
3.3 mi away
Who'd A Thought It
Who'd A Thought It
#1 of 1 in Grafty Green
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pluckley Pad B&B
Pluckley Pad B&B
#3 of 3 in Pluckley
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elvey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvey Farm

Address: Elvey Farm Elvey Lane, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pluckley
Price Range: $103 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elvey Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in history and natural character, is a hidden treasure waiting to be uncovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elvey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvey Farm Hotel Pluckley
Elvey Farm Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing