We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we found peace in Kent”
Review of Elvey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elvey Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Having booked our stay online, we did not know what to expect, on arriving we seemed to unwind within minutes. Our first contact was with Scoobie ( friends straight away ), Simon showed us to our room, total surprise, it had all we needed plus.We also had the Canterbury, but even though we did not use the spa it was worth every penny. We could of used some daytime snacks, other than that the food was incredible. All the staff were friendly and proffesional, without getting in the way of our relaxing. We hope to be luckier soon at trying to book again, but I think the longer we wait the more we will enjoy another stay. Brian and Wendy

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 435 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at Elvey Farm for a weekend "get out of london" trip. We had the family room in the annexe as we had 2 small children. The buildings are lovely with lots of character

The setting is great and there is a very friendly dog there which delighted my toddler as the dog came on a walk with us! The location is perfect as there are pubs and lovely villages a short drive away and plenty of scope for walking in the beautiful countryside.

The room was nice and pretty spacious but it was a little dusty - not on the obvious bits of furniture but things like the lamps were dusty (very noticeable as they are all touch sensitive!) so they do need to review their cleaners! The rooms are comfortable but a little spartan - no facecloths or tissues or cotton wool for example. Our room had a "wet room" style bathroom which was very nice looking but a little impractical if you needed to wash your hands after having a shower as it took a long time to dry out. Sound proofing didn't seem to be great but as we had the noisy children it didn't affect us much! These are not major problems though - just little niggles which stop it being 100% perfect.

The food in the restaurant was absolutely lovely - locally sourced and very tasty. Portion sizes were spot on and the staff were all very friendly and accomodating. Nothing very suitable for children but we went to a local pub with our toddler and found a good kids menu there.

All in all a very nice weekend and we would certainly stay again if we returned to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevynevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Like most people on Tripadvisor who have stayed at Elvey Farm, I have developed a deep fondness for this wonderful hotel and its location. This was my second visit, (the first being two years ago with my partner for a special birthday treat), and this occassion saw our best friends getting 'hitched' at the farm. Elvey Farm is a wonderful place to begin your married life, the wonderful setting (Kent countryside, little village pubs, winding road to the farm, rolling hills....I can see it now!) and the magnificent medieval farm buildings all prove to be perfect for that special occassion.
We stayed in the 'Broadstairs' family room. This double room has an additional twin-bedded annex just off the main room. It retains the exposed beams and country feel expected of a building of this age and setting, yet still offers all the modern luxuries that one would expect of a quality hotel (think TV, DVD player, Alarm clock, gorgeous sheets and bedding, comfortable large bed, on-suite bathroom etc etc). In fact, it must be said that the owners, Jeff and Simon, have ensured that style goes hand in hand with country comforts whereever possible. Everything was clean (spotless, in fact!) ,and the staff in the restaurant were always polite, attentive and super efficient. Everything for the civil ceremony went perfectly, and a great time was had by all, thanks to the efforts of Simon, Jeff and their staff.
A few minor considerations to mention if staying in the 'Broadstairs' room. The first being the fact that it is located immediately above the restaurant/ bar. This may be an issue if you happen to stay there during a large event (such as a wedding!) as the noise from downstairs does indeed travel upstairs into the room. However, as it's a medieval building, I would expect that, and I'm sure you would too! Another consideration is the fact that the main door to the room is partly obscured by a very low-level beam...I would guess that if you were under 4 feet tall, this wouldn't be a problem!!! However, if you are like me (5 feet 6), then you would have to remember to bend down quite low to avoid hitting your head...perhaps more a consideration for anyone who doesn't enjoy great mobility or has back problems.
Overall, Elvey Farm is an ideal weekend getaway for those whose idea of relaxation is a beautiful rural setting with great hosts....we will be back, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph_260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Their website does not do this lovely place justice, everything about out stay was wonderful, the room, the grounds, the local walks, the relaxing atmosphere. We took our dog who had perhaps an even better time than we did, making a friend for life in Scubie. If I had to find fault, the service was quite slow at dinner, but this didn't really matter as we were there to relax and take it easy. Can't wait to return and see how Simon and Jeff have converted the rest of the farm.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPhirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We had a lovely one night stay, that was very peaceful in beautiful countryside. We booked a table for dinner as it seems was necessary as the resuarant appears to have quite a reputation with locals. The menu was varied and it was difficult to choose, our meal was excellent! Equally breakfast was good.
The only downside I feel in our room was the walk-in shower/toilet. Once the shower was used the floor remained wet if you needed to use the toilet. Our room had an inter connecting door with the next room which was not totally soundproof from our neighbours, though thankfully they were not noisey. All in all we had a lovely stay and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed in The Canterbury Suite at Eley Farm last night (Saturday 7th March) and the minute we got in i just had to review it!

This stay at Elvey Farm had been my christmas present from my partner and so i have been eagerly awaiting this trip with anticipation since December 25th!! Due to me being interested in all things paranormal, Nathan (after much research online... he thinks it's all a load of rubbish!) chose to take me to Pluckley "The Most Haunted Village in England".

As we arrived (later than we expected due to gremlins in the sat nav, and long and winding country roads that all looked the same) we were greeted by a beautiful farmhouse and converted stableblock, surrounded by acres of green.

Our greeting at reception was warm and friendly, and I instantly fell in love with Scooby the dog. We were then shown to our suite, and it was breathtaking!

After settling in, I then donned my (zebra print!) wellies and we took as stroll around just as the sun was setting. This place is gorgeous, and have some beautiful photo's of the sun setting over the fields! We then decided to take a wander round the back of the stable block to check out our secret garden. (OH YES!! This suite comea complete with it's own secret garden and hot tub!!) It's literally a thirty second walk (or sprint if it's cold!) round the back of the stableblock and it really is worth slipping into that bikini (or trunks) for!

After we'd checked out our surroundings, we then took a trip to the bar. Again our reception was warm and friendly, we were made to feel really welcome and sample some gorgeous kentish wine!

A quick skip back to the room and refresh for dinner we made our way back and enjoyed another lovely glass before sitting down for dinner. The restaurant was heaving (booking is recommended) and I'm not suprised... Not only is the restaurant gorgeously laid out, but the food was DELICIOUS!!!! My goodness, I have never been so impressed!! There was a wide range to chose from on the menu and something for everyone. We were too full for dessert but from what I could see from looking around they looked GORGEOUS!

After dinner we made our way back to our suite, grabbed a bottle of bubbly, slipped into our swimwear (and wellies... fetching combo I know!) and wandered round to our secret garden. I strongly recommend that if you stay in the Canterbury Suite you make full use of the hot tub... it's Fab and we had such a lovely evening relaxing in the tub with a bottle of bubbly looking up at the stars!

Once back to the room, a few more glasses of wine and then trotted off to (our gorgeous four poster!!) bed.

The following morning we had great fun working out the three hundred ways to have the water flowing from the funky shower in the wet room/bathroom...ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!

At breakfast we were greeted by smiles and yet again a friendly reception and the food was absolutely delicious yet again!! In fact I'm still full up now and we ate 7 hours ago!!

Overall, I can honestly say that this was the best weekend I've had in ages, I'm completely in love with Elvey Farm and really did not want to leave. Beautiful, gorgeous, secluded.... what more could a girl want?!

And although I may not have found anything that went bump in the night.... I had the best night's sleep I've had in ages!!

Thanks so much for everything Guys, Nathan, myself and my zebra wellies will be returning soon hahaha. xxx

Gemma Crockett and Nathan Cresswell.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttybird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Our 2nd stay at Elvey Farm - a treat for my birthday. First went September 2008, and it honestly felt like we had never been away. My fiance and I just love it at Elvey Farm - it is SO relaxing, the owners are friendly and helpful and of course Scubie is just Scubie. Unfortunately (or otherwise depending on your view point) our room was not haunted:-), It is so good to know that Elvey Farm is there for when we need a break - !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pluckley
5.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
6.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,386 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
999 reviews
3.3 mi away
Who'd A Thought It
Who'd A Thought It
#1 of 1 in Grafty Green
407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pluckley Pad B&B
Pluckley Pad B&B
#3 of 3 in Pluckley
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elvey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvey Farm

Address: Elvey Farm Elvey Lane, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pluckley
Price Range: $104 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elvey Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in history and natural character, is a hidden treasure waiting to be uncovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elvey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvey Farm Hotel Pluckley
Elvey Farm Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing